Dirt Track

Young Guns Step Up At 2022 Central Coast Cup


2022 Central Coast Cup winner Luke Bush
2022 Central Coast Cup winner Luke Bush. Photo: David Lamont

The 2022 Honda / The Construction Team Central Coast Cup motorcycle meeting has been run for another year and there are two new names on the honour roll of winners.

Last weekend’s action at the Allen Park track at Somersby saw Cameron Dunker victorious in The Construction Team Junior Cup before teenager Luke Bush scored the biggest win of his career when he took the honours in the Honda Senior Cup.

While both performed well in supporting events they had not been dominant before they stepped up when the Cup was up for grabs.

Host club rider David Smith had the opportunity to become the most successful rider ever in the history of the Central Coast Cup but came up short as Luke Bush scored an emphatic all-the-way win with Jayden Rodgers third ahead of Taylor Poole.

Three-time winner Smith acknowledged that the ‘older’ brigade are finding the going tougher as youngsters step up from the juniors and make an immediate impact.

Noah Cardinale failed to finish in the Cup final, but he had earlier won the MX Open, Pro 450 and Pro 250 classes.

The other senior class, the Over 35s class was very competitive with Daniel Yarnold winning the final ahead of Zac Campbell, who had been the standout in the heats, with Josh McCosker third.

It was a similar story for the 13 – Under 16s with Cody Lewis winning both the 2-stroke and 4-stroke classes, but when it came to the Central Coast Junior Cup it was Cameron Dunker who beat Lewis with Jhett Calderwood third.

The performances of a number of juniors augers well for the future with Alexander Adamson, Lachlan Russell and the younger Thoren Openshaw, Cody Wilby and Jayden Holder all showing out well.

In the younger age brackets in the juniors, there were two standout performers – Theo Afeaki and Hugh Hope-Hodgetts who both claimed two class victories.

Afeaki almost made it a treble but settled for second behind Koby Erich, while other class winners were Preston Craft and Thoren Openshaw.


1 Luke Bush (Hunter)
2 David Smith (Central Coast)
3 Jayden Rodgers (Hunter)

PRO 450
1 Noah Cardinale (Kurri Kurri)
2 Luke Bush
3 Peter Smith (Central Coast)

1 Noah Cardinale
2 Jayden Rodgers
3 David Smith

PRO 250
1 Noah Cardinale
2 Zachary Wallace (Kurri Kurri)
3 Caleb Wilkes (Kurri Kurri)

OVER 35s
1 Daniel Yarnold (Brisbane)
2 Zac Campbell (Kurri Kurri)
3 Josh McCosker (Hunter)


1 Cameron Dunker (St George)
2 Cody Lewis (Forbes)
3 Jhett Calderwood (North Brisbane)

50cc Auto 7 – U/9
1 Theo Afeaki (North Brisbane)
2 Braxson Anderson (Maitland)
3 Lleyton Roughly (Coffs Harbour)

65cc 7 – U/9
1 Theo Afeaki
2 Kaiden Lantry (Kurri Kurri)
3 Braxson Jones (Kurri Kurri)

65cc 9 – U/13
1 Preston Craft (Hunter)
2 Cooper Antone (Albury Wodonga)
3 William Wiggins (Hunter)

80cc 4str Mod. 7 – U/12
1 Koby Erich (Gold Coast)
2 Theo Afeaki
3 Preston Craft

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str. Std. 9 – U/13
1 BW Hugh Hope-Hodgetts (Forbes)
2 Valentino Knezovic (Penrith)
3 Beau Bailey (Forbes)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str. Std. 9 – U/13 SW
1 Hugh Hope-Hodgetts
2 Preston Craft
3 Valentino Knezovic

85cc 4 stk/ 150cc 2 stk 12 to U/16yrs BW
1 Thoren Openshaw (Coffs Harbour)
2 Katarna Robinson (Gunnedah)
3 Blaize Stark- Szabo (Penrith)

100 – 150cc 2-str 13 – U/16
1 Cody Lewis
2 Jhett Calderwood
3 James Wood (Central Coast)

200-250 4-str. 13 – U/16
1 Cody Lewis
2 Cameron Dunker
3 Alexander Adamson (Penrith)

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Jed Beaton Still Not One Hundred Percent But Shows Pace At The MXGP Of Indonesia


Mitch Evans Gains Momentum With Best Result Of the Year At the MXGP of Indonesian


Wil Ruprecht Wins Drama-Filled Day Two At FIM EnduroGP Of Italy


Tim Gajser and Tom Vialle Domiante The MXGP of Indonesia


Aaron Tanti And Wilson Todd Continue ProMX Dominance As Ty Kean Notches Up First Win


Anders Thomsen Claims First FIM Speedway Grand Prix Win


2022 Fullnoise / FLY RACING Race Results, ProMX Round Five - Maitland, NSW


Victory For Josep Garcia On Day One At WPTGlobal EnduroGP of Italy


FIM World Supercross Championship Unveils New Logo


Ryder DiFrancesco to make AMA Pro Motocross Championship Debut


Maitland Sets The Stage For Second Half Of 2022 ProMX Championship


MDK Motorsports Added To The 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship Roster

What's On This Week

FIM Motocross World Championship - Round 13
MXGP of Jakarta (INA) - Jakarta
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship - Round 5
Redbud National - Buchanan, MI
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022


Hands-On With The Stark Varg Electric Motocross Bike

MTX Sprockets and XAM Chains

Is The Motocross Future Now With Stark Varg?

Fusport XP2 Review

Under or Over – We pit Fly Racing’s Revel Race Roost Guard against the Fly Barricade Zip Vest.

Into the Night – Part Two

What's On This Week

FIM Motocross World Championship - Round 13
MXGP of Jakarta (INA) - Jakarta
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship - Round 5
Redbud National - Buchanan, MI
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022