QLD SX raises the bar

2014 Queensland Supercross Championships

Author: Kendall Jennings


In its second year running, the 2014 Queensland Supercross Championships started in a blast, with fireworks on the track and off the track with the event ending with a fireworks display last Saturday evening 22nd November, 2014.

Held at Robbie Marshall‰Ûªs training facility at Dundas, the large crowd fought through the heat witnessing some amazing bar to bar racing. Excitement filled the facility as the event was supported by a rock climbing wall, children rides, FMX Demo with the event commentary being broadcast live over the internet.

A stand out in the MiniLites was the #48 of Blake Cobbin, who dominated the first race. Casing the triple jump while in a strong lead of the second race, would end his day of racing, with the youngster requiring the assistance of medical staff being knocked out in the incident. The unfortunate incident left the gate wide open for race one runner up #27 Mason Rowe,who won the second race and the final, with a best lap tim of 59.08. #26 Luke Walmsley would finish 6 seconds later in second place, with #981 Samuel Noonan third, #49 Rhys Summerville and 329 Rylee Goetsch.

The #46 of Hunter Lawrence made his first appearance on his new ride for the 2015 season a Yamaha supported ride in the Junior Lites.

Lawrence looked extremely comfortable on the 015 YZ250F winning all three motos. However Lawrence didn‰Ûªt have it all his own way as #9 Kaleb Barham made Hunter work hard for every victory. Barham tussled with Lawrence in each moto, in the second moto, Barham in the lead, had a pass made on him by Lawrence where he came off seconded best, dropping the machine seeing a second place finish into a fourth.

However Barham would regroup and comet strong in the final for a second place finish. With supercross being tighter and more technical than motocross, these two riders is making the future of supercross something to look forward to. The only junior competitor to complete in both classes was #27 Mason Rowe, had 2 podium finishes for the night, with a third in the Junior Lites. #910 Fraser Higlett and #72 Cooper Hay complete the top 5.

#76 Keryn Doolan dominated the Clubman Lites class with a clean sweep, 3 starts, 3 wins. K93 Kyal Pennell and #97 Dylan Richmond completed the podium. #512 Alex Staatz and #596 Jonni Row completed the top 5.

#208 Travis McCarthy had an extremely successful night in the Clubman Open class, dominating the class winning all his races. #40K Kye Orchard and #812 Ryan Apps competed the podium. #834 Jeremy Booker and #345 Macca Hathaway completed the top 5.

An ‰Û÷old school‰Ûª dash for cash was held with the top 20 fastest lap times from the pro/intermediate lites and open classes. The crowd witnessed 1 lap duels between 2 competitors where the winner advances and the other competitor is cut. The unique format allowed 250 four strokes, 250 two strokes and 450 four strokes go head to head.

The opening heats where dominated by #99 John Prutti on a lites classed machine KTM 250 2 stroke. Prutti challenged 2 stoke and 4 stroke 250cc machines as well as 450 four strokes. His run ended when he fronted up against #00 Nathan Crawford on a 450. Another multi dash victor was #10 Dylan Wilson, who won a dash against his older brother Jay. Then #65 Daniel McCoy started his run for the cash, narrowly beating #1 Matt Moss.

The final 1 lap dash was between KTMs #5 Kirk Gibbs and Privateer Daniel McCoy. McCoy demonstrated the strength of his riding skill around the supercross circuit for the victory, winning the cash.

In the Pro/Intermediate Lites a battle of blue, as factory supported Yamaha appear on an SX start gate for 2014. #41 Wilson Todd was the standout rider early on, producing some racing that had the crowd standing and cheering ecstatically on the fence in the short races, as he tussled with #4 Luke Clout an #6 Jay Wilson in race 1 and 2. In the main event, Todd dough deep during the longer format race, where top fitness to survive the summer heat and the longer race was needed, producing a incontestable lead for the victory.

#6 Jay Wilson rode solid for second place. #J05 Jesse Madden finalised the podium. #14 Brock McLeary and #4 Luke Clout completed the top 5.

Fresh off his SX National Championship, #1Matt Moss appeared on the start line of the Pro/Intermediate Open start line, joined by his team mate #70 Lawson Bopping, and KTMs #5 Kirk Gibbs. Moss produced consistent lap times with a top lap of 48.361 for the race 1 victory, .00495 seconds in front of team mate Lawson Bopping.

The shorter races would prove handy for Lawson Bopping as he notched up a Supercross win against his team mate Matt Moss in the second moto, with a 3.515 lead. He did have a larger lead, he chose to slow down a tad and take it safe over the final triple acknowledging the crowd before his victory. The danger in doing such a move with Matt Moss in the race, is that Moss will keep charging to the cheque flag, which make Moss such an tenacious competitor.

Moss‰Ûª fitness helped him in the main event as the night cooled the extreme heat of the day. Suited to the longer races Matt Moss won the race, with his team mate Lawson Bopping 5.202 seconds behind him. Kirk Gibbs filled the podium. #65 Daniel McCoy and #42 Damien Harrison completed the top 5.

The next round of the QLD will be held next weekend 6th December at Jimbolla, for more information visit the series website

Top 6 Open Lap Times

47.731 #70 Lawson Bopping Open Race 2
47.690 #5 Kirk Gibbs Open Race 1
48.255 #1 Matt Moss Open Race 2
49.332 #65 Daniel McCoy Open Race 1
50.361 #51 Robbie Marshall Open Race 1
51.037 #44 Sam Duncanson Open Race 1

Top 6 Lites Lap Times

49.036 #41 Wilson Todd Lites Race 2
49.154 #6 Jay Wilson Lites Race 2
49.190 #4 Luke Clout Lites Race 1
49.375 #14 Brock McLeary Lites Race 1
50.045 #10 Dylan Wilson Lites Race 1
50.100 #J05 Jesse Madden Lites Race 3

Top 3 Junior Lites Lap Times

50.368 #46 Hunter Lawrence Junior Lites Race 1
50.839 #9 Kaleb Barham Junior Lites Race 1
53.904 #72 Copper Hay Junior Lites Race 1

Image: Matt Moss still in form as he supports the QLD SX.
Image credit: KAJX Communications

Share Article:

Action Sports Decals

More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023