Tragics Tackle the Dividing Range Aboard 73 Yamaha Tenere’s


Riders on Yamaha T̩n̩r̩s of all vintages stemming back to the original 1983 model headed to northern NSW for the fifth annual riding event dedicated to owners of the large tank adventure bikes.

Starting at Nambucca Heads and taking in around 1700km of dirt roads and twisting tarmac, the four day tour ended at the Riverside Downs resort near Dungog.

"The combination of perfect wheather, awesome trails and good humoured bench racing has cemented the latest incarnation of this event as the most tragic yet," says YMA Communications Manager and XTZ660 T̩n̩r̩ rider Sean Goldhawk.

"This annual event has become a must-ride for anyone imbued with the TÌ©nÌ©rÌ© spirit ‰ÛÒ whether that be a thirty year old 600cc single or the latest model 1200cc parallel twin," continues Goldhawk.

Special guest Tragic and Aussie MX legend Stephen Gall made his third appearance at a T̩n̩r̩ Tragics Run piloting an XTZ1200 Super T̩n̩r̩. The four times Mister Motocross once again shared his vast knowledge by hosting a special riding skills and bike and rider set-up lecture during the event.

Organisers Andrew and Tania Clubb have promised more Yamaha T̩n̩r̩ fully supported adventure rides in the near future, keep posted on the Tragic facebook page

Tragics by numbers - The Dividing Range Run was the fifth annual T̩n̩r̩ Tragics Run, after previous events in 2011 Flinders Ranges SA, 2012 Southern NSW, 2013 Longreach QLD and 2014 Victorian high country
- The event kicked off with a Welcome Dinner at Nambucca Heads and finished with Farewell and Awards dinner at Riverwood Downs Resort near Dungog NSW

The four day run could be navigated by route sheets and covered a total of 1683km as follows:
- Day 1: Nambucca Heads to Tenterfield via Coutts Crossing, 427km
- Day 2: Tenterfield to Inverell via Drake and Emmaville, 325km Day
- 3: Inverell to Riverwood Downs via Walcha, 501km Day
- 4: Riverwood Downs to Riverwood Downs via Barrington Tops and Gundy, 430km
- 65 T̩n̩r̩ Tragics riders plus four crew riders Andrew Clubb, Lance Turnley, Clive Ward and Troy Mattson, plus YMA riders Stephen Gall and Sean Goldhawk plus Adv Moto riders Steve Smith and Andy Horne equals a total of 73 Tenere riders on the Run, plus sweep truck provided by Eddy Trapp from Trapp Tours and Tania Clubb in the support van.
- One female Tragic rider attended the event, Mary-Ann Eime from South Australia
- Six first-model 1983 XT600ZL T̩n̩r̩s completed the run this year.
- Most popular bike on run this year: 33 x current generation XTZ660 T̩n̩r̩
- Tragics come from far and wide with entrants this year from NSW, QLD, Vic, ACT, Tasmania, SA, NT and WA, plus Canadian Andy Horne from Adv Moto

Major Awards winners:
Youngest rider: Josh Halpin (QLD), 19
Oldest rider: Harley Drew (NSW), 68
Oldest T̩n̩r̩ on ride: Clubby, 1983 XT600ZL
Most kilometres ridden to the event: John Wheeler from near Darwin, NT, over 5200km!
Best Presented current XT600Z T̩n̩r̩: Francis Smith (QLD)
Best Presented current XT1200Z Super T̩n̩r̩: Justin Hayden (NSW)
Best Presented first-generation XT600/660Z: John Wheeler (NT)
Best Presented first-generation XTZ750 Super T̩n̩r̩: Chris Kirk (NSW)
Hard Luck Award: Chris Warnaby (NSW), his 1988 XT600Z T̩n̩r̩ expired on Day 2 at Inverell, but he promptly traded it in on a second-hand 2012 XTZ660 and will be back for next year's Run!
Captain's Choice Award for Truly Tragic Tragic: Dave Bottomley (QLD), riding a 1983 XT600ZL T̩n̩r̩

Special 100% Percent Tragic awards were presented to 14 Tragics who have now completed all five Tenere Tragic Runs:
Dave Bottomley,
Ian Carr,
Andrew 'Captain Tragic' Clubb,
Dave Harrison,
Colin Hayden,
Mike Haysom,
Ken Henderson,
Riaan Landman,
Troy Mattson,
Steve McMillan,
Grahame Pavitt,

Mike Ruoso,
Curtis Williams,
Dave Wilson

Top Image: ̩n̩r̩ owners celebrate completing the 2015 event at Riverwoods Downs near Dungog, NSW

Share Article:

Action Sports Decals

More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Team HRC Part Company With Roan van de Moosdijk

Off Road

Jess Gardiner and Danielle McDonald Trade Wins At Mt Misery


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024