Dirt Track

Trackmasters action at Barleigh Ranch delights race fans


The 28th staging of the Trackmasters meeting at the Barleigh Ranch Raceway on the weekend provided some superb action as some of Australia‰Ûªs best riders fought it out for honours.

Staged by the Hunter Motor Cycle Club, and sponsored by Chris Watson Motorcycles and Honda Australia, the meeting attracted riders from as far away as Townsville and Melbourne.

The feature event, the first staging of the Rod Allen Memorial Pro Open Trophy, was as an exciting race as fans could hope for with teenager Jarred Brook passing Damien Koppe on the last corner. The Queensland 1-2 was followed by local teenager Mackenzie Childs in third and Luke Richards fourth.

Brook actually scored a clean-sweep of his three classes leading home Childs, Richards and Koppe in the Pro 450 final, while in the Pro 250 class Brook beat Boyd Hollis, Bayley James and Bailey Spencer.

Meeting organisers added a Shoot-out to the program with the top 12 riders who had qualified for the Pro Open final engaged in a series of match races where the winner stayed on the track to take on his next opponent.

Damien Koppe won an exciting finale to the Shoot-out beating Paul Caslick ‰ÛÒ significantly the two oldest riders in the competition outdoing the entire younger brigade.

Other 2-wheel winners in the seniors were Paul Caslick (Over 35s), Jake Farnsworth (Pre ‰Ûª90 machines) and the very impressive Sally Smith who beat Kelly Brown and Bree-Anna Etheridge in the Pro Womens Open.

The first staging of the George Watson Memorial Trophy for dirt track sidecars resulted in a 1-2 finish for two teams from Gunnedah ‰ÛÒ with debutants Jim Jobling and passenger Nathan Damir outpointing Brett Pearce and passenger Andy Harrison.

Junior racing again showed that the future of the sport is in good hands as many talented youngsters provided their share of exciting racing.

Billy Van Eerde from Singleton was again the standout in the older age brackets winning two classes and beaten by Harry Maxwell from Proserpine in the other, while Kye Andrews of Taree was also prominent.

Interstate riders won six of the ten junior classes with Gold Coast duo Jett Kubelka and Harrison Voight each claiming two class wins and Brisbane rider Glenn Nelson also a winner.

Luke Bush from Kurri Kurri and Jayden Holder from Kempsey scored class wins.

A special mention must be made of Damien Koppe and Kayden Downing from Townville who undertook the long drive south for the meeting. They picked up Harry Maxwell and his bike in Proserpine and then had to detour inland to get around the Rockhampton floodwaters. Each of the trio was rewarded with impressive displays.

Main Photo: Luke Richards finished on the podium in the PRO 450 class


Staged at the Barleigh Ranch Track, Raymond Terrace (NSW) on April 8 and 9.

1 Jarred Brook (North Brisbane)
2 Damien Koppe (Townsville)
3 Mackenzie Childs (Kurri Kurri)

PRO 450
1 Jarred Brook (North Brisbane)
2 Mackenzie Childs (Kurri Kurri)
3 Luke Richards (Singleton)

PRO 250
1 Jarred Brook (North Brisbane)
2 Boyd Hollis (Kurri Kurri)
3 Bayley James (Hunter)

Damien Koppe (Townsville)

OVER 35s
1 Paul Caslick (Hunter)
2 Peter Knight (Central Coast)
3 Darryl Mallam (Maitland)

PRE 90s
1 Jake Farnsworth (Penrith
2 Darren Saxon (Hunter)
Eric Smaller (Kurri Kurri)

1 Sally Smith (Hunter)
2 Kelly Brown (Tamworth)
3 Bree-Anna Etheridge (Cessnock)

1 Jim Jobling / Nathan Damir (Gunnedah) 1st
2 Brett Pearce / Andy Harrison (Gunnedah) 2nd
3 Sean Griffiths / Paul Cooper (Cowra) 3rd


50cc Auto Div.2 7 - U/9
1 Jett Kubelka (Gold Coast)
2 Hugh Dilley (Kurri Kurri)
3 Kurtis Jackson (Kurri Kurri)

65cc 7 ‰ÛÒ U/9
1 Jett Kubelka (Gold Coast)
2 Jayden Holder (Kempsey)
3 Hugh Dilley (Kurri Kurri)

65cc 9 ‰ÛÒ U/13
1 Glenn Nelson (North Brisbane)
2 Zane Kinna (Harley, Vic)
3 Harrison Voight (Gold Coast)

85cc 4-str Modified 7- U/10
1 Jayden Holder (Kempsey)
2 Cameron Dunker (Kurri Kurri)
3 Glenn Nelson (North Brisbane)

85cc 4-str Modified 10- U/14
1 Harrison Voight (Gold Coast)
2 Jet Wynands (Kurri Kurri)
3 Dekotah Wynands (Kurri Kurri)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str 9 ‰ÛÒ U/12
1 Harrison Voight (Gold Coast)
2 Jack Joel (Central Coast)
3 Glenn Nelson (North Brisbane)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str 12 ‰ÛÒ /16
1 Luke Bush (Kurri Kurri)
2 Andrew Jordan (Kempsey)
3 Zane Kinna (Harley, Vic)

100-150 2-str 13 ‰ÛÒ U/16
1 Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)
2 Kye Andrews (Taree)
3 Jayden Rodgers (Kurri Kurri)

200-250 4-str 13 ‰ÛÒ U/16
1 Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)
2 Harry Maxwell (Whitsunday)
Caleb Browne (Gold Coast)

2str & 4str. 13 ‰ÛÒ U/16
1 Harry Maxwell (Whitsunday)
2 Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)
3 Kye Andrews (Taree)

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship


Steve Holcombe Edges Out Andrea Verona For EnduroGP Day Two Victory In Valpacos


Jorge Prado And Liam Everts Rise To The Top At MXGP of Trentino

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024