Practice Done And Dusted in Tasmania


Tasmania was basked in sunshine on Friday as competitors took to Symmons Plains for the day of Practice at the fourth round of the 2015 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli.

Despite the chilly breeze, spectators including groups of school children, media including WIN News and Southern Cross News, and a large contingent of riders all soaked in the opening day of the event.

Each class competing at the event this were each given three practice sessions, with the Superbike and Supersport sessions lasting 25 minutes and the Pother classes all taking part in 15-minute hit-outs.

Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance Superbikes

In the opening session it was series leader Mike Jones (Australian Outdoor Living ‰ÛÒ Cube Racing Team) who rode his Kawasaki to the fastest time of 56.008.

That time was .291 of a second faster than teammate Ben Henry, with Yamaha rider Daniel Falzon (JD Racing) clocking the third fastest time with a 56.333.

In session two it was again Jones setting the pace with a 54.778 ahead of Falzon who put in a solid 55.325 fastest lap.

Henry claimed the third fastest time, Ryan Hampton (Next Gen Motorsports) took his BMW to the fourth fastest time as he did in the opening session, while local hero Brett Simmonds piloted his Yamaha to the fifth fastest time.

In the third session it was again Jones on top ‰ÛÒ his 54.579 only slightly quicker than Falzon‰Ûªs 54.880. Hampton, Henry, and Simmonds rounded out the top five.

To hear from Mike Jones after Practice CLICK Plau.

Yamaha Supersport

The opening session for Supersport saw Brayden Elliott (Hankook Tyres Australia) power his Suzuki to a fastest lap time of 57.807 on lap 20 of 22.

Kane Burns (GJ Gardner Homes) was hot on his heels with a fastest lap time of 58.126, while Chris Quinn (Coopers Pale Ale), Sam Lambert (Sam Lambert Racing) and Aiden Coote (Yamaha YRD) rounded out the top five.

In the second session it was again Elliott from Burns ‰ÛÒ both riders shaving more than half a second off their opening session times, while Lambert, Quinn and Thyron Van Vuuren (GB Racing) rounded out the top five.

Elliott posted his best time for the day in the final session ‰ÛÒ clocking in at 57.219, while Burns also looked comfortable with a 57.653.

Quinn, Lambert and Coote rounded out the top-five.

Honda Moto 3 / 125GP

Ted Collins (Magnum Welders) took honours in the opening practice session when we managed a 1:05.012 on the last of his 12-laps in the session.

Seasoned campaigner Brian Houghton (K1 Racing) was nearly a second behind Collins, and slightly faster that Victorian Matty Barton (ETS Racefuels).

Collins was again at the top of the timesheets in session two, with a 1:04.276 placing him ahead of Tom Bramich‰Ûªs (Ron Angel Classic Racing) 1:04.418 and Houghton with a 1:04.585.

Houghton upped the ante in the final session posting a scorching 1:03.941 with Collins, Jack Mahaffy (JR Racing) Bramich and Barton rounding out the top-five.


New South Welshman Justin Hall (The Boltbarn) took honours in the opening session for the class ‰ÛÒ his 1:13.424 a full 1.238 seconds faster than Drew Sells (Race Centre) and andother half second ahead of Riki Lanyon (Australian Outdoor Living ‰ÛÒ Cube Racing Team).

Hall was again at the front in session two, while series points leader Michelle Marais (SP Racing) clocked her fastest time for the day with a 1:13.060 and Lanyon also looking the goods.

The third and final session saw four riders break the 1:13.00 barrier, with Hall producing a sizzling 1:11.800, Lanyon clocking 1:12.091, Marais recording 1:12.575 and Sells registering 1:12.798.

Club Challenge Period 5/6

Scott Campbell (Wally‰Ûªs Wonderful World) had the fastest time for the day with a 1:01.596 aboard his Honda VFR 750, while Dave McCullagh (DEMRL Transport) finished second fastest overall with a 1:02.503.

Peter Cameron (Blyer Lawyers) steered his Suzuki into third after clocking a 1:05.927 in session two.

Club Challenge Formula 3

Andrew Blackberry (Engineering Solutions Tasmania) had the fastest lap in the class across the three sessions with a 1:08.326 in the final session, with Cody Travers (1:08.780) and Craig Johnston (1:12.538) rounding out the top-three.

For a full list of results from each session, head to

Image Credit: TBGSPORT

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment