Exciting Racing At Chennai Suzuki Gixxer Cup


The third round of the hotly-contested Suzuki Gixxer Cup at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai, India at the weekend again provided exciting and close racing in both the Open and Novice classes.

The Open Class (over 23-year-olds) upped the game with Ananth Raj taking both the wins and converting his 12 point deficit into an 11 point championship lead over arch rival Abhishek V. Both races were neck-and-neck with the top five riders swapping positions at every corner and providing the most exciting races of the weekend.

To make things even more interesting for the final two rounds, it ended with three riders tied at points for third overall in the championship. The event also saw Vivian Gladwin David post a lap time of 2:10.686, making it one of the best lap times ever by any one-make race manufacturer at the circuit.

The Novice Class (under 23s) did not disappoint either as the top two contenders Vishewadev Muraleedharan and Amarnath Menon took a win each, leaving Antony Peter and Sreejith PR to battle it out for the final podium position. Both races were closely fought with the top-three riders locked in a fierce competition.

At the end of the day, Vishwadev holds a narrow two-point lead from Amarnath, making for an equally-exciting race at round four next month.

Team Suzuki received positive feedback and appreciation not only from the riders and teams but from officials and spectators as well. There was plenty of praise for the Suzuki Gixxer SF and its excellent handling and performance on the racetrack.

Although it sets a very high level of expectation, the team at Suzuki India is confident about meeting and surpassing it in the final round of the brand-new race championship.

The fourth and penultimate round of the 2015 Suzuki Gixxer Cup takes place again at Chennai on September 4-6th. For more information about the Gixxer Cup, check-out the following links:

Open Race 1 (6 laps):
1. Ananth Raj 13:19.429,
2. Sathish Kumar 13:20.313,
3. Abhishek V 13:20.505.
Best Lap: Vivian Gladwin David 2:10.686 (102.4 kmph).

Open Race 2 (6 laps):
1. Ananth Raj 13:24.292,
2. Meka Vidhuraj 13:25.318,
3. Vivian Gladwin David 13:25.928.
Best Lap: Ananth Raj 2:11.716 (101.6 kmph).

Novice Race 1 (6 short laps):
1. Vishwadev Muraleedharan 7:48.692,
2. Antony Peter 7:55.826,
3. Sreejith PR 7:56.170.
Best Lap: Amarnath Menon 1:16.541 (98.8 kmph).

Novice Race 2 (6 short laps):
1. Amarnath Menon 7:49.736,
2. Vishwadev Muraleedharan 7:50.205,
3. Antony Peter 7:50.328.
Best Lap: Vishwadev Muraleedharan 1:16.633 (98.7 kmph).

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas


The Lawrence Brothers And Jo Shimoda Keep Honda On Top At 40th Paris Supercross


Michael West Wins Dramatic Australian U21 Speedway Title


Jett Lawrence And Jo Shimoda Take Out 40th Paris Supercross


Josh Green Calls Time on Sensational Career
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment