Jed Beaton Takes A Strong Fourth Overall At The MXGP Of France


Fourth place in France sees Australian Jed Beaton 5th in the championship standings. Photo: Juan Pablo Acevedo

Round 12 of the 2021 FIM Motocross World Championship has ended positively for Australian Jed Beaton securing a strong fourth place overall result in the MX2 class.

With round 12 taking place at the classic French circuit of Lacapelle-Marival, good starts were essential at the tight and twisty track.

Starting race one in the best way possible, Jed Beaton rounded the first turn up front and quickly moved into fourth place during the opening lap. With his sights set on the podium, the Australian then worked his way around Jago Geerts on lap five before enjoying a largely untroubled moto to secure a deserved third-place finish.

In race two, Beaton didn’t quite secure the start needed for a repeat podium finish. Able to make several passes through the early laps and move into sixth, he went on to finish right behind the battle for the top-five, placing sixth in the moto for fourth overall.

“I guess overall It was a good day but on this track you really needed two good starts,” Beaton reflected. “I got a great one in race one and brought it home for third so that was pretty decent, and I was happy with my riding. I didn’t quite execute the same start in race two but I was able to make a few passes early on and ended up sixth. Not too bad but with a better start I know I could have been much closer to the front. It’s a little frustrating but now it’s onto Spain next weekend.”

Beaton will next be in FIM Motocross World Championship action at the MXGP of Spain in one week’s time for round 13 of the series on October 17.

Jed Beaton carded a third and a sixth on his way to fourth overall in France. Photo: Juan Pablo Acevedo

MX2 – Grand Prix Race 1 – Top 10 Classification:
1 Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 34:55.130
2 Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, KTM), +0:04.885
3 Jed Beaton (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:07.369
4 Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:10.833
5 Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), +0:11.843
6 Thibault Benistant (FRA, Yamaha), +0:12.576
7 Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +0:18.307
8 Wilson Todd (AUS, Kawasaki), +0:27.206
9 Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, Kawasaki), +0:32.579
10 Stephen Rubini (FRA, Honda), +0:35.083

MX2 – Grand Prix Race 2 – Top 10 Classification:
1 Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 35:06.498
2 Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:02.020
3 Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, KTM), +0:03.925
4 Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), +0:05.081
5 Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +0:05.998
6 Jed Beaton (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:06.966
7 Thibault Benistant (FRA, Yamaha), +0:20.272
8 Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Kawasaki), +0:26.934
9 Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, Kawasaki), +0:28.185
10 Ruben Fernandez (ESP, Honda), +0:29.173

MX2 – GP Top 10 Classification:
1 Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 50 Points
2 Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, KTM), 42 Points
3 Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 40 Points
4 Jed Beaton (AUS, HUS), 35 Points
5 Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 34 Points
6 Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 30 Points
7 Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 29 Points
8 Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, KAW), 24 Points
9 Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KAW), 22 Points
10 Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 19 Points

MX2 – World Championship Top 10 Classification:
1 Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 488 Points
2 Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 397 Points
3 Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, KTM), 393 Points
4 Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 372 Points
5 Jed Beaton (AUS, HUS), 359 Points
6 Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 336 Points
7 Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 333 Points
8 Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 313 Points
9 Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 262 Points
10 Mathys Boisrame (FRA, KAW), 223 Points

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023