Off Road

Emelie Karlsson wins Womens Round 10 Cross Country Race


Emelie Karlsson. Photo: John Pearson Media
Ramping up the intensity at the penultimate round of the 2019 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC), Round 10 was nothing short of spectacular.

Featuring an unmissable battle between Emelie Karlsson, Emma Milesevic and Jessica Gardiner, today‰Ûªs Cross-Country format spanned six laps and just over two hours of superb action.

Coming out on top today was Karlsson, Lee Stephens, Peter Rudd and Chris Perry for the Women‰Ûªs, Veterans, Masters and 2 Stroke Cup.

Anyone who questions whether the talent in the AORC Women‰Ûªs category is disappearing can be quickly silenced after today‰Ûªs epic battle between three outstanding competitors. Karlsson, Milesevic and Gardiner tangoed one beautiful dance today, right from the starting line.

After a lack lustre start to her race, Gardiner had her work cut out for her over the six laps, as she did what Gardiner does best and fought tooth and nail to recover her position. But as the race progressed, the race to watch was between Karlsson and Milesevic, with only 0.483 separating each other at the finish line! The ‰Û÷Flying Swede‰Ûª Karlsson came out victorious with a total time of 2:10:00.873, with Honda‰Ûªs Milesevic a hairs breathe off first, settling instead for second with a total time of 2:10:01.356.

Gardiner conceded for third place today, clocking in a total time of 2:12:47.661. With a third place finish, Gardiner's hold on the 2019 Championship will now come down to Sunday's racing.

‰ÛÏIt was pretty cool race. Emma and I came off together. She passed me on the straight before the log on the first lap. Then she fell off during the race, which allowed me to get in front for the most part of the race,‰Û
Photo: John Pearson Media
Cooler than a cucumber is how the saying goes right? Well, that adequately describes Stephens and his campaign to become the 2019 AORC Veterans Champion. Hedley‰Ûªs tough but beautiful conditions did nothing to slow down the demon, who rode comfortably into first place with a total time of 3:04:00.628.

Second place was won by Jason Pearce, with a total time of 3:10:00.052, followed by Luke Ablitt, who crossed the finish line for a total time of 3:16:04.841.

The Veterans rode in amongst the E1, E2, E3 and EJ classes, racking up a total of eight laps over three hours.
Photo: John Pearson Media
Although the Championship title was wrapped up back in Coonalpyn, the remaining two podiums remain up for grabs for the Masters class. This made for excellent tussling today, ending with Peter Rudd coming out on top in first place with a total time of 2:16:39.777.

Stealing away second place was Peter Schaper 2:22:36.664, followed closely by Stephen Boucher who clocked in a time of 2:23:00.071.

‰ÛÏWhile Kirk [Hutton] may not be here, it‰Ûªs still a great feeling to be able to get the win and the first win for the year,‰Û
Photo: John Pearson Media
2019 AORC Women‰Ûªs Round 10 Top 10 Provisional Results:
1 Emelie Karlsson (Yamaha) 2:10:00.873
2 Emma Milesevic (Honda RideRed) 2:10:01.356
3 Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off Road Team) 2:12:47.661
4 Danielle Foot (Road & River Motorcyles) 2:19:54.996
5 Ebony Nielsen 2:26:40.853
6 Chloe Miles 2:28:27.800
7 Kellie Catanese 2:29:37.897
8 Lauren Dunstan (On Point Motorcycles) 2:31:07.357
9 Julie Denyer 2:12:38.105 (+1 lap)
10 Kasey Major (Rotaret) 2:14:22.907 (+1 lap)

2019 AORC Veterans Round 10 Top 8 Provisional Results:
1 Lee Stephens (True Painting & Decorating) 3:04:00.628
2 Jason Pearce 3:10:00:052
3 Luke Ablitt 3:16:04.841
4 Darren Lessio 2:51:56.794 (+1 lap)
5 Christopher Thomas (Thomas Lee KTM) 2:52:35.234 (+1 lap)
6 Con Privitera 2:54:35.426 (+1 lap)
7 Travis Selwyn (Simford Motorsport) 3:02:18.956 (+1 lap)
8 Allan Bennett 3:09:34.044 (+1 lap)

2019 AORC Masters Round 10 Top 10 Provisional Results:
1 Peter Rudd (Kessner Motorcycles) 2:16:39.777
2 Peter Schaper 2:22:36.664
3 Stephen Boucher 2:23:00.071
4 Ian McGillivray (Road & River Motorcycles) 2:24:12.798
5 Loui Stylianou (VC Traders) 2:24:32.858
6 Craig Treasure 2:24:32.884
7 Ken Burt (DL Electrics & Constructions) 2:24:39.436
8 Raymond Scott 2:28:57.239
9 Stephen Matheson (SMW Hornsby) 2:32:56.553
10 Nicholas Edward (Slims Engines) 2:08:04.495 (+1 lap)

2019 AORC 2 Stroke Cup Round 10 Top 3 Provisional Results:
1 Chris Perry 2:14:05.202
2 Adam Giles 2:16:13.653
3 John Isherwood 2:29:55.036.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Levi Townley Becomes The First Kiwi to win a World Junior Motocross Title


Toni Bou and Emma Bristow Extend Series Leads At TrialGP of Belgium


Josep Garcia Back On Top With Day Two Win At Enduro GP Of Slovakia


Noel Zanocz And Levi Townley Claim 2024 Junior FIM Motocross World Championships

U.S Motocross

Chase Sexton And Levi Kitchen Win the 2024 Spring Creek National


Andrea Verona And Kyron Bacon On Top Of Day One At Enduro GP Of Slovakia


Great Britain Fend Off Australia For FIM Speedway of Nations Gold


Brad Freeman Secures First Super Test Win At The Enduro GP Of Slovakia


Team Australia Primed For A Strong Showing At The 2024 FIM Junior Motocross World Championship


Denmark And Australia Top FIM Speedway of Nations Semi-Final 2 Qualification


Sweeden Tops FIM Speedway of Nations Final Semi-Final 1


Hungry Aussies Eyeing Back-To-Back Speedway of Nations Victories

What's On This Week

MXGP - R13
MXGP of Czech Republic - Loket
Sunday, July 21st, 2024
ProMX Championship - Round 6
Toowoomba, Qld
Sunday, July 21st, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 8
Washougal MX Park - Washougal, WA
Saturday, July 20th, 2024


One Year with a Tech 167 Threaded funnel

Triumph Transitions to Terrafirma with the TF250X

Life with a Sherco 300 two-stroke

Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

What's On This Week

MXGP - R13
MXGP of Czech Republic - Loket
Sunday, July 21st, 2024
ProMX Championship - Round 6
Toowoomba, Qld
Sunday, July 21st, 2024
AMA Pro Motocross - Round 8
Washougal MX Park - Washougal, WA
Saturday, July 20th, 2024