Dirt Track

Queenslander Jarred Brook wins Casey Stoner Cup


Queenslander Jarred Brook was yet again the star of a dirt track meeting when he took out the Casey Stoner Cup Pro Open class in yesterday‰Ûªs meeting held in honour of Australia‰Ûªs dual Moto GP world champion.

Stoner spent almost a decade as a member of the Kurri Kurri Junior Motorcycle Club and another outstanding young rider added his name to the honour roll of winners of this annual event staged at the Loxford Park track.

While three states were represented among all the class winners on the day it was again 17-year-old Brook who took the major honour.

In the 8-lap Casey Stoner Cup final Brook led from the outset, just ahead of experienced campaigner Michael Kirkness, before a tense final lap saw the two bikes touch causing Kirkness to fall and allowing 16-year-old Boyd Hollis and another 17-year-old Max Croker through to take the minor placings ahead of Taylor Poole and Sean McLellan.

The same trio also came out on top in the same order in the Pro 250 class, before host club member Hollis won the Pro 450 final in just his second ever open senior meeting heading Brook and Croker.

Anthony Farrell took the honours in the Over 35s, while the Womens class produced an exciting climax as Gemma Borsato edged out Dale Austin and Shannon Fyfe.

The junior racing was a shakedown run for the New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championships to be staged at the same venue on the Queens Birthday weekend in June.

The chance to race at the Loxford Park track before that title showdown attracted riders from Queensland and Victoria and there were plenty of trophies taken interstate after the meeting.

Three junior riders were winners of two classes.

Mackenzie Childs upheld the honour of the host club when he outshone Billy Van Eerde, Max Whale and Kye Andrews in the two classes for the 13 to Under 16s. Ryan Smith and Luke Bush were other host club members who won junior classes.

The Central Coast club also had success with Talon Cardinale a dual winner, while Senna Agius also had a win.

The other four junior classes were won by visitors from interstate ‰ÛÒ Gold Coast rider Harrison Voight and two riders from the Harley Club in Victoria, Max Berry and Bryce Holmes. Berry was clearly one of the standouts of the meeting as he won two finals in the 11 to under 13s, both times coming from midfield to score convincing wins.

The quality of the action from the juniors matched that turned on by the seniors and augers well for the New South Wales Championship meeting in June.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment