MX Nationals

Clout Leads Secures Narrow MX2 Round Win At MX Nationals Round 2


Serco Yamaha rider Luke Clout has taken outright honours in the MX2 class at the second round of the 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals held at Appin in New South Wales.

In a fiercely competitive day of action, only two points separated first and third place in the overall standings as Clout held his nerve with a third place in the second moto to go with his race-one win.

Clout finished one point ahead of Tunetech Racing KTM Australia rider Kale Makeham (second and second from his two motos) and another point clear of fellow Serco Yamaha rider Jay Wilson in third (fourth and first from his two motos).

In the first moto, opening round winner Kayne Lamont (Husqvarna Red Bull WIL Sport NZ Racing) took the holeshot, only to be passed by Clout on the opening lap.

On lap four, the Kiwi rider hit a soft section of the track, which caused him to fall over his bars and forced an early end to his race.

From that point on Clout (first) and Makeham (second) pulled away from the field, shifting the focus of the race to an enthralling battle behind them between Errol Willis (Axis Motorsports), Ryan Marmont (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki) and Wilson.

In the end it was Marmont who took third place in the race ahead of Wilson in fourth, SD3 Husqvarna rider Luke Arbon in fifth and Willis in sixth.
Kale Makeham was back on form at round two finishing second overall with a 2-2 result Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
In the second moto, a huge bunch up at the opening corner spelled disaster for Willis who despite coming off his bike still managed a respectable 18th.

Avoiding the pile-up was KTM rider Caleb Ward who grabbed the holeshot from Makeham, Wilson, Marmont and Lamont.

On the third lap, a slight misjudgement forced Makeham to drop back into third place, with Wilson shooting into first.

Despite pressure throughout the race from Makeham ‰ÛÒ who managed to claw back into second, Wilson fought bravely to hold him off and register his first win in the MX2 class.

Makeham finished in second place with Clout working through the field to claim third, Hamish Harwood (CMR Redbull KTM) finishing in fourth and Wade Hunter taking his KTM to fifth.

In the overall championship standings, Clout has opened up a 14-point gap from Harwood, with Brenden Harrison (Instant Security KTM) a further two points behind.
Jay Wilson also returned to form at Appin, claiming his fist moto win in the MX2 class for third overall - Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
MX2 Overall Rounds Results:
1. Luke Clout - 65 Pts
2. Kale Makeham - 64 Pts
3. Jay Wilson - 63 Pts
4. Ryan Marmont - 52 Pts
5. Hamish Harwood - 51 Pts
6. Brenden Harrison - 48 Pts
7. Wade Hunter - 45 Pts
8. Nick Sutherland - 42 Pts
9. Daniel McCoy - 41 Pts
10. Hamish Dobbyn - 40 Pts
11. Joel Milesevic - 39 Pts
12. Errol Willis - 38 Pts
13. Luke Arbon - 38 Pts
14. Caleb Ward - 35 Pts
15. Riley Graham - 31 Pts
16. Jake Emanuelli - 31 Pts
17. Kayne Lamont - 25 Pts
18. Nick Scott - 25 Pts
19. Joel Evans - 25 Pts
20. Dakota Court - 21 Pts
MX2 Appin Podium - Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix
MX2 Overall Championship Standings After Round 2 to 10:
1. Luke Clout - 146 Pts
2. Hamish Harwood - 132 Pts
3. Brenden Harrison - 130 Pts
4. Kayne Lamont - 127 Pts
5. Kale Makeham - 121 Pts
6. Ryan Marmont - 115 Pts
7. Wade Hunter - 114 Pts
8. Jay Wilson - 104 Pts
9. Nick Scott - 97 Pts
10. Daniel McCoy - 91 Pts
11. Caleb Ward - 90 Pts
12. Errol Willis - 89 Pts
13. Hamish Dobbyn - 89 Pts
14. Luke Arbon - 86 Pts
15. Nick Sutherland - 79 Pts
16. Joel Milesevic - 71 Pts
17. Daniel Banks - 64 Pts
18. Dylan Long - 62 Pts
19. Jake Emanuelli - 54 Pts
20. Matt van Slooten - 48 Pts

Top Image: Luke Clout on his way to victory at Appin

Credit: Grant Reynolds fiftysix clix

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Factory Honda In Winning Early Season Form At Sunshine State Championships

Dirt Track

2024 NSW Dirt Track Season Lifts Off At Somersby Super TT Meeting


World Champion Max Anstie Secures 2024 East Coast Supercross Championship Red Plate


Jed Beaton Tops The Podium At 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships Round Two


Cooper Webb And Haiden Deegan Win Drama-Filled Arlington Supercross


Billy Bolt's FIM SuperEnduro Win Streak Continues In Bulgaria


Shoulder Injury Rules Evan Ferry Out Of Arlington Supercross


Christian Craig To Sit Out Arlington Supercross


Mattia Guadagnini Joins The Early Season Injury List


Jake Cannon Signs With Factory Honda


Liam Everts To Miss MXGP Season Opener


Tim Gajser – Motivated for 2024

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024


First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024