Chris Holder Crowned 2014 Australian Speedway Solo Champion


Chris Holder completed a stunning comeback from injury winning his fifth Australian Speedway Solo Championship on a dramatic nights racing at South Australia‰Ûªs Gillman Speedway on Saturday night.

Holder was equal with fellow New South Welshmen Jason Doyle coming into the deciding round of the series.

Leicester signing Doyle was in scintillating form, winning all five of his heats to have first gate choice in the final. Holder‰Ûªs night was not so smooth winning just two of his heat races.

After winning one of the two previous rounds each, Holder and Doyle were making it a two horse race, as nearest rival Troy Bachelor‰Ûªs withdrawal from the meeting meant he couldn‰Ûªt defend his national title.

A bumper crowd saw both title leaders make the final, the first direct qualification through to the A-final in the series for Holder.

In an all NSW final, Doyle made a jet propelled start with the 2012 World Champion Holder in hot pursuit. A cruel twist of fate followed on Lap 2, as Doyle‰Ûªs bike locked up spitting him violently into the air fence.

Not only was Doyle excluded but also his chances of winning a maiden title lay in the shale as Holder only needed to finish the re-run to claim his fifth championship.

In the re-run Hunter Valley flyer Rohan Tungate won the night with Holder‰Ûªs second place enough to secure title number 5, whilst Kurri Kurri‰Ûªs Mason Campton was third on the night.

‰ÛÏI‰Ûªm wrapped to come away with a win, it‰Ûªs been a long six months to get back from injury." Holder stated. "I wanted to use it as a stepping stone to get going.

"I had some tough nights, I battled through and finished in the top two in all three rounds. I‰Ûªm really happy with that.‰Û

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas
Zeta Header

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment