Dean Ferris Wins Woodville GP Invitational Feature Race


It may have been Australian Dean Ferris' first experience of the New Zealand Motocross Grand Prix at Woodville, but what an experience that was.

The Altherm JCR Yamaha Racing Team rider became the 28th different rider to win the main trophy at the weekend's 55th running of the iconic stand-alone event, winning Sunday's feature race by just a few a bike-lengths from New Zealand MX1 champion Cody Cooper, the man from Mount Maunganui who is also a two-time former Woodville champion.

It sets up Ferris nicely for his first major hit-out of the summer when he tackles the MX1 class in the four-round New Zealand Motocross Championships series that kicks off at Pleasant Point, near Timaru, next weekend.

The 25-year-old Ferris, from Kyogle in New South Wales, said it was "very special" to win the Woodville GP.

"I had only ever heard of this event once before coming here and that was because of that crazy river race." Ferris commented. "Now I realise what a big deal it is.

"It's great to start the year too by shaking out the cobwebs at such a big race as this. It's great to begin my build-up for the New Zealand and Australian nationals coming up.

"It's fantastic to be back on Yamaha and I have really appreciated all the guidance I have had from (Altherm JCR Yamaha Racing team boss, Kiwi former GP star, former Woodville winner and former New Zealand and Australian champion) Josh Coppins.

"It's awesome to work with Josh. We've done a lot of work together and that will continue at his Motueka base this week. I used to race against Josh and I have a lot of respect for him.

"I'm not at my peak yet. I'm just warming up." Ferris added.

Ferris put the distinctive anniversary-yellow Yamaha YZ450F on the podium in every race he started on Sunday, although Cooper did win the MX1 class overall, his 1-2-2 score-card enough to edge out Ferris (2-1-3) by four points.

Ferris will face Cooper again, along with fellow Australian former GP star Todd Waters and a strong field of Kiwi internationals such as Taupo's Brad Groombridge, Mount Maunganui's Rhys Carter, Queenstown's Scott Columb, Takaka's Hamish Harwood and Hawera's Daryl Hurley when they all meet up again in Timaru this coming Sunday.

If Ferris can find the same sort of pace as a first-timer at Timaru that he did as a Woodville rookie, then Cooper's reign as New Zealand champion will certainly be under threat.

In the MX2 class, it was Courtney Duncan who showed she has what it takes to make it on the world stage, being home New Zealands best riders to claim the MX2 Woodville GP title ahead of Josiah Natzke and former MX Nationals MXD champion Hamish Harwood.

International Invitational Feature Race
1. Dean Ferris - 09:00.027
2. Cody Cooper +01.161
3. Todd Waters +07.383
4. Jake Nicholls +17.497
5. Daryl Hurley +25.363
6. Hamish Harwood +27.939
7. Brad Groombridge +09:29.213
8. Ethan Martens +34.448
9. Kayne Lamont +35.327
10. Kieran Scheele +39.250

MX1 Grand Prix Overall
1. Cody Cooper - 69 Pts
2. Dean Ferris - 65 Pts
3. Jake Nicholls - 52 Pts
4. Rhys Carter - 51 Pts
5. Hamish Harwood - 50 Pts
6. Todd Waters - 45 Pts
7. Scott Columb - 43 Pts
8. Daryl Hurley - 41 Pts
9. Brad Groombridge - 37 Pts
10. Kieran Scheele - 33 Pts

MX1 Grand Prix Overall
1. Courtney Duncan - 67 Pts
2. Josiah Natzke - 63 Pts
3. Hamish Harwood - 60 Pts
4. Kayne Lamont - 57 Pts
5. Ethan Martens - 55 Pts
6. Cohen Chase - 44 Pts
7. Joel Wightman - 37 Pts
8. Logan Blackburn - 36 Pts
9. Aaron Wiltshier - 33 Pts
10. Trent Collins - 32 Pts

For Full Event Results - CLICK HERE

Top Image: Dean Ferris (Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ450F), on his way to winning the 55th annual New Zealand Motocross Grand Prix at Woodville on Sunday.

Credit: Andy McGechan,

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023