WAMX Junior MX Championship Round 4 Held In Perfect Conditions


Perfect conditions for racing greeted the Make Smoking History WAMX Junior State Championship riders on Sunday at Chidlow.

The fourth round offered plenty to riders, with the track holding up remarkably well, weather conditions on par and a bagful of championship points available for the taking.

Plenty of surprise results across the day, requiring countbacks to determine podiums, and some of the closest point‰Ûªs chases in various classes which will see the results down to the wire with only two rounds left.

The 128-150cc/250cc Defending champion Justin Hart has a championship winning lead of 81 points in the standings as he secured another podium as a result of his unblemished (1-1-1) scorecard since round 2 earlier this year. Billy Middleton continued his outstanding day behind the bars picking up second (2-2-2) overall and a countback determining the final podium position with Justin Walker‰Ûªs consistent results securing third overall despite finishing on equal points with Jonathon Hartley who finished only a point ahead of Kai Stephen for the day. Kurt Oinn, Mat Fabry, Cory Perkin, Dale Doutch and Jake Woods were inside the top ten with mixed results across the day ensuring solid points haul for the championship.

Billy Middleton was in his best form of the season so far in the 100/125cc 13-15 years taking the round win with three emphatic rides (1-1-1) to also to hold down the series lead on tied points with Mitch Outram who finished equal second on points with Mat Fabry who picked up third overall for the day as a result of a countback. This class has been outstanding all year, and never fails to disappoint. As has been the story for the season, Kurt Oinn, Kai Stephen and Kyle Gillespie held down positions inside the top five with Jeffrey Head showing consistency pays off with impressive results from Ben Tredinnick, Austin Ridley and Luke Porter.

In the older age group, 100/125 cc 15 Years, Justin Hart secured the round win and continued as the series leader with the second step of the podium secured by Jonathon Hartley and third to Dale Doutch. Tom West was strong in his first two motos looking the goods for a podium until a third moto crash dashed the opportunity. Dylan Hennessey continued his season with steady results across the day, and Ryder Smith signalled his intentions earlier in the day, but could not capitalise, his results enough to keep him within the top five placing in the championship season standings.

The 85/150cc 9-12 years class had Liam Atkinson taking a clean sweep (1-1-1) from Cody Chittick in second and Seth Manuel taking third. Myles Gilmore kept his season ticking along nicely with three consistent rides as did Jake Minear, Brock Flynn and Evan Browne. Liam Atkinson now holds a 24 point lead over Chittick in the championship standings with Seth Manuel holding down third position with two rounds now remaining.

In the 85/150ccc 12-16 heading into the fourth round, series leader Regan Duffy was absent, representing Australia in the Junior World Championships in Spain. This left the door wide open for some interesting competition and Mitchell Outram answered the charge as he took over as the new series leader with his round win (1-1-1) at Chidlow. Outram was on fire securing the three race wins with the battle playing out behind him as Jacob Daniels finished second (2-3-2) and Rhys Burnett finishing third for the day holding out challenges from Corben Weinert, Sam Baxter and Wylie Scott.

The 65cc class have been combined and scored separately this season, and the racing has continued to benefit the riders across both classes, which has also added an exciting element and round 4 at Chidlow was no exception.

In the 7-U10 years, Jaylee Rimbas did her championship the world of good when she took the round win ahead of Seth Clark in second and Jake Harvey securing the third step of the podium. With stiff competition from Cobey Brown, Kayden Minear, Tylar Soloman and Sam McHutchison, every rider was on their A game to try to secure the better results. Round 4 results now has Jake Harvey as the series leader heading into the next round at Bunbury, with the top five championship positions separated by only a handful of points.

In the older age group 10-12 Years Cody Chittick (1-1-2) took the round win from rival and good mate Liam Atkinson who secured second (2-2-1) and Myles Gilmore picking up third overall. Seth Manuel, Kaj Radcliffe, Bailey Smith and Brock Flynn picked up solid results to add to the series points chase. With the results at Chidlow, Liam Atkinson now holds only a seven point lead in the series from Cody Chittick. Both riders have been sensation in both classes they have contested in the 65‰Ûªs and 85cc class, making the next two rounds as exciting as their seasons have been so far this year.

The 50cc Demo class had terrific battles with Chantz Napier, Max Harvey, Campbell Chapman, Blake White, Makayla Rimbas, Ryder Matthews-Taylor, Riley Moes, Belle Monkley, Blake Baldacchino, Luca Romano, Jack Bakker, Tamsyn Slater, Jett Harvey and Casey Berne chasing each other down in their three non- competitive motos, ensuring that this development class is producing some future talented riders.

Seth Clark took the opening moto and a pair of second places to finish second behind top of the podium overall round winner and series leader Kayden Minear (2-1-1) in the 50cc Auto class. Taj Moore was back in the winner‰Ûªs circle taking third overall for the day. Tate Paganini, Jake Rumens, Max Devery, Jackson Versteegan, Seth Shackleton and Cohan Guyett were all in the mix yet consistent results would be the order of the day to maintain keeping in touch with the championship leaders.

Full series results can be found at

Round 5 heads to Shrubland Park, Bunbury on August 23rd.

Top Image: Justin Hart dominated the Junior Lites Class to maintain the series lead.

Credit: Gordon Pettigrew/ True Spirit Photos.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas


The Lawrence Brothers And Jo Shimoda Keep Honda On Top At 40th Paris Supercross


Michael West Wins Dramatic Australian U21 Speedway Title


Jett Lawrence And Jo Shimoda Take Out 40th Paris Supercross


Josh Green Calls Time on Sensational Career

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment