Yamaha Australia Announces 2014 YJR State Squads


The ultra-successful Yamaha Junior Racing program is set to continue in 2014 with a list of established junior stars and a few new names into the mix to form a potent line up for the new season.

Yamaha Junior Racing is the nation-wide development program that supports and nurtures up and coming junior motocross riders. Each state has its own team with a state manager in place to ensure the riders are surrounded by the right people and getting good advice both on and off the track.

In 2013, YJR took out two national junior championships, countless state and regional series wins and continued to be at the coal face of junior motocross development in Australia.

2014 will see 11 riders in five states, racing on Yamaha‰Ûªs range of motocross weapons from the YZ85cc small wheel to the all-new YZ250F.

In South Australia, ex pro racer and Y-Aim agent Shane Metcalfe will manager Nick Day (15 years), Thomas Larwood (12years) and Alex Larwood (10years). All three riders won a SA junior MX Championship in 2013 and will be out to add to that list in 2014.

Cameron Taylor will oversee the Victorian squad of Angus Gelly (15years) and Cody Dyce(13years). Dyce was the runner up at the Australian Junior Nationals in the 12-14 years 85cc and will make the step up to the bigger bikes in 2014 while Gelly is the new face added to the team and is excited to be part of YJR.
Cody Dyce will return to the Victorian team again in 2014 - Credit: Supplied Yamaha Australia
NSW will have the services of Jordan Hill and Brendan Walther in 2014 under the supervision of Y-Aim agent Shane Booth. Hill made the move over to Yamaha and is primed to represent YJR in the 15 years division. Walther remains with the team for another season and will compete in the 13-14 years categories.

Western Australia will field a three pronged line up in 2014 with Ash Whisler taking care of the 15 years 250cc division, Jared Connor on the YZ125 and Matt Fabry mounted on a YZ85cc. Peter Strickland is the long-time mentor and manager of the WA team.

Wilson Todd will spearhead the Queensland team in his final year in juniors. Todd will compete on the YZ250F and his YZ125 in the 15 years classes. Joining him with be Levi Rogers in the 9 -11 years 85cc class. Rogers was the 2013 Central Queensland champion and is the new addition to the QLD YJR line up.

‰ÛÏYamaha Junior Racing has been a huge success for Yamaha in Australia,‰Û
Wilson Todd will lead the QLD YJR team in 2014 - Credit: Aaryn Minerds
Nick Day -15years ‰ÛÒ YZ125/ YZ250F
Thomas Larwood ‰ÛÒ 12 years ‰ÛÒ YZ85LW
Alex Larwood ‰ÛÒ 10 years ‰ÛÒ YZ85SW
Manager: Shane Metcalfe

Angus Gelly ‰ÛÒ 15 years ‰ÛÒ YZ125/ YZ250F
Cody Dyce ‰ÛÒ 13 years ‰ÛÒ YZ85LW / YZ125
Manager: Cameron Taylor

Jordan Hill ‰ÛÒ 15 years ‰ÛÒ YZ125/ YZ250F
Brendan Walther ‰ÛÒ 14 years ‰ÛÒ YZ125/ YZ250F
Manager: Shane Booth

Liam Whisler ‰ÛÒ 15 years ‰ÛÒ YZ250F
Jared Connor - 15years ‰ÛÒ YZ125
Manager: Peter Strickland

Wilson Todd ‰ÛÒ 15 years ‰ÛÒ YZ125/ YZ250F
Levi Rogers ‰ÛÒ 10 years ‰ÛÒ YZ85SW
Manager: Scott Bishop

Top Image: Nick Day will lead the charge for the SA Yamaha Junior Racing team in 2014
Credit: Aaryn Minerds

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023