Wade Young Goes Back to Back at 2018 Wildwood Rock Extreme Enduro


South African Wade Young (1) went back to back with his second win ion a row at the 2018 Wildwood Rock Extreme Enduro. Photo: Rechelle Beveridge Images
South African Wade Young has won his second Wildwood Rock Extreme Enduro after successfully defending his 2017 crown with the 2018 victory last weekend at Tullamarine in Victoria.

In its 9th year the 2018 Wildwood Rock Extreme Enduro course delivered the most brutal track so far with 162 riders taking on the challenge for the main event, a strong crowd of 1500 lined the rugged hills to take in all the drama.

The tight and gruelling track made it very difficult to pass which forced riders to choose their actions carefully and on what object or area to make their moves.

Some of the new area‰Ûªs that were the most demanding were the Force Accessories Staircase, Cambodia Motorcycle tours Fender Bender Hill, Honda Rock Wall Climb, Liqui Moly Oil Rock Garden and the Peter Stevens Log Climb each chewing riders valuable energy.

A shortened prologue track meant there was no rest and with little space between each man-made obstacle which highlighted the skill of Kiwi Hamish Macdonald who took the win in 1min 41seconds ahead of Australian Ruben Chadwick and Wade Young.

With the Prologue out of the way and starting grids set for the main event it was Chadwick who got the jump over Young on the opening 12km lap.

Chadwick impressed as he held off the World number 1 for just over half of the first lap before the defending champion took the lead and pushed forward.

While Young had control of the race with a ten minute lead, Aussie Wade Ibrahim slogged away in second, unaware of his position until he finished the event and placings were announced.

Due to an injured rider the event was cut short by 30 minutes seeing the Gold class riders finish cut back to 3 hours, the same as the Silver and Bronze class. This left Young with his second win in a row ahead of Wade Ibrahim and Tim Coleman. Former winner Mitch Harper finished fourth ahead of prologue winner Hamish Macdonald.

"I new it was a 4-hour race and I made sure I rode as smooth as possible, the track was much tougher than last year and I really enjoyed it" Young said.

For the first time ever the 2018 event was streamed which enabled people from all over the World to follow the day. Promoters have already confirmed the 2019 event which will take place on the 10th of November 2019.

Prologue top 5:
1 Hamish Macdonald (NZ) 1min:41.16
2 Ruben Chadwick (AUS) 1min:43.83
3 Wade Young (NSA) 1min:44.94
4 Tim Coleman (AUS) 1min:45.98
5 Wade Ibrahim (AUS) 1min:48.26

Top 10 Gold Class:
1. Wade Young - 2h:51.52 - 6 Laps - Best lap 26:15.30
2. Wade Ibrahim - 3h:01.54 - 6 Laps Best lap 28:08.64
3. Tim Coleman - 3h:08.29 - 6 Laps Best lap 28:00.95
4. Mitch Harper - 3h:23.26 - 6 Laps Best lap 27:43.73
5. Hamish Macdonald - 3h:16.10 - 6 Laps Best lap 27:20.10
6. Ruben Chadwick - 3h:26.09 - 6 Laps Best lap 28:25.96
7. Robert Nowak - 2h:53.50 - 5 Laps Best lap 29:14.21
8. Chris Perry - 2h:55.25 - 5 Laps Best lap 31:02.91
9. Jake Whitaker - 2h:58.32 - 5 Laps Best lap 32:58.40
10. Anthony Solar - 3h:01.32 - 5 Laps Best lap 30:14.19

Support Class
‰Û¢ Silver Plus Winner: Mark Clements
‰Û¢ Silver Winner: Harrison Tetley
‰Û¢ Bronze Winner: Lachlan Smith

Full event Results can be found at: www.wildwoodrockextreme.com

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023