Flat Track

Mick Kirkness Wins Inaugural Aussie Flat Track Nationals


Photo of Mick Kirkness at the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track National
Mick Kirkness (387) out front on his way to claiming the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track Nationals Pro Class win. Photo: RbMotoLens

Mick Kirkness has raced his way to the inaugural Aussie Flat Track Nationals overall win, with a masterful display of patience and experience.

Kirkness proved too strong for a hard-charging field of riders in the form of Flat Track SuperPole winner Tom Drane, Jarred Brook, and TT SuperPole winner, Daniel Wicks.

It was an impressive start to the weekend from Tom Drane with round one on Appin’s flat track circuit, showing fans and competitors alike the sheer speed that has given him success overseas recently.

Topping the timesheets every session and taking Superpole in spectacular fashion as the last rider to hit the circuit, Drane (1-6-1-4-1) went on to take three from five race wins through the schedule but it wasn’t enough as Kirkness went 2-1-2-2-2 for the round win with Jarred Brook (3-3-4-1-3) in third on a changing and challenging surface.

Photo of Tom Drane at the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track National
Tom Drane (59) leads Jarred Brook (J21) and Cyshan Weale (25). Photo: RbMotoLens

Sunday was a fresh start for AFTN competitors as round two moved to Appin’s TT circuit where Daniel Wicks quickly established himself as a contender, heading out first in SuperPole, and keeping the number one position as each of the next five fastest riders tried, and failed, to beat his lap time.

It wasn’t to be Wicks’ (2-1-3-3-2) day though as the consistency from Kirkness (1-2-1-1-1) continued to shine through to relegate the KTM rider second overall ahead of Jarred Brook (3-5-4-4-3) once again in third, followed by Cyshan Weale (4-3-5-5-6) and Marty McNamara (7-8-7-8-4). A visually sore Tom Drane (8-6-2-2-DNF) after an on-track incident early in the day, managed to salvage two seconds, before a DNF in the final race of the day sealed 6th overall for round two.

Photo of Jarred Brook at the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track National
Jarred Brook. Photo: RbMotoLens

“I knew the regular front runners would be a handful on the short track Saturday while there was plenty of grip, but also hoped that my experience in staying smooth and calm on a grooved track would come in to play,” Kirkness explained. “With the hot, windy day we had it took rubber a little quicker then expected and it all started to come together. Everyone had a bad race at some point over the weekend with a crash or a bad start or whatever the issue may have been, except me, I knew keeping my nose clean and being consistent was going to play a big part. 2nd was our worst finish all weekend. Sometimes things just go in your favour and this weekend for sure went the way of the Kirkness family, even my young fella won the raffle today!”

With a healthy turnout of riders and plenty of action, the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track Nationals was considered a success. Photo: RbMotoLens

AFTN promoter, Dave Maddock, said “Congratulations to not only Mick on his win this weekend, but also Jhett Calderwood, Sam Drane, as well as Dane & Jason Griffin for winning their classes this weekend too. I’d also like to thank Greg and the Macarthur Motorcycle Club for being so incredibly supportive to allow this event to get off the ground, the flag marshalls and officials for giving up their time for the event and of course a huge thank you for all the competitors for entering and racing. The racing was action-packed and although for sure there were some mistakes, teething issues, and lessons learnt, I’m really proud of the product we produced on such a short timeline and I can’t wait to share all the elements with everyone of the coming weeks as we continue to celebrate the very first AFTN.”

Photo of Mick Kirkness at the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track National
Mick Kirkness celebrates his win in the 450 Pro class at the Inaugural Aussie Flat Track Nationals. Photo: RbMotoLens

Pro 450 Top 5 Overall
1 Michael KIRKNESS
2 Daniel WICKS
3 Jarred BROOK
5 Cyshan WEALE

Round 1 – Pro 450 Saturday – Flat Track Layout
Race Winners
Race 1 Tom Drane
Race 2 Mick Kirkness
Race 3 Tom Drane
Race 4 Jarred Brook
Race 5 Tom Drane

Round 2 – Pro 450 Sunday – TT Layout
Race Winners
Race 1 Mick Kirkness
Race 2 Daniel Wicks
Race 3 Mick Kirkness
Race 4 Mick Kirkness
Race 5 Mick Kirkness

Junior Lites
2 Lachlan RUSSELL
3 Kristian O’DONNELL

Junior 85
2 Riley NAUTA
3 Jake PAIGE

2 Bradley PAGE
3 Christopher JARVIS

Clubman 250
2 Zachary HOFER

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023