MX Nationals

Twin Wins For Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss At Appin


Team Motul Suzuki rider Matt Moss has performed a clean sweep in the MX1 class at the 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals, winning both motos in the second round of the series at Appin in New South Wales.

Moss‰Ûªs twin brother Jake took his National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki bike to back-to-back second placings to finish second outright on the day, completing the mirror of results from moto one to moto two, KTM Motocross Race Team rider Kirk Gibbs finished both races in third position.

The format for round two changed to the two-moto format (30 minutes + 1 lap per moto) meaning standings in each race carried significant importance in contributing to the outright results.

In the opening MX1 race, reigning champion Moss again proved that he is the rider to beat in 2014, charging straight to the holeshot and dominating from start to finish.

Moss was never threatened taking all 35 points on offer in the race - finishing nearly 8 seconds clear of his brother Jake in second.

Jake was impressive in the early stages of the race as he initially challenged for the lead, before doing enough to finish ahead of Gibbs in third, and Billy Mackenzie (CDR Yamaha) in fourth.
Jake Moss went 2-2 for second overall - Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
Mackenzie had been third for much of the race before he landed on the edge of a tabletop mid-race, which relegated him back to fourth. Despite the hiccup he still managed to finish more than 20 seconds ahead of Suzuki privateers Hayden Mellross in fifth place and Jacob Wright (Tattoo Racing) in sixth.

Adam Monea (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who finished second overall at the opening round in Broadford, had a start to forget and despite his best efforts could only register a 14th place finish.

The second moto of the day nearly saw chaos at the first turn as Matt Moss had a case of the shakes and made contact with Jake. He managed to regain his composure and stay upright, but not before Honda rider Alex Snow could sneak through to take the holeshot.

His lead lasted less than two corners before Matt Moss, followed by Jake, passed and took control of the race, and the pair spent the next 30 minutes riding as though they were having fun in their backyard.

The top five was rounded out by Gibbs, Mackenzie and Monea (in third, fourth and fifth respectively) ‰ÛÒ positions which the trio held their throughout most of the race itself.

In the overall championship standings, Matt Moss already has a hany buffer with 173 points ‰ÛÒ 20 points clear of Gibbs with Monea a further 13 behind.
Kirk Gibbs scored his second straight podium finish to move into second in the championship - Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
MX1 Overall Rounds Results:
1. Matt Moss - 70 Pts
2. Jake Moss - 64 Pts
3. Kirk Gibbs - 60 Pts
4. Billy Mackenzie - 56 Pts
5. Jacob Wright - 49 Pts
6. Hayden Mellross - 49 Pts
7. Jay Marmont - 47 Pts
8. Rhys Carter - 46 Pts
9. Kade Mosig - 44 Pts
10. Adam Monea - 43 Pts
11. Alex Snow - 39 Pts
12. Brock Winston - 38 Pts
13. Jesse Dobson - 34 Pts
14. Lewis Woods - 34 Pts
15. Sam Martin - 33 Pts
16. Brad Groombridge - 29 Pts
17. Dylan Gosling - 29 Pts
18. Kieran Tisdale - 29 Pts
19. Will Angel - 25 Pts
20. Michael Grassick - 22 Pts
MX1 Appin Podium - Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
MX1 Overall Championship Standings After Round 2 to 10:
1. Matt Moss - 173 Pts
2. Kirk Gibbs - 153 Pts
3. Adam Monea - 140 Pts
4. Jake Moss - 139 Pts
5. Billy Mackenzie - 125 Pts
6. Kade Mosig - 120 Pts
7. Rhys Carter - 120 Pts
8. Jay Marmont - 115 Pts
9. Hayden Mellross - 114 Pts
10. Jacon Wright - 105 Pts
11. Brock Winston - 99 Pts
12. Brad Groombridge - 96 Pts
13. Sam Martin - 91 Pts
14. Jesse Dobson - 87 Pts
15. Lewis Woods - 85 Pts
16. Kieran Tisdale - 66 Pts
17. Dylan Dylan - 58 Pts
18. Michael Grassick - 46 Pts
19. Will Angel - 45 Pts
20. Matt Ginders - 43 Pts

Top Image: Matt Moss went 1-1 to make it 2 from 2 rounds wins in 2014

Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


CFMOTO Launches New Microsite Dedicated To Its Expansive 450cc Line-Up


Guillem Farres' Season Over As A Result Of A Serious Training Crash Injury


Factory Honda In Winning Early Season Form At Sunshine State Championships

Dirt Track

2024 NSW Dirt Track Season Lifts Off At Somersby Super TT Meeting


World Champion Max Anstie Secures 2024 East Coast Supercross Championship Red Plate


Jed Beaton Tops The Podium At 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships Round Two


Cooper Webb And Haiden Deegan Win Drama-Filled Arlington Supercross


Billy Bolt's FIM SuperEnduro Win Streak Continues In Bulgaria


Shoulder Injury Rules Evan Ferry Out Of Arlington Supercross


Christian Craig To Sit Out Arlington Supercross


Mattia Guadagnini Joins The Early Season Injury List


Jake Cannon Signs With Factory Honda

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024


First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024