Jonas Folger takes a wet Brno Moto2 victory


Dynavolt Intact GP rider Jonas Folger has taken an incredible Moto2 win in torrential conditions at the Automotodrom Brno, taking his first win in more than a year.

Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) and Sam Lowes (Gresini Racing Moto2) completed the podium in sencond and third respectively, both taking a chunk out of championship leader Johann Zarco‰Ûªs (Ajo Motorsport) lead as the title defender crossed the line in only eleventh place.

Folger took the lead by sweeping round the outside into Turn 1, and the German was simply unstoppable for the rest of the race. With one small wobble the only drama for the German, he managed the gap to perfection to cross the line for his first win in 2016 ahead of his graduation to MotoGP next season.

Alex Rins had a stunning turnaround in the wet on race day, as the Spaniard took a solid second after having struggled so much more in the dry in Brno. The ride to the podium cut the gap to title leader Zarco by 15 points, keeping the championship in the balance in the second half of the season.

Sam Lowes also benefitted from the wet in Brno, as the Brit impressed with a calm ride to complete the podium. With Zarco having such a difficult day at the office, Lowes was able to capitalize along with Rins to keep his title hopes alive.

There was drama on the final lap as Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) and Mattia Pasini (Italtrans Racing Team) collided, with Cortese unable to collect his top 5 finish after an impressive ride through the field and Pasini crossing the line in fourth.

Alex Marquez (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) had a fantastic ride into fifth, as the Spaniard converted his front row start into a top five finish. Marquez, who slotted through Turn 1 impressively on the inside, fought with the front before choosing a solid finish at the flag, calm under pressure as he rebuilds his confidence with another top result. Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) made good on his nickname of ‰ÛÏthe Fish‰Û
Jonas Folger
Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) crossed the line in eighth after taking less risks that those that saw him crash out of contention in the wet German GP, with the second Leopard Racing machine of Miguel Oliveira crossing the line in ninth.

The man in tenth place was Anthony West (Montaze Broz Racing Team), who took his 3-year old Suter chassis from last place on the grid into the top ten - as a wildcard ‰ÛÒ in one of the most stunning displays of the day.

Moto2 now head to the UK for the next Round, with Silverstone ready to fire up the engines on the 4th September.

Main Photo Credit:

1 Jonas FOLGER GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex - 45'30.342
2 Alex RINS SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex - +5.175
3 Sam LOWES GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex - +9.021
4 Mattia PASINI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex - +14.763
5 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex - +17.959
6 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex - +24.247
7 Danny KENT GBR Leopard Racing Kalex - +25.696
8 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex - +25.916
9 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Leopard Racing Kalex - +27.199
10 Anthony WEST AUS Montaze Broz Racing Team Suter - +36.340
11 Johann ZARCO FRA Ajo Motorsport Kalex - +36.754
12 Xavi VIERGE SPA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 - +37.377
13 Julian SIMON SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up - +37.456
14 Isaac VIÌÔALES SPA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 - +37.579
15 Xavier SIMEON BEL QMMF Racing Team Speed Up - +37.776
16 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA Forward Team Kalex - +49.011
17 Dominique AEGERTER SWI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex - +1'01.767
18 Marcel SCHROTTER GER AGR Team Kalex - +1'08.803
19 Simone CORSI ITA Speed Up Racing Speed Up - +1'09.535
20 Edgar PONS SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex - +1'09.554
21 Remy GARDNER AUS Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 Kalex - +1'16.694
22 Robin MULHAUSER SWI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex - +1'16.851
23 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex - +1'17.235
24 Jesko RAFFIN SWI Sports-Millions-EMWE-SAG Kalex -+1'43.708
25 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex - 1 Lap
DNF Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex - 9 Laps
DNF Luca MARINI ITA Forward Team Kalex - 10 Laps
DNF Axel PONS SPA AGR Team Kalex - 0 Lap

Moto2 World Standing 2016
1 Johann ZARCO Kalex FRA 176 Points
2 Alex RINS Kalex SPA 142 Points
3 Sam LOWES Kalex GBR 121 Points
4 Thomas LUTHI Kalex SWI 106 Points
5 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 92 Points
6 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex ITA 86 Points
7 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 83 Points
8 Dominique AEGERTER Kalex SWI 71 Points
9 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 69 Points
10 Simone CORSI Speed Up ITA 59 Points
11 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Kalex ITA 55 Points
12 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 41 Points
13 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 37 Points
14 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex GER 33 Points
15 Mattia PASINI Kalex ITA 30 Points
16 Xavier SIMEON Speed Up BEL 28 Points
17 Julian SIMON Speed Up SPA 27 Points
18 Miguel OLIVEIRA Kalex POR 26 Points
19 Alex MARQUEZ Kalex SPA 23 Points
20 Luca MARINI Kalex ITA 20 Points
21 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 20 Points
22 Danny KENT Kalex GBR 18 Points
23 Jesko RAFFIN Kalex SWI 10 Points
24 Isaac VIÌÔALES Tech 3 SPA 10 Points
25 Remy GARDNER Kalex AUS 5 Points
26 Robin MULHAUSER Kalex SWI 4 Points
27 Ratthapark WILAIROT Kalex THA 3 Points
28 Xavi VIERGE Tech 3 SPA 3 Points
29 Edgar PONS Kalex SPA 2 Points

Share Article:

Action Sports Decals

More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Tim Gajser And Kay De Wolf Extend Championship Leads At MXGP of the Czech Republic


Beaton, Connolly And The Cannons Master Toowoomba ruts to claim ProMX wins

U.S Motocross

Chase Sexton Makes It Three Straight Wins While Haiden Deegan Gets Back On Top At Washougal
MXGP of The Czech Republic Qualification Victories For Tim Gajser And Lucas Coenen


Romain Febvre Returns to MXGP Racing at the Czech Republic After Thumb Injury

Product Review

RXR Protects You With Air

Product Release

AXIOM Release Australia's First Triumph Wheelset


Jack Miller Enters Toowoomba ProMX Round


Levi Townley Becomes The First Kiwi to win a World Junior Motocross Title


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow Extend Series Leads At TrialGP of Belgium


Josep Garcia Back On Top With Day Two Win At Enduro GP Of Slovakia


Noel Zanocz And Levi Townley Claim 2024 Junior FIM Motocross World Championships

What's On This Week

MXGP - R14
MXGP of Flanders (BEL) - Lommel
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Saturday, July 27th, 2024
FIM Hard Enduro World Championship - R4
Red Bull Romaniacs - Romania
Saturday, July 27th, 2024


RXR Protects You With Air

One Year with a Tech 167 Threaded funnel

Triumph Transitions to Terrafirma with the TF250X

Life with a Sherco 300 two-stroke

Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

What's On This Week

MXGP - R14
MXGP of Flanders (BEL) - Lommel
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Saturday, July 27th, 2024
FIM Hard Enduro World Championship - R4
Red Bull Romaniacs - Romania
Saturday, July 27th, 2024