Kiara Fontanesi crowned 2017 WMX Champion


The finale of the Women‰Ûªs Motocross World Championship was the first race to finish this weekend and MXFONTARACING Syneco‰Ûªs Kiara Fontanesi from Italy was crowned champion for the 5th time in unpredictable fashion.

Weather has played a strong role in the championship this season and this weekend was no exception as riders had to race in the wet conditions. The championship was as tight as ever coming into the weekend with only 5 points between the top 4, including Team One One Four‰Ûªs Livia Lancelot in her final professional race, but in the end the best all around rider proved to be Kiara Fontanesi as she took not only the championship but the overall as well.
Italian Kiara Fontanesi with her 5th world crown
As WMX Race 1 started on a near perfect circuit many eyes were on the 4 Championship Contenders of Nancy Van de Ven, Kiara Fontanesi, Livia Lancelot, and Altherm JCR Yamaha‰Ûªs Courtney Duncan.

In the early stages of the first race Fontanesi led Van de ven Duncan and Lancelot. Duncan made a quick move on the second lap to take over 2nd but would fall on the following lap. As the rain poured the Women kept battling in epic fashion.

Lancelot now in third, was charging to the catch Van de Ven for second but unfortunately fell as she tried to pass down the inside of the start straight. Lancelot fall came just after Fontanesi fell out the lead and back to 4th. All the while Courtney Duncan made her way to the front, passing three riders in one lap.
It was heavy going and tough work for the WMX class in France with the conditions playing a huge part in the results
Duncan led the following 6 laps before a large crash on the uphill section involving downed back markers caught her off guard and she fell as well. Fontanesi took over the lead as she made her way through the pile up and Duncan rejoined in 6th position, after taking another run at the hill, which is where she would finish.

After a Race Direction meeting had the chance to consider the TV Footage, the original results from WMX Race 1 prevailed which was a win for MXFONTARACING Syneco‰Ûªs Kiara Fontanesi, a second for Nancy Van de ven who maintained the points lead, and a third for Team One One Four‰Ûªs Livia Lancelot.

Fontanesi took the race win after a difficult morning of feeling ill and went into Sunday with added confidence.

Race 2 was the first of on the track after overnight rain and it would again be amazing. Courtney Duncan came back on a mission and jumped out to the early lead with Lancelot and Van de Ven in tow.

For seven of the ten laps the top three remained the same which would have resulted in the championship for Van de Ven. However it wasn‰Ûªt meant to be as Van de Ven got stuck and later fell on the uphill step, Van de Ven was passed by Larissa Papenmeier losing the points she desperately needed.
The final WMX Podium of 2017
Courtney Duncan took the win ahead of Livia Lancelot and Fontanesi after lapping every rider but second place. In the championship Fontanesi beat out Lancelot by a single point for the title and Duncan took third.

Throughout the season Kiara has had a series of ups and down starting in Indonesia where she struggled in race one but came back to finish second in race 2. If Kiara had a difficult race it was always paired with an impressive one, through determination and resilience she has shown the heart of a champion and again ends the year on top of the standings.

Australian's Madison Brown, Emma Milesevic and Courntey Whyte-Dennis where also back in action this weekend with Brown taking the best results with a 8-23 for 16th overall. Emma Milesevic finished 19th with a 21-26 result while Courntey Whyte-Dennis was classed as 30th overall after a tough weekend.

WMX Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), 26:14.030
2. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), +0:26.646
3. Livia Lancelot (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:49.100
4. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), +1:16.439
5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Suzuki), +1:23.239
6. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Yamaha), +2:07.722
7. Jessie Joineau (FRA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
8. Madison Brown (AUS, Yamaha), -1 lap(s)
9. Justine Charroux (FRA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s)
10. Virginie Germond (SUI, Yamaha), -1 lap(s).

WMX Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Yamaha), 27:36.604
2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:46.824
3. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s)
4. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Suzuki), -1 lap(s)
5. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), -3 lap(s)
6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), -3 lap(s)
7. Mathilde Martinez (FRA, Husqvarna), -3 lap(s)
8. Virginie Germond (SUI, Yamaha), -3 lap(s)
9. Francesca Nocera (ITA, Suzuki), -4 lap(s)
10. Anne Borchers (GER, Suzuki), -5 lap(s).

WMX Overall Top Ten:
1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 45 points
2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 42 p.
3. Courtney Duncan (NZL, YAM), 40 p.
4. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 38 p.
5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, SUZ), 34 p.
6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 33 p.
7. Virginie Germond (SUI, YAM), 24 p.
8. Mathilde Martinez (FRA, HUS), 23 p.
9. Justine Charroux (FRA, YAM), 21 p.
10. Anne Borchers (GER, SUZ), 16 p.
WMX Championship Top Ten:
1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 233 points
2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 232 p.
3. Courtney Duncan (NZL, YAM), 231 p.
4. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 231 p.
5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, SUZ), 194 p.
6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 184 p.
7. Nicky van Wordragen (NED, YAM), 119 p.
8. Francesca Nocera (ITA, SUZ), 95 p.
9. Virginie Germond (SUI, YAM), 94 p.
10. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), 89 p.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship


Steve Holcombe Edges Out Andrea Verona For EnduroGP Day Two Victory In Valpacos


Jorge Prado And Liam Everts Rise To The Top At MXGP of Trentino

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024