Daniel Sanders Completes Championship Winning Season With Final Round Win


Following in the footsteps of Dakar Championship and ex-teammate Toby Price, KTM Enduro Racing Team‰Ûªs Daniel ‰Û÷Chucky‰Ûª Sanders has successfully blitz to a victory claiming finish after six tests yesterday, at the 2016 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship in Penshurst in Victoria.

His consistency throughout this year has cemented his 2016 Championship victory here today, claiming both the outright Championship title and winning his Championship E3 class on 292 points.

With most Championship classes still mathematically in the running heading into Rounds 11 & 12, this weekend proved vital for competitors like KTM Enduro Racing Team's Tye Simmonds and KTM mounted Jack Simpson. But after an undeniably tough two days in torturous conditions both KTM riders have come out on top claiming Championship victory in their respective classes.

Simmonds riding to a successful Championship E2 win after what has been a mixed year for the young rider. Simmonds has proved that hard work, training and dedication pays off, as well as a great team backing.

Simpson was fresh out of the Motocross scene at the start of the AORC season and with no expectations heading in to the first round this season for him was a question mark. However, Simpson today proved that AORC was his calling, showing his switch from Motocross was a great choice. He has secured the 2016 AORC Championship E1 class victory, exclaiming he was absolutely stoked with the win.

It has been undeniable this year‰Ûªs Transmoto 19 and Under competitor Wil Ruprecht has shown great potential on his Motul Pirelli Sherco Factory Racing Team machine but with some massive hurdles to jump this year it hasn‰Ûªt been the easiest road. However, Ruprecht has come through tough times to come out victorious celebrating a Championship win in his respective class.

Yamaha mounted Jemma Wilson, the Championship favourite, solidified her victory chase today finishing first in her class but not only did the young curly haired, bubbly woman take a win today she has walked away with the Women‰Ûªs Championship in Wilson style.

Peter Schaper despite a 4,4 finish this weekend, managed to retain the top position taking the Championship Masters honours today at Round 12, 29 points ahead of second place.

Bjorn Osborne and Anthony Greene came in to Rounds 11 & 12 still mathematically in championship contention but with the wild weather and fading track conditions both Osborne and Greene decided to sit the final round on the sidelines leading to Osbourne taking championship glory today by 24 points after a hard fight all year.

With the 2016 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship season now complete, the Australian Off-Road community now turns its attention to the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Day Enduro, which will take place from November 14-19 in Mansfield, Victoria.

2016 Yamaha AORC Top 10 Season Overall Standings
Daniel Sanders ‰ÛÒ 282
Tye Simmonds ‰ÛÒ 226
Chris Hollis ‰ÛÒ 190
Lachlan Stanford ‰ÛÒ 177
Beau Ralston ‰ÛÒ 176
Jack Simpson ‰ÛÒ 175
Broc Grabham ‰ÛÒ 147
Glenn Kearney ‰ÛÒ 140
Riley Graham ‰ÛÒ 113
Tom McCormack ‰ÛÒ 112

Championship E3 overall points standings:
Daniel Sanders ‰ÛÒ 292
Lachlan Stanford ‰ÛÒ 248
Lyndon Snodgrass ‰ÛÒ 228
Beau Ralston ‰ÛÒ 226
Tom Mason ‰ÛÒ 102
Brayden Zillman ‰ÛÒ 56
Lachlan Harrison ‰ÛÒ 45
Mitch Bowen ‰ÛÒ 34
Jeremy Sims ‰ÛÒ 34
Hayden Conroy ‰ÛÒ 30

Championship E2 Overall points standings:
Tye Simmonds ‰ÛÒ 276
Chris Hollis ‰ÛÒ 246
Broc Grabham ‰ÛÒ 221
Tom McCormack ‰ÛÒ 194
Josh Greene ‰ÛÒ 133
Justin Carafa ‰ÛÒ 113
Chris Davey ‰ÛÒ 102
Peter Boyle ‰ÛÒ 79
Kane Hall ‰ÛÒ 78
Mitcham Harper ‰ÛÒ 77

Championship E1 overall points standings:
Jack Simpson ‰ÛÒ 278
Glenn Kearney ‰ÛÒ 249
Riley Graham ‰ÛÒ 225
Scott Keegan ‰ÛÒ 209
Baylee Davies ‰ÛÒ 171
Brad Hardaker ‰ÛÒ 136
Stefan Granquist ‰ÛÒ 109
Sean Holmes ‰ÛÒ 109
Peter Boyle ‰ÛÒ 78
Tom Kite ‰ÛÒ 73

Transmoto 19 and Under overall points standings:
Wil Ruprecht ‰ÛÒ 253
Nic Tomlinson ‰ÛÒ 222
Fraser Higlett ‰ÛÒ 222
Ben Kearns ‰ÛÒ 192
Andrew Wilksch ‰ÛÒ 160
Dalton Johnson ‰ÛÒ 140
Jai Wedlock ‰ÛÒ 136
Jesse Lawton ‰ÛÒ 126
Stuart Holt ‰ÛÒ 125
Jake McGlashan ‰ÛÒ 114

Championship Women‰Ûªs overall points standings:
Jemma Wilson ‰ÛÒ 292
Jessica Gardiner ‰ÛÒ 251
Emelie Karlsson ‰ÛÒ 234
Sophie Coldicutt ‰ÛÒ 214
Kate Norman ‰ÛÒ 150
Irene Vasilas ‰ÛÒ 145
Tegan Hall ‰ÛÒ 91
Karina Bailey ‰ÛÒ 60
Brittany Rubie ‰ÛÒ 60
Tamara Gray ‰ÛÒ 34

Championship Master‰Ûªs overall points standings:
Peter Schaper ‰ÛÒ 220
Derek Grundy ‰ÛÒ 191
Andrew Cais ‰ÛÒ 178
Michael Widdison ‰ÛÒ 132
Mal Dalton ‰ÛÒ 114
Jason Salopayers ‰ÛÒ 97
Danny Gunning ‰ÛÒ 92
Rod Kearns ‰ÛÒ 91
Clint Broomhall ‰ÛÒ 85
Robert Bailey ‰ÛÒ 84

Championship Veterans overall points standings:
Bjorn Osbourne ‰ÛÒ 189
Anthony Greene ‰ÛÒ 165
Kurt Broomhall ‰ÛÒ 128
Craig Wease ‰ÛÒ 119
Trevor Duncan ‰ÛÒ 108
Damien Smith ‰ÛÒ 100
Glenn Stiles ‰ÛÒ 92
Con Privitera ‰ÛÒ 78
Scott Szabo ‰ÛÒ 70
Scott Campbell ‰ÛÒ 70

Top Image Credit: - John Hamilton/Mad Dog Images

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Tim Gajser And Lucas Coenen Win MXGP Of France


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow Double Up At TrialGP of Japan

Off Road

Australian Off-Road Championships Round 6 Summary


Romain Febvre And Lucas Coenen Top Qualifying At MXGP Of France


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow In control On Day One of TrialGP of Japan

Off Road

Australian Off-Road Championships Round 5 Summary


Queensland To Host 2024 Australian Supercross Championship Opener


Danielle McDonald finishes Top 10 At Powerline Park GNCC

Hard Enduro

Ruben Chadwick Leads Beta’s Winning Assault At Australian Hard Enduro Championship

Flat Track

Tom Drane Back On Top At 2024 AMA Flat Track Titles

Hard Enduro

Anthony Solar Podiums At The Goldfield Extreme Hard Enduro


TrialGP of Japan kicks off 2024 Hertz FIM Trial World Championship

What's On This Week

ProMX Championship - Round 4
Maitland, NSW
Sunday, May 26th, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 1
Fox Raceway, Pala, CA
Saturday, May 25th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

ProMX Championship - Round 4
Maitland, NSW
Sunday, May 26th, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 1
Fox Raceway, Pala, CA
Saturday, May 25th, 2024