Jones, Fleming and Rees cement A4DE titles


In the final hours of the final day of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro at Merrijig in Victoria, it was with great anticipation that proceedings would soon get underway, as a palpable and cheering crowd in a sea of team colours lined the track boundaries, jostling to get a glimpse of the riders in each and every class for the day.

Masters Final Moto was the first race for the finale, the over 45‰Ûªs class lined up at the starting gate ready to kick their bikes in to gear for their six lap race. Aussie enduro mainstay and class favourite, David ‰Û÷Flea‰Ûª Fleming was the man who got the hole shot leading the Masters class through the lengthy dust track.

After pulling a decent gap on the rest of the field, Fleming looked to have it locked in the bag. Increasing his lead each lap his efforts on the throttle culminating to adding another Championship title to his collection. In true celebratory fashion, the flamboyant Flea finished across the line in first.

Brett Steel and Jason Salopayes both cemented their fate today concluding the four days in second and third respectively in the Masters class Championship.

As soon as the Master‰Ûªs were off the track, attention turned to the Veteran‰Ûªs (Over 35‰Ûªs) class as they too were gunning for Championship glory with one final and manic dash to the flag. Although leading the Championship, Dylan Rees sat in third for most of the Final Moto allowing Kirk Hutton to slip through and take first place.

Damian Smith and Dylan Rees sat second and third respectively. With the combined times over the four days tallied, it was Dylan Rees who was a forgone conclusion, coming out victorious claiming the 2016 Yamaha A4DE Veterans Championship. Damien Smith and Kirk Hutton equally taking the second and third position on the Championship podium respectively.

Active8 Yamaha Yamalube‰Ûªs Tayla Jones, was an absolute force to be reckoned with today. Jones pulled straight off the start, winding on the throttle to lead by a mile before the half way marker in the first lap! Jessica Gardiner fought off the hard charging girls to remain in second, chasing Jones‰Ûª ever extending gap with the battle on track playing out for third between Tamara Gray and Sophie Coldcicutt.

Gray took third at the last, although nothing could overshadow Tayla‰Ûªs intense speed and skill which saw her launch over the finish line in and blur of pink and blue, the Yamaha rider truly cementing her winning 2016 Yamaha A4DE Championship efforts.

Despite a mighty fight from Gardiner in the Final Moto it was Jemma Wilson who had the quickest time over the four days to take second in the Women‰Ûªs Championship, with Gardiner in third.

With all championships now crowned the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro has concluded after what has been a succesfful and thrilling four days of gruelling competiton. Competiors will now head home and rest, ready for the 2017 A4DE.

*All results from Day one of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro are provisional

Main Photo: Womens champion Tayla Jones
Credit: Hannah Lawton

2016 Yamaha A4DE Masters Championship results:
David FLEMING 2:23:16.089
Brett STEEL 2:31:02.546
Jason SALOPAYEVS 2:32:02.653
Mark PEACOCK 2:34:31.836
Fred PATTERSON 2:35:09.001
Brett KENNY 2:35:15.760
Peter SCHAPER 2:39:50.089
David SALT 2:41:47.568
Darrin STRAUCH 2:49:31.866
Anthony MARTIN 2:50:37.799

2016 Yamaha A4DE Veterans Championship results:
Dylan REES 2:16:40.701
Damian SMITH 2:17:37.748
Kirk HUTTON 2:19:26.115
Rowan PUMPA 2:26:07.842
Brandon KIENHUIS 2:28:04.381
Con PRIVITERA 2:31:18.940
Jason PEARCE 2:33:22.672
Scott CAMPBELL 2:36:24.513
Travis SELWYN 2:38:42.826
Hugh HOWARTH 2:39:17.956

2016 Yamaha A4DE Women‰Ûªs Championship results:
Tayla JONES 2:20:10.605
Jemma WILSON 2:28:20.050
Jess GARDINER 2:29:05.649
Emelie KARLSSON 2:33:03.980
Sophie COLDICUTT 2:34:16.610
Tamara GRAY 2:42:39.489
Danielle FOOT 5:53:47.778
Niki BEDFORD 6:00:03.254

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship


Steve Holcombe Edges Out Andrea Verona For EnduroGP Day Two Victory In Valpacos


Jorge Prado And Liam Everts Rise To The Top At MXGP of Trentino

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024