AMA Supercross

Ryan Dungey Wins 8th SX Main Of 2015 In His 100th Start


In his 100th career start, Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey won his eighth Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race of the season in front of 35,241 fans at Sam Boyd Stadium for the 2015 season finale.

Dungey led BTO Sports KTM's Justin Brayton and GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac across the Holeshot line to kick off the 450SX Class Main Event. On the opening lap,'s Weston Peick moved into third place.

Out front, Dungey and Tomac traded positions on Lap 1, but on Lap 4 Tomac crashed while in pursuit, still able to remount in second place. Peick and Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports' Chad Reed engaged in a heated battle for third place on Lap 8, but Peick would hold his position and ride to his second podium finish of a year with a third place. Tomac finished second, his 11th podium of the season.

"We [Dungey and Tomac] really pushed the pace out there tonight and went back forth during the early part of the race" said Dungey. "This was a great year; I set a [personal] record for most wins in a season with eight and couldn't be happier."
Musquin (#1) posted a dominant wire-to-wire win in the East/West Shootout. - Credit: Simon Cudby
Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin led wire-to-wire en route to his first-ever Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout Championship, marking the sixth time this season that KTM has swept both Main Events.

Musquin, who won the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship last week, started the East/West Shootout with the Holeshot Award. GEICO Honda riders RJ Hampshire and Malcolm Stewart followed in second and third, respectively.

Stewart passed Hampshire on the opening lap for second place. Hampshire held down the number three position until Lap 11, when his teammate Matt Bisceglia passed him and secured the final position on the podium. Stewart earned his best Las Vegas finish in second, besting his fifth-place finishes in 2011 and 2014. Musquin went on to dominate for his first victory in Sam Boyd Stadium in his final 250SX Class race.

"It's like a dream come true tonight," said Musquin. "I have never won in Las Vegas before and I used to watch this race back in the day when I was a kid, but tonight it's my turn. To win my very last supercross race on a 250cc [motorcycle] is awesome."

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha's Cooper Webb, who won the Western Regional 250SX Class Championship, missed the Main Event after sustaining an injury during practice.

Coming into tonight's race the Eastern and Western Regions were tied in Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout victories, and Musquin's win gave the Eastern Region the edge with the region's 10th win. Musquin closes out his 2015 campaign with seven victories.

HRT Racing's Vicki Golden made history this afternoon by becoming the first female in more than four decades of Monster Energy Supercross to qualify for the "Fast 40" - the riders that transition to the night program from timed qualifying - for the 2015 finale at Sam Boyd Stadium and the 250SX Class' Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout.

The first race of the 2016 season will take place on January 9 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California.
KTM celebrates two championships for 2015. - Credit: Simon Cudby
450SX Class Results: Las Vegas
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
Josh Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha
Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki

450SX Class Season Final Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 390 Pts
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 305 Pts
Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 277 Pts
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 226 Pts
Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 223 Pts
Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204 Pts
Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 200 Pts
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 194 Pts
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 180 Pts
Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 160 Pts
Musquin (center) won in his final 250SX Class start. - Credit: Simon Cudby
Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout
Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Honda
Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha
Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha
Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna
RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda
Cole Martinez, Rimrock, Ariz., Yamaha
Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM
Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Final Standings
Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM, 194 Pts
Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 171 Pts
Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 143 Pts
Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 133 Pts
RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda, 100 Pts
Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 98 Pts
Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 91 Pts
Jimmy Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 87 Pts
Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Kawasaki, 72 Pts
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 63 Pts

Western Regional 250SX Class Season Final Standings
Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 186 Pts
Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 124 Pts
Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna, 117 Pts
Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 116 Pts
Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 113 Pts
Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 111 Pts
Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 107 Pts
Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 106 Pts
Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 105 Pts
Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 91 Pts

Top Image: Dungey led all 20 laps of the 450SX Class Main Event.

Credit: Simon Cudby

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Eight round 2024 ProMX Championship Calendar Released


A Broken Leg Sees Matthias Walkner Sidelined From The 2024 Dakar Rally


Noah Ferguson signs with Honda for 2024


Expanded Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Ready For 2024


Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Focused On Supercross Titles in 2024

Dirt Track

Bathurst Long Track Masters Going Bigger And Better In 2024


Standing Construct Honda MXGP Signs Alberto Forato

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023