Double NZ Motocross titles for Altherm JCR Yamaha‰Ûªs Gibbs and Purvis


Altherm JCR Yamaha's Kirk Gibbs wins the 2020 Fox New Zealand Motocross Championship‰Ûªs MX1 title. Photo: Clmintiepix
Hard work and a strong team behind the scenes has seen Altherm JCR Yamaha do the double, with Kirk Gibbs crowned the Fox New Zealand Motocross Championship‰Ûªs MX1 winner and Maximus Purvis taking out the MX2 title.

Well-deserved celebrations ensued last night after the final round of four wrapped up yesterday, with two of the team‰Ûªs riders on top of their podiums at Taupo‰Ûªs Digger McEwen Motocross Park.

Altherm JCR Yamaha‰Ûªs Team Manager Josh Coppins is a very happy man and believes it has been close to a decade since a team in New Zealand won both the MX1 and MX2 titles in a season.

‰ÛÏTeams have done the double before, for example, last year another manufacturer won the 125cc and MX2 title but a double MX1 and MX2, I‰Ûªm not sure when that was last done. I would say over 10 years ago,‰Û
Altherm JCR Yamaha's Maximus Purvis holds his 2020 Fox New Zealand Motocross Championship's MX2 trophy aloft. Photo: Clmintiepix
Mangakino‰Ûªs Max Purvis (19) had a slightly more nail-biting road to victory on-board his Yamaha YZ250F. Coming into the final round he had a narrow 4-point lead over main rival Josiah Natzke. A second in the opening moto meant he was on track for the title but a wrong tyre choice for the second race dropped him back down the pack and piled on the pressure for the final moto. Coppins used his wealth of knowledge to help Purvis out.

‰ÛÏI convinced him to go back to the previous tyre from race 1 and he was a different kid in race 3. He led from pretty much start to finish,‰Û
The double title-winning Altherm JCR Yamaha team celebrate victory in the MX1 and MX2 Fox New Zealand Motocross Championships. Photo: Clmintiepix

1st Cody Cooper - 70
2nd Kirk Gibbs - 69
3rd Hamish Harwood - 62
4th Kayne Lamont - 54
5th Ethan Martens - 46

1st Maximus Purvis (YZ250F) - 69
2nd Josiah Natzke - 67
3rd Dylan Walsh (YZ250F) - 63
4th James Scott - 56
5th Morgan Fogarty - 47


1st Kirk Gibbs - 280
2nd Cody Cooper - 276
3rd Hamish Harwood - 244
4th Kayne Lamont - 203
5th Ethan Martens - 176

1st Maximus Purvis - 252
2nd Josiah Natzke - 246
3rd James Scott - 228
4th Dylan Walsh - 224
5th Caleb Ward - 188

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment