Jules Cluzel Dominates For MV Agusta At Misano

Author: Aaryn Minerds


MV Agusta triumphed once again in the seventh round of the World Supersport Championship when MV Agusta Reparto Corse team rider Jules Cluzel took his third pole and second win of the season.

The French rider dominated the race from the first lap, riding his F3 to victory. After an excellent start Cluzel pushed hard to maintain a consistent lead and then held onto it all the way to the chequered flag.

With his first place finish today Cluzel reduced the gap in the standings to just 28 points behind Pata Honda championship leader Michael van der Mark.

‰ÛÏI am very pleased - more than pleased!" Cluzel exclaimed. "We knew that the race would be very difficult, even from a physical point of view.

"I did exactly what I had wanted to do: I started from out front and tried to feel out my rivals' pace straight away. I pushed hard from the first lap and was able to create a gap.

"Then I felt my tyres starting to lose grip. Van der Mark and I began to battle turn after turn with about a one second gap. The race was quite demanding both because of the heat and because of the focus needed to make it a flag to flag lead. But I didn't make any mistakes.

"I want to thank the entire team for their excellent work this weekend.‰Û
21-year-old Dutch rider Van der Mark was happy to walk away with second position after nearly being taken out of the race early by a fellow competitor.

"We‰Ûªve had a really good weekend. We didn‰Ûªt come last year with World Supersport but right from the start the bike was working really well." Van der Mark said. "We improved every session and today I had a good pace.

"The start was OK and I was running third but after two laps, another rider ran wide and, in my opinion, he should have rejoined the track from the safety road. We almost touched and then Jacobsen passed me.

"When I got back to second position I tried to chase Jules but he was really fast and made a perfect race. It would have been nice to stay with him from the beginning and have a nice fight - I tried everything to get to him but it wasn‰Ûªt possible.

"I think overall we have worked really hard for the weekend and now I‰Ûªm looking forward to Portimao which I think will suit me and the bike.

American Patrick Jacobson rouned out the podium for the Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres team.

Event results - Round 7
1 Jules Cluzel 31m40.587s FRA MV AGUSTA MV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport
2 Michael van der Mark 1.537 NED HONDA Pata Honda
3 Patrick Jacobsen 3.400 USA KAWASAKI Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
4 Kenan Sofuoglu 5.638 TUR KAWASAKI MAHI Racing Team India
5 Roberto Tamburini 9.923 ITA KAWASAKI San Carlo Puccetti Racing
6 Lorenzo Zanetti 11.018 ITA HONDA Pata Honda
7 Florian Marino 14.714 FRA KAWASAKI Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
8 Kev Coghlan 17.365 GBR YAMAHA DMC Panavto-Yamaha
9 Ratthapark Wilairot 21.337 THA HONDA Core PTR Honda
10 Roberto Rolfo 22.215 ITA KAWASAKI Team GO ELEVEN
11 Alessandro Nocco 22.407 ITA KAWASAKI San Carlo Puccetti Racing
12 Jack Kennedy 22.641 IRL HONDA CIA Insurance Honda
13 Kevin Wahr 28.443 GER YAMAHA Team Wahr by Kraus Racing
14 Massimo Roccoli 30.202 ITA MV AGUSTA MV Agusta Reparto Corse
15 Christian Gamarino 33.760 ITA KAWASAKI Team GO ELEVEN
16 Valentin Debise 40.917 FRA HONDA Com Plus South Tyneside College
17 Fabio Menghi 40.926 ITA YAMAHA VFT Racing
18 Tony Covena 41.457 NED KAWASAKI Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
19 Alex Baldolini 45.086 ITA MV AGUSTA ATK Racing
20 Raffaele De Rosa 50.237 ITA HONDA Core PTR Honda
21 Luca Marconi 53.122 ITA HONDA Team Lorini
22 Ferruccio Lamborghini 53.129 ITA HONDA Team Lorini
23 Nacho Calero 1'22.010 ESP HONDA CIA Insurance Honda
24 Marco Bussolotti DNF ITA HONDA Team Lorini
25 Alexey Ivanov DNF RUS YAMAHA DMC Panavto-Yamaha

Championship Standings
1 Michael van der Mark 135 pts
2 Jules Cluzel 107 pts
3 Florian Marino 85 pts
4 Lorenzo Zanetti 70 pts
5 Kev Coghlan 68 pts
6 Kenan Sofuoglu 67 pts
7 Patrick Jacobsen 56 pts
8 Roberto Rolfo 55 pts
9 Raffaele De Rosa 54 pts
10 Roberto Tamburini 48 pts
11 Ratthapark Wilairot 30 pts
12 Marco Bussolotti 27 pts
13 Kevin Wahr 26 pts
14 Riccardo Russo 25 pts
15 Jack Kennedy 23 pts
16 Christian Gamarino 22 pts
17 Fabio Menghi 19 pts
18 Alessandro Nocco 16 pts
19 Vladimir Leonov 15 pts
20 Graeme Gowland 9 pts

Top Image: Jules Cluzel Dominates For MV Agusta At Misano

Credit: MV Agusta

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Eight round 2024 ProMX Championship Calendar Released


A Broken Leg Sees Matthias Walkner Sidelined From The 2024 Dakar Rally


Noah Ferguson signs with Honda for 2024


Expanded Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Ready For 2024


Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Focused On Supercross Titles in 2024

Dirt Track

Bathurst Long Track Masters Going Bigger And Better In 2024


Standing Construct Honda MXGP Signs Alberto Forato

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023