Joan Barreda Wins His Fourth Stage, Marc Comba Heading Towards Dakar Win

Author: Aaryn Minerds


HRC Factory Honda racer Joan Barreda picked up his fourth win of the 2014 edition of the Dakar Rally over night on the 10th stage from Iquigue to Antofagasta in Chile.

Barreda lead home his Honda team mate Helder Rodrigues by exactly eight minutes, with Factory Yamaha's Cyril Despres finishing third. Race leader Red Bull KTM's Marc Comba had a consistent day finishing the stage in 5th position and currently leads the race by 44 minutes from Barreda.

Barreda who had picked up a fifteen-minute penalty for speeding in a radar control in the special on stage nine spent the day clawing back valuable minutes in his bid to finish this years event on the podium.

The Sentinel alarm system that reminds the riders they are entering an obligatory reduced speed zone failed to sound, and the rider from CastellÌ_n, Spain, momentarily exceeded the limit. T

From the outset today, he set about making up the lost time on Marc Coma, his direct rival, and by the end of the day had clawed back 11 minutes 26 seconds.

It was a real shame about yesterday. I was relying on the Iritrack alarm sounding, but by the time I realized that it hadn‰Ûªt gone off, it was already too late. Barreda explained. "Today we started out from behind and I had to stay really focused because the navigation was tricky.

"I kept a cool head and kept upping the pace with every kilometre. I clawed back a few minutes. Let‰Ûªs see how it plays out tomorrow in CopiapÌ_.
Joan Barreda has won more stages than anyone else in this years Dakar Rally picking up his fourth stage win on stage 10 - Credit: Honda Racing
While leader Coma continues to hold a comfortable lead, he is not getting ahead of himself and know that there is still a little ways to go in this years event and that it is not over by a long way.

"If we start to think like that we‰Ûªre in the wrong direction." Coma commented on thoughts of him already having the race won. "We have to stay focused all the time.

"We have two very tough days, especially tomorrow. It is 600 km and the longest special of the rally and everything is possible," he added.

KTM's Jordi Viladoms continues to hold the final podium spot in the motorcycle class after 10 days of competition, some 1 hour and 22 minutes behind second placed Barreda, but only 11 minutes ahead of fourth placed Factory Yamaha rider Olivier Pain.

The rider he may need to watch out for though is not Pain, but Pain's team mate Despres who moved himself up the leader board again over night into 6th position and now sits just 12 minutes away from a podium finish despite losing a lot of time during the first week.

Aussie Shane Diener finished stage 10 in 26th position and in doing so moved up another three positions overnight to 46th aboard his Yamaha. KTM mounted Troy O'Connor finished the day in 41st and is currently Australia leading rider after 10 stages in 37th position.

Allan Roberts sits just outside the top 40, in 41st position after finishing stage 10 in 46th position.

Stage 10 Results: Iquique to Antofagasta - Chile:
1. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) 04:42:00 hrs
2. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +00:08:00
3. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +00:09:40
4. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +00:11:11
5. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:11:26
6. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:15:08
7. Stefan Svitko (SVK, KTM) +00:15:14
8. Javier Pizzolito (ARG, Honda) +00:16:58
9. Ivan Jakes (SVK, KTM) +00:18:17
10. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +00:19:21 +00:15:01
26. Shane Diener (Aus, Yamaha) +00:48:16
41. Troy O'Connor (Aus, KTM) +01:14:25
46. Allan Roberts (Aus, KTM) +01:21:39

Provisional Overall Standings after Stage 10:
1. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) 41:48:33 hrs
2. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) +00:44:10
3. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +02:02:03
4. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +02:16:12
5. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +02:21:16
6. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +02:28:27
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +02:29:15
8. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +03:05:54
9. Stefan Svitko (SVK, KTM) +03:33:07
10 .David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +03:41:54
37. Troy O'Connor (Aus, KTM) +12:21:20
41. Allan Roberts (Aus, KTM) +13:14:28
46. Shane Diener (Aus, Yamaha) +14:08:21

Top Image: Marc Coma continues to edge closer to victory at the 2014 Dakar Rally

Credit: M. Maragni - KTM Images

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Standing Construct Honda MXGP Signs Alberto Forato

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023