Tough Weekend for DPH Motorsport ASX round 2


With all signs pointing to a successful night of racing for the 3 DPH racers, the team came away from the the second round of the Australian Supercross Championships with a single podium position for SX2 race Wilson Todd and some sore bodies for both Kade Mosig and Hayden Mellross after both riders crashed in their respective races.
Wilson Todd still made the SX2 podium despite running over Aaron Tanti mid race. Photo: Garry Morrow
Wilson Todd had to go through the LCQ to even make the SX2 main event. Todd slowly worked his way forward in the 15 lap main to end the night with the final spot on the podium,

"I'm really happy to come away with a podium," Todd said. "I was one of the last gate picks since I had to go via the LCQ, and it put me a little further back in the pack, but I just concentrated on my own race, working my way past people. I feel like I deserve to be up here, so hopefully I can get a good start next round and move further up the podium".
Hayden Mellross (45) pulled the holeshot and was in control at the front until he wasn't! A wayward hay bale put an end to his night. Photo: Garry Morrow
For Hayden Mellross it was a win that got away after hitting a stray hay bale whilst in command at the head of the field. Mellross had a comfortable lead over eventual winner Gavin Faith when he was brought down and out of the race.

"I'm disappointed to come away from the track with a DNF" said Mellross. "I was comfortable, controlling the pace and the gap back to Gavin (Faith), but a hay bale had come loose on the track as I rounded the corner and I couldn't avoid it, landing heavily. I'm pretty sore right now, but I've got 2 weeks to heal up and concentrate on winning some races".
Hayden Mellross was on the pace all night. Credit: Garry Morrow
SX1 rider Kade Mosig also fell victim to the track when he crashed in the whoop section whilst challenging for a podium place.

"Feeling good after the heat race. I had an ok start and began working my way forward and by mid race I'd gotten past Daniel Reardon and into a podium position, but a mistake in the whoops put me off the track and on the ground," Mosig said. "Once I got going again, it was tough to find my rhythm again and battled my way back to 9th. It's not the night I had planned, but my speed was there, I just need to nail my starts and stay consistent, and I can achieve my goal".
Kade Mosig was running at the pointy end until he fell victim to the whoops. Credit: Garry Morrow
DPH Motorsport Team Owner, Dale Hocking, noted it was a tough night for the team but believes his riders will bounce back strongly.

"That was a tough night for us. I'm so happy to see Wilson get some reward for the effort he's been putting in. If he gets a good start, he's going to be challenging for the win! All of our guys are riding incredibly well, and it's a credit to the whole team that our bikes are up there challenging for the win. 2 unfortunate crashes tonight is a tough one for us to accept, especially given the circumstances, but there's still a way to go in this championship, and I know we'll bounce back strong in Adelaide," said Hocking.

Main Photo: Wilson Todd
Credit: Garry Morrow
Kade Mosig about to launch into a very dark night. Credit: Garry Morrow
2017 AUS Supercross Rd2 Bacchus Marsh results:
1. Justin Brayton
2. Dean Ferris
3. Todd Waters
4. Dylan Long
5. Daniel Reardon
6. Nick Schmidt
7. Luke Clout
8. Nathan Crawford
9. Kade Mosig
10. Cheyne Boyd

2017 AUS Supercross championship standings:
1. Justin Brayton 50 Points
2. Dean Ferris 44 Points
3. Todd Waters 36 Points
4. Daniel Reardon 36 Points
5. Dylan Long 32 Points
6. Luke Clout 32 Points
7. Nathan Crawford 28 Points
8. Cheyne Boyd 24 Points
9. Kade Mosig 23 Points
10. Nick Schmidt 22 Points

Race Results SX2 Australian Supercross Championship - RD2 Bacchus Marsh 2017:
1. Gavin Faith, Honda, 16:55.283 min (15 laps)
2. Jackson Richardson, Yamaha, +4.412 sec
3. Wilson Todd, Yamaha, +10.866 sec
4. Dylan Wills, Husqvarna, +21.786 sec
5. Jay Wilson, Raceline Pirelli KTM, + 24.761 sec
6. Connor Tierney, Yamaha, +26.681 sec
7. Egan Mastin, KTM Factory Racing Team, +33.896 sec
8. Cooper Pozniak, Yamaha, +36.884 sec
9. Jesse Madden, Husqvarna, +39.072 sec
10. Taylor Potter, Honda, +43.325 sec

Standings SX2 2017 after 2 of 6 Rounds: 1. Gavin Faith, 47 points
2. Jackson Richardson, 37 points
3. Wilson Todd, 36 points
4. Jay Wilson, 34 points
5. Dylan Wills, 32 points
6. Hayden Mellross, 25 points
7. Cooper Pozniak, 22 points
8. Connor Tierney, 21 points
9. Callum Norton, 21 points
10. Mitchell Evans, 20, points

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023