Glen McDonald takes the cash at 2004 Moomba Championship

Author: Tim Scriven


Glen Mcdonald was back to his winning ways taking the dash for cash and winning the 125/250 Snr A Grade: Photo kajx

In near ideal conditions, Victorias Whittlesea and District Motor Bike Club ran their annual Moomba Championship 2 Day open on the 21st & 22nd of Feb at the challenging Broadford Motocross Complex. With around 250 entrants all classes had a good number of entries, with the riders showing enthusiasm and determination at this early stage of the year.

It should be noted that this enthusiasm caused a few get-offs, especially in practice, as for a number of the riders this was their first meeting for the year. This was especially evident when you looked at the new gear and bikes that were parked in the pits

The spectators were treated to a clinical display of aggressive riding by Victorian number 3 rider Glenn Macdonald, riding for team moto Yamaha. He dominated the A grade Lites class and then won the back-to-back dash for cash from all comers in A grade.

The open class saw a spirited battle between Mathew Pike, Clayton Harrison, and current Vic Titleholder Shane Dinsdale (2003 250cc Champ) These three riders put it on the line in every race that made for compulsive viewing. Ultimately Pike would win out in the end with Harrison and Dinsdale following in that order.

Corey Vanderlei took the cash in the C Grade Dash For Cash: Photo kajx

The junior racing was equally as exciting with the 85cc A Grade under 12 class between Yamaha Junior Development rider Troy McNally, Trent Yeo, and Scott Campbell finishing in that order in one of the stand-out events throughout the weekend.

An interesting machine that caught the eye of during the weekend was the BBR150 of Taylor Potter, this machine has to be one of the trickest bikes in the country at the moment, along with being one of the most controversial, due to the rule changes for this year the bike has to be run in the 250cc Junior four-stroke class. Around the horsepower sapping Broadford track, it was an eye-opener to see this little machine end up in fourth place for the weekend, no doubt the ability of Taylor has a lot to do with this as well, I for one would not knock back the opportunity to have a ride on this bike.

It was good to see the number of girls riding at the event, with at least four taking to the track, it was especially pleasing to see that the art of being a gentleman has not left our sport, as one of the guys stopped, dropped his bike and helped one of the girls to pick up her bike after she had a get off, with the bike lying on top of her. In a conversation with Elizabeth Lee after the event, (Eleventh Placed in the Staintune Nationals Women class 2003) the issue of a separate woman's class was discussed, she feels quite at home racing with the guys at this level, while still enjoying the opportunity of a women's class where it is available.


Dash For Cash

A Grade Glenn Macdonald

B Grade Peter Boyal

C Grade Corey Vanderlei

125/250 Snr A Grade

Glenn Macdonald

Alex Woods

Andrew Shacklock

125/250 Snr B Grade

Peter Boyal

Dean Harraway

Ben Gardiner

125/250 Snr C Grade

Jamie Rush

Boyd Regan

Jason Wood

250cc Snr A Grade

Mathew Pike

Clayton Harrison

Shane Dinsdale

250cc Snr B Grade

Peter Boyal

Brendan Harper

Justin Stevenson

250cc Snr C Grade

Corey Vanderlei

Lason Stevenson

Daniel Coller

125cc C Grade Jnr

Leigh Dinneen

Troy Pearce

Jacob Andrews

125cc B Grade Jnr

Daniel Leslie

Jae Sigley

Beau Hutchinson

125cc A Grade

Joel Passlow

Zacob Raine

Matt Ketteridge

250cc Jnr 4 - A Grade

luke harraway

travis chiang

jorden hammond

250cc Jnr 4 - B Grade

Josh Hutchinson

Ben Grugnale

Kirsty Gillespy

250cc Jnr 4 - C Grade

Michael Cox

Tim Farrell

Mitch Farrell


Danny Ockwell

Josh Hunt

Nathan Denny

65cc C Grade

jason bald

twisty boy cachia

michael burke

65cc B Grade

Steve Bennett

Jake Arnoldt

Lochlan Cherry

65cc A Grade

Trent Yoe

Joben Badwin

Kale Makeham

85cc C Grade U12

Mitchell Tanner

Cody Russ

Brodie Thompson

85cc B Grade U12

Jake Foster

Steven Bennett

Jarred Dawson

85cc A Grade U12

Troy McNally

Trent Yeo

Scott Campbell

85cc C Grade U16

Sam Cox

Aaron Mullarvey

Chris Bordigon

85cc B Grade

Liam Mestrom

Corey Baratta

Brodie Sims

85cc A Grade

Jarrod Long

Joel Passlow

Matt Ryan

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Jago Geerts Returns for MXGP of Flanders

Hard Enduro

Manuel Lettenbichler Dominates Red Bull Romaniacs Offroad Day 1 At FIM HEWC Round Four

Flat Track

2024 Aussie Flat Track Nationals Fires Into Life This Weekend


Tim Gajser And Kay De Wolf Extend Championship Leads At MXGP of the Czech Republic


Beaton, Connolly And The Cannons Master Toowoomba ruts to claim ProMX wins

U.S Motocross

Chase Sexton Makes It Three Straight Wins While Haiden Deegan Gets Back On Top At Washougal
MXGP of The Czech Republic Qualification Victories For Tim Gajser And Lucas Coenen


Romain Febvre Returns to MXGP Racing at the Czech Republic After Thumb Injury

Product Review

RXR Protects You With Air

Product Release

AXIOM Release Australia's First Triumph Wheelset


Jack Miller Enters Toowoomba ProMX Round


Levi Townley Becomes The First Kiwi to win a World Junior Motocross Title

What's On This Week

MXGP - R14
MXGP of Flanders (BEL) - Lommel
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Saturday, July 27th, 2024
FIM Hard Enduro World Championship - R4
Red Bull Romaniacs - Romania
Saturday, July 27th, 2024


RXR Protects You With Air

One Year with a Tech 167 Threaded funnel

Triumph Transitions to Terrafirma with the TF250X

Life with a Sherco 300 two-stroke

Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

What's On This Week

MXGP - R14
MXGP of Flanders (BEL) - Lommel
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Sunday, July 28th, 2024
Queensland Moto Park, Coulson, Qld
Saturday, July 27th, 2024
FIM Hard Enduro World Championship - R4
Red Bull Romaniacs - Romania
Saturday, July 27th, 2024