AMA Supercross

Tomac Tears Through Pack en Route to Second Monster Energy Supercross Win


GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac captured his second Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race of the season tonight at Ford Field in front of 46,141 fans.

BTO Sports/KTM"s Andrew Short started the 450SX Class Main Event by winning the Holeshot Award. Monster Energy Kawasaki's Davi Millsaps and Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey fought for the number-two position. On the opening Lap Dungey would move into the lead before being challenged by Tomac.

On Lap 1, Tomac moved into second place and set his sights on Dungey. Team Honda HRC's Cole Seely made his way around Millsaps on Lap 3 to take over third place.

Tomac took over the lead on Lap 4 and by Lap 12 established a 6.6 second lead. Tomac won by a margin of 11.89 seconds over Dungey, who finished second, and Seely, who finished third. Dungey now has 11 podium finishes on the season and Seely has three.

"I have had so many up-and-down races this year, but I was able to put it together tonight," said Tomac.

Team Honda HRC's Trey Canard, who is second in season standings, suffered a crash in qualifying and did not race in the Main Event. Dungey has a 67-point lead over Canard.

"I got a good start tonight," said Dungey. "He [Tomac] made a pass to get by me, and it was a solid pass. He is a good, clean racer."

Australian Chad Reed finished the main event in fourth position.
Justin Bogle earned his first Eastern Regional 250SX Class win of the season - Credit: Simon Cudby
GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle raced to his first Eastern Regional 250SX Class win of the season, leading all 15 laps of the Main Event.

Bogle jumped out to the early lead with the Holeshot Award and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Joey Savatgy pulled up on his rear wheel. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha's Anthony Rodriguez settled into the number-three position.

Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing's Martin Davalos and GEICO Honda's RJ Hampshire collided on Lap 2, sending Davalos off the track. Hampshire remounted near last place and Davalos withdrew from the race.

On Lap 3, Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin, who came into tonight's race with four wins, rebounded from a bad start to take over the number three spot from Rodriguez. Musquin made a move around Savatgy for second place on Lap 7, but Savatgy answered back. Eventually Musquin took over the position and began to pull away.

"The bike is a rocket ship, and it got me off to a great start," said Bogle. "We have to take every weekend with the same approach. It's going to be tough with two races left on the Eastern Regional 250SX Class schedule, but I am going to keep my head down."

Musquin finished second for the second time the season and Savatgy finished third for the second time this season.

"Once again, the start was key, and I didn't get the start I needed," said Musquin. "Second place isn't bad and I have the points lead still."

Both Musquin and Bogle have been on the podium at every race this season. With the win, Bogle cut into Musquin's points lead and now trails by 13 points.

Australian privateer Taylor Potter made his second straight main event in a row and was able to better last weekends result with 17th place finish.

"Tonight at Detroit was awsome!" Potter commented after the race. "I Was running 12th most of the main but gased out bad around lap 10 after not being on the bike during the week for nearly a month due to shoulder injury.

"Looking forward to st Louise I'll be 100% and will finally be able to get some laps in this week."

Racing continues next Saturday night at St. Louis' Edward Jones Dome.
GEICO Honda celebrating Tomac's 450SX Class Main Event win Credit: Simon Cudby
450SX Class Results: Detroit
1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
3. Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
4. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
6. Josh Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
8. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
10. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM

450SX Class Season Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 271 Pts
2. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204 Pts
3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 194 Pts
4. Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 180 Pts
5. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 170 Pts
6. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 156 Pts
7. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 154 Pts
8. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 145 Pts
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 136 Pts
10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 134 Pts
250SX Class Main Event Podium - Credit: Simon Cudby
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results: Detroit
1. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda
2. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
3. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki
4. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha
5. Anthony Rodriquez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha
6. Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Honda
7. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda
8. Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, Yamaha
9. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda
10. Jace Owen, Mattoon, Ill., Honda

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
1. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM, 144 Pts
2. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 131 Pts
3. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 103 Pts
4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 93 Pts
5. RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda, 84 Pts
6. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 69 Pts
7. Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 68 Pts
8. Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 65 Pts
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 63 Pts
10. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 58 Pts

Top Image: Tomac capturing the 450SX Class Main Event

Credit: Simon Cudby

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship


Steve Holcombe Edges Out Andrea Verona For EnduroGP Day Two Victory In Valpacos


Jorge Prado And Liam Everts Rise To The Top At MXGP of Trentino

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024