WSBK wildcards for Phillip Island announced – Five Aussies make the grade


A total of five Australian riders will compete as wildcards in the opening round of the World Superbike Championship (WSBK) at Phillip Island on February 26-28, 2016.

Australia will be well represented with two riders in the World Superbike (WSBK) Class and three competing in the World Supersport (WSS) Class.

World Superbike:
Mike Jones ‰ÛÒ DesmoSport Ducati, Ducati
Jed Metcher - Race Center, Kawasaki

World Supersport:
Anthony West ‰ÛÒ X50 Racing, Yamaha
Kane Burns ‰ÛÒ Burns Racing, Suzuki
Mitch Levy ‰ÛÒ Landbridge Racing, Yamaha
After taking out his first Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) in 2015, Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) said he couldn‰Ûªt wait to take it up to the world‰Ûªs best.

‰ÛÏIt‰Ûªs very exciting to receive the wildcard to race at Phillip Island with the World Superbikes,‰Û
Kane Burns:: Photo: Russell Colvin
there has been a lot of ups and downs to get there, but it‰Ûªs a dream come true for me and it is what I‰Ûªve always wanted to do,‰Û
Jed Metcher in action: Photo: Russell Colvin
Mitch Levy (Landbridge Racing, Yamaha) will be the third Australian wildcard racing in the World Supersport class, and the 21-year-old says he is looking forward to taking in all he can during his Phillip Island appearance.

‰ÛÏWorld Supersport is my dream and it‰Ûªs coming true, so I‰Ûªm just super excited to get out there to give it my best shot,‰Û

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment