Gaisford, Rykers and Porter Secure WAMX Round One Points At Esperance


Make Smoking History 2015 WAMX Series opener lived up to the expectations of many, when the gates dropped on the Western Australian State Motocross Championships in Esperance on Sunday the 5th of April.

Timed qualifying was introduced for the very first time, adding an extra incentive for the riders for their first gate picks of the day.

Connor Tierney was the fastest qualifier in the MX1 class and the scene was set for three absolute blinder motos.

Mitch Taylor won the holeshot and set the pace out font with Robbo Lovett, Dean Porter, Louis Calvin, Paul Humberston, Craig Bolton and Kyle Webster. With the opening moto extremely fast, Porter and Lovett dictated the terms with Porter making the pass on Lovett to take the win with Lovett securing second and Connor Tierney third.

Louis Calvin finished in fourth with Webster in fifth. Craig Bolton, Taylor, Humberston, Liam Whisler and Charlie Creech in tenth.

The second moto had the riders on the gas from the get go with the shorter race format being in place, while riders also had to place more emphasis on line selection on a track that was getting more rough and technical each lap. Lovett proved to be the real deal taking the moto win from Paul Humberston, Porter and Calvin.

In the last race of the day and the third moto for the MX1 class, on a track that had become very one lined and difficult to pass on, it was defending champion Webster who has earlier crashed out in both motos one and two who redeemed himself with an outstanding ride to take the win.

The epic battle between Porter and Webster was worthy of a championship performance- and both delivered. Porter soon stormed through the pack to take over the lead and Webster was soon hunting him down. For the next twenty minute moto there would be 2-3 seconds lead to Porter before Webster made his move in the dying stages to take over the lead and win by 4 seconds.

Lovett held firm for third and Craig Bolton took out fourth with Tierney fifth followed by Calvin, Heilers, Humberston, Luke Few and Charlie Creech.

Both Dean Porter (1-3-2) and Robbo Lovett (2-1-3) finished on equal points for the top spot while Connor Tierney and Louis Calvin also finished on equal points to decide the final step of the podium.

The highly anticipated MX2 class lived up to all the hype, and whilst defending champ Jayden Rykers had to work hard for the round win (1-1-1), Connor Tierney was sensational on debut, with Dylan Heard silencing the critics, Jack Taylor the surprise package, James Craig the outsider and Jesse Hogan much improved.

Tierney was on fire with his starts, before Rykers chased him down, Tierney though fought back and picked up second for the day with Dylan securing third.

Jake Fewster put a few on notice and was in contention (3-3-0) until mechanical failure in the final moto ended his charge for the podium. Ryan Scarlett on debut in the MX2 class had a day he would rather forget with mechanical issues and Baylee Webb too havng bike issues.

The Quad Championship fielded a huge gate and with the first gate drop came three sensational races battled between defending champ Chris Bosnakis and previous champ Luke Gaisford. Both riders going head to head with Gaisford securing the round win (2-1-1) and Bosnakis second (1-2-2) and Josh McKay third.

Shaun Woodhead was on fire but unable to quite capitalize and Daniel Soltoggio finished strong in fifth ahead of Tyron Robertson and Ben Hall.

For full results from all classes at the opening round of the 2015 WAMX Championships CLICK HERE

For results for the round one of the junior championship held on Saturday the 4th of April CLICK HERE

Top Image: Dean Porter in action in the MX1 at the opening round of the 2015 WAMX Championships

Credit: Gordon Pettigrew/ True Spirit Photos

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Standing Construct Honda MXGP Signs Alberto Forato

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023