Flat Track

Championship Battles Emerging At 2023 Aussie Flat Track Nationals


Photo of Australian Flat Track rider Billy Van Eerde leading the dirt strack pack
Billy Van Eerde (29) leading a large field.

The 2023 Aussie Flat Track Nationals (AFTN) heads to Mick Doohan Raceway (Raubers Rd, Banyo QLD) for the third and fourth rounds of the six-round series the weekend after next (September 16 and 17) as the fastest flat track racers in the country battle it out across two different circuits at the one venue.

Saturday will see the highly anticipated Pro Twins class join the schedule alongside Clubman Open and the future stars in Junior 85 and Junior Lites, while the Pro 450 battle it out for the big money and bigger bragging rights as they look to build their championship on the more traditional flat track layout. Sunday will see the AFTN switch to the more technical TT circuit featuring changes in direction and jumps to challenge riders.

With local favourite Jarred Brook, currently second in the championship, forced to miss the second instalment of the series due to commitments racing the World Championship in Europe, the door is open as riders such as Matt Davies, Cyshan Weale, Billy Van Eerde and Daniel Wicks try to chase down Pro 450 series leader Mick Kirkness.

“The weekend is set to be an exciting one as the series points begin to unfold, and battles within the classes reveal themselves even further,” AFTN’s Dave Maddock stated. “The team at North Brisbane Junior Motorcycle Club have been fantastic in preparing the venue for us, and it’s a drastically different surface to that of Appin, so it will be interesting to see how that impacts the leaderboard in each class. There’s 450 points on offer in most classes this weekend, and almost $5000 in cash and prizes to be won, so it’s set to be a great two days of racing”.

AFTN Weekend Schedule

Round 3 – Saturday, Sept. 17
Flat Track
9:00 am – Practice
9:50 am – Qualifying
10:35 am – Pro 450 Superpole
11:00 am – Racing Underway
3:30 pm – End of Activities

Round 4 – Sunday Sept. 18
9:00 am – Practice
9:40 am – Qualifying
10:20 am – Pro 450 Superpole
10:50 am – Racing Underway
3:45 pm – End of Activities

Series Leaderboards

Pro 450
1 387 Michael KIRKNESS 413 points
2 J21 Jarred BROOK 384 points
3 176 Daniel WICKS 339 points
4 25 Cyshan WEALE 337 points
5 414 Matthew DAVIES 329 points
6 14 Thomas HERRICK 303 points
7 29 Billy VAN EERDE 254 points
8 598 Rory McQUALTER 238 points
9 42 Jordan DALL 234 points
10 314 Rowan TEGART 229 points

Junior Lites
1 105 Cameron DUNKER 413 points
2 555 Lachlan RUSSELL 407 points
3 296 Thoren OPENSHAW 348 points
4 174 Bodie PAIGE 342 points
5 87 Cooper ARCHIBALD 320 points
6 27 Jayden HOLDER 294 points
7 7 James WOOD 288 points
8 278 Blake FAIREY 274 points
9 06 Hugh HOPE-HODGETTS 250 points
10 19 Michael PRICE 94 points

Junior 85
1 23 Jed FYFFE 440 points
2 12 Lenny DUGGAN 372 points
3 10 Lockie DUGGAN 365 points
4 90 Zac BRADY 302 points
5 22 Charlie NICHOLS 286 points
6 12a Logan TURNER 272 points
7 663 Beau JARVIS 262 points
8 11 William WIGGINS 250 points
9 26 Jye FRENCH 242 points
10 552 Jake PAIGE 210 points

Clubman Open
1 414 Shane GALE 394 points
2 5 Darren WEBB 378 points
3 87 Lee HUNTER 364 points
4 114 Rory HUTCHINSON 359 points
5 28 Neil GIRDLER 313 points
6 261 Jason GRIFFIN 312 points
7 78 Rhys SANDOW 278 points
8 36 Darryl MALLAM 268 points
9 38 Timothy HOLDUP 263 points
10 278 Molly FAIREY 232 points

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment