MX Nationals

Dan Reardon Back On The Top Step At Nowra as Dylan Long Breaks Through For Maiden MX1 Moto Win.

Kirk Gibbs Extends Championship Lead

Author: Aaryn Minerds


CDR Yamaha's Dan Reardon has returned to the top step of the MX Nationals podium for the first time since returning to full time racing on the back of a wire to wire win in the first moto at Nowra for the 8th round of the 2015 championship today.

Reardon claimed a narrow holeshot at the start of the opening moto ahead of Monster Energy Kawasaki's Adam Monea with CDR Yamaha's Kade Mosig in third.

The three riders maintained those positions in what became a bit of a procession for the 30 minute plus one lap race, with the excitement only building in the final stages of the race as Mosig made the move into second place over Monea with just a couple of laps remaining and set out after his team-mate in the lead.

Despite making his way to the rear wheel of Reardon and showing his front wheel on a number of occasions, Mosig could not make the move, with Reardon holding on to win the race ahead of Mosig, with Monea a comfortable third.

Peter Stevens Yamaha Racing Lawson Bopping finished in fourth ahead of Championship Leader Kirk Gibbs after the South Australian had a small crash mid way through the race.

In race two it was Penrite Honda's Cody Cooper who jumped out to the race lead from the start with Monster Energy Kawasaki's Dylan Long in second.

Long did not waste any time moving his way into the lead where he was never headed racing away to his maiden MX1 class moto win and in the process finished the day in second overall edging out Mosig in third by a single point.

"That track was starting to get pretty brutal those last four laps and in the back of my mind I was saying, I have to finish this, I have to finish this." Long told NRGTV's Aiden Williams during the live stream directly after the second moto win.

"I have to thank the NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki team, they are amazing and have supported me in this second half of the season and I just want to get up there and get the best results I can.

"I am that excited I hope I get a heap more of these."
Dylan Long now has a MX1 moto win under his belt - Credit: Jeff Crow (Kawasaki File)
Crossing the line in second position at the end of moto 2 was Reardon, which was enough to give the veteran of the class the overall round win on his return to the national championship after taking two years away from racing.

"It was tough and I definitely made it hard for myself in that last moto. When you go in after a race win, you don't want to get caught up in the first two turns and unfortunately I put myself right there," Reardon explained after crossing the line at the end of race two.

"I nearly went down a couple of times and had to ride pretty aggressive to get back up to the top and I am over the moon to be on the top step.

"Consistency has been the biggest thing for me, I have got the speed and I have lead plenty of races this season, we just need to put two together.

"The bike was working great today, the track was really tough, mentally it was really tough."

Mosig ensured a double podium for the CDR Yamaha team crossing the line in 5th position in race two to earn third overall for the round.

KTM Racing's Luke Styke ended the day in fourth on count-back over Adam Monea after the two riders finished the day on 55 points each.

Championship leader Kirk Gibbs struggled with small crashes all day, however his 6-4 moto results combined with his Superpole win means he will leave Nowra extending his points lead over his nearest rivals and team mate, Luke Styke by two points and will head to the second to last round of the season at Toowoomba with a 65 point advantage.

In other news Penrite Honda's Ben Townley was injured early in the day and from reports coming from the track has sustained a shoulder injury though it looks as though it may only be a minor injury for the New Zeland motocross legend. We will update with more information as it comes to hand.

Watch all of todays racing action on demand below.

1) Kirk Gibbs (1:42.306) - 5 Championship Pts
2) Daniel Reardon (1:42.705) - 4 Championship Pts
3) Lawson Bopping (1:42.810) - 3 Championship Pts
4) Luke Styke (1:43.787) - 2 Championship Pts
5) Kade Mosig (1:44.129) - 1 Championship Pts

1) Dan Reardon - 35 Pts
2) Kade Mosig - 32 Pts
3) Adam Monea - 30 Pts
4) Lawson Bopping - 28 Pts
5) Kirk Gibbs - 26 Pts
6) Luke Styke- 25 Pts
7) Dylan Long - 24 Pts
8) Jesse Dobson - 23 Pts
9) Kale Makeham - 22 Pts
10) Cody Cooper - 21 Pts

1) Dylan Long - 35 Pts
2) Dan Reardon - 32 Pts
3) Luke Styke - 30 Pts
4) Kirk Gibbs - 28 Pts
5) Kade Mosig - 26 Pts
6) Adam Monea - 25 Pts
7) Cody Cooper - 24 Pts
8) Lawson Bopping - 23 Pts
9) Kale Makeham - 22 Pts
10) Jesse Dobson - 21 Pts

Top Ten Overall:
1) Dan Reardon - 67 Pts
2) Dylan Long - 59 Pts
3) Kade Mosig - 58 Pts
4) Luke Styke - 55 Pts
5) Adam Monea - 55 Pts
6) Kirk Gibbs - 54 Pts
7) Lawson Bopping - 51 Pts
8) Cody Cooper 45 Pts
9) Kale Makeham - 44 Pts
10) Jesse Dobson - 44 Pts

Championship Standings:
1 Kirk Gibbs - 530 Pts
2 Luke Styke - 465 Pts
3 Kade Mosig - 456 Pts
4 Adam Monea - 449 Pts
5 Lawson Bopping - 429 Pts
6 Daniel Reardon - 411 Pts
7 Dylan Long - 390 Pts
8 Jesse Dobson - 382 Pts
9 Cody Cooper - 358 Pts
10 Kale Makeham - 306 Pts

Top Image: Dan Reardon proved to be the man to beat at Nowra today.

Credit: Aaryn Minerds (File)

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Team HRC Part Company With Roan van de Moosdijk

Off Road

Jess Gardiner and Danielle McDonald Trade Wins At Mt Misery


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024