National Racing

Mike Jones and Michael Blair Top Phillip Island Cup


There was an undeniable buzz in the air at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit this morning, as the final day of the MotoGP got underway, starting with the third and final race for the Australian Superbike and Supersport categories.

With thousands of spectators arriving early to snatch up the very best vantage points for racing today, the Superbike and Supersport riders had a huge crowd to cheer them on, as the Australian only classes took to the race track for the final time.

When the Supersport category headed out on to the circuit, Yamaha‰Ûªs Michael Blair looked to retain his undefeated status in the final Supersport race of the weekend.

And when racing got underway, onlookers were treated to an eight lap battle for the win, with Suzuki mounted Kane Burns moving in to the early race lead, but only holding down the top position by the narrowest of margins from Blair and Yamaha‰Ûªs Mitch Levy,

After only a handful of laps, Burns and Blair had switched positions more times than you could count, leaving fans on the edge of their seats and ensuring the final Supersport race would go down to the wire.

And when the chequered flag flew it was Blair who took the clean sweep at the Island - celebrating across the finish line, ahead of a hard charging Burns who raced to a hard fought second, while Yamaha‰Ûªs Callum Spriggs found his form and concluded the race in third.

"That was another spectacular race and to complete the clean sweep against strong opposition is something I am very proud of," said Blair.

"I didn't have to win today to take the round honours, but I took my chances and it all came off."

With so much excitement coming out of the Supersport category, Aussie fans were in for a real treat when the Superbikes took to the track.

After an action packed second race from the Superbikes class yesterday, and with two different winners across two races already, it was anyone‰Ûªs guess as to who would take the honors this morning.

When racing got underway, it was Honda duo Troy Herfoss and Jamie Stauffer who got to the front of the pack early, however following tradition it wasn‰Ûªt long before Yamaha‰Ûªs Glenn Allerton and Kawasaki Australian Outdoor Living Cube Racing Team‰Ûªs Mike Jones made their presence known.

After three laps, the running order saw Jones leading the way, while Allerton made his way in to second, relegating Herfoss and Stauffer to third and fourth positions respectively.

With so many position changes over the course of the race, spectators were treated to battles left right and centre - with the Superbike category heading in to the final lap Jones retained his impressive race lead, ahead of Wayne Maxwell who had found his way in to second, and Team Honda Racing‰Ûªs Herfoss who maintained third.

Despite a late charge from Maxwell on the final lap, it was Jones who delivered crowds with their third Superbike race winner and the Island - a photo finish determining his victory from Maxwell, who finished second while Herfoss crossed the line in third.

"That was another fantastic close race," said Jones. "I was happy with my start, and then to get away and pull a small break on the other riders really set me up for the victory.

"Really close racing is what Aussie superbike racing is all about, and I think we've shown that this weekend!"

1) Mike Jones ‰ÛÒ 61 points
2) Glenn Allerton ‰ÛÒ 61 points
3) Jamie Stauffer ‰ÛÒ 59 points
4) Wayne Maxwell ‰ÛÒ 56 points
5) Troy Herfoss ‰ÛÒ 49 points
6) Linden Magee ‰ÛÒ 40 points
7) Ben Henry ‰ÛÒ 40 points
8) Adam Christie ‰ÛÒ 36 points
9_ Trent Gibson ‰ÛÒ 32 points
10) Daniel Falzon ‰ÛÒ 32 points

1) Mike Jones ‰ÛÒ 97 points
2) Troy Herfoss ‰ÛÒ 94 points
3) Linden Magee ‰ÛÒ 74 points
4) Glenn Allerton ‰ÛÒ 61 points
5) Daniel Falzon ‰ÛÒ 61 points
6) Jamie Stauffer ‰ÛÒ 59 points
7) Wayne Maxwell ‰ÛÒ 56 points
8) Ben Henry ‰ÛÒ 54 points
9) Josh Hook ‰ÛÒ 45 points
10) Philip Czaj ‰ÛÒ 40 points

1) Michael Blair ‰ÛÒ 75 points
2) Callum Spriggs ‰ÛÒ 54 points
3) Mitch Levy ‰ÛÒ 54 points
4) Ryan Taylor ‰ÛÒ 48 points
5) Mason Coote ‰ÛÒ 46 points
6) Luke Mitchell ‰ÛÒ 44 points
7) Kane Burns ‰ÛÒ 40 points
8) Cam Russell ‰ÛÒ 40 points
9) Ashley Daff ‰ÛÒ 35 points
10) Gary Tidd ‰ÛÒ 31 points

1) Michael Blair ‰ÛÒ 125 points
2) Callum Spriggs - 94 points
3) Ryan Taylor ‰ÛÒ 81 points
4) Mitch Levy ‰ÛÒ 71 points
5) Mason Coote ‰ÛÒ 70 points
6) Luke Mitchell ‰ÛÒ 68 points
7) Kane Burns ‰ÛÒ 67 points
8) Cam Russell - 54 points
9) Ashley Daff ‰ÛÒ 35 points
10) Gary Tidd ‰ÛÒ 31 points

Top Image: Mike Jones celebrates his 2015 Phillip Island Superbike Championship Win

Credit: Supplied

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Tim Gajser And Lucas Coenen Win MXGP Of France


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow Double Up At TrialGP of Japan

Off Road

Australian Off-Road Championships Round 6 Summary


Romain Febvre And Lucas Coenen Top Qualifying At MXGP Of France


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow In control On Day One of TrialGP of Japan

Off Road

Australian Off-Road Championships Round 5 Summary


Queensland To Host 2024 Australian Supercross Championship Opener


Danielle McDonald finishes Top 10 At Powerline Park GNCC

Hard Enduro

Ruben Chadwick Leads Beta’s Winning Assault At Australian Hard Enduro Championship

Flat Track

Tom Drane Back On Top At 2024 AMA Flat Track Titles

Hard Enduro

Anthony Solar Podiums At The Goldfield Extreme Hard Enduro


TrialGP of Japan kicks off 2024 Hertz FIM Trial World Championship

What's On This Week

ProMX Championship - Round 4
Maitland, NSW
Sunday, May 26th, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 1
Fox Raceway, Pala, CA
Saturday, May 25th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

ProMX Championship - Round 4
Maitland, NSW
Sunday, May 26th, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 1
Fox Raceway, Pala, CA
Saturday, May 25th, 2024