Braydon Elliott Sweeps SuperSport Opening Round In Queensland


New South Wales rider Brayden Elliott (Brayden Elliott Racing) has won both Yamaha Supersport races, to win the second round of the 2015 Yamaha Motor Finance ASBK Championship presented by Motul Pirelli in emphatic style.

Elliott continued on from where he left off in Saturday‰Ûªs qualifying by putting on a flawless show in front of the huge Queensland crowd.

Troy Guenther (Troy Guenther Racing) took second place for the round with two second-place finishes, while Kane Burns (GJ Gardner Homes) ended the round in third place (third and fourth).

Race 1
In the opening race of the day, Elliott came straight off pole and into the front from Guenther and Thyron Van Vuuren,

Burns settled into fourth with Chris Quinn (Coopers Pale Ale Yamaha) settling in fifth place.

Van Vuuren passed Guenther into second spot on the opening lap and finished lap one a mere .371 of a second behind Elliott.

It stayed that way for another lap before Van Vuuren made his move past Elliott after posting back-to-back 1:17 lap times.

Guenther was hot on Elliot‰Ûªs heels in third and held a one second gap to Burns in fourth, while Quinn, Alex Phillis (Phillis Racing) and Brenton Hyde (Yamaha YRD) were further off the pace behind him.

On lap five of the 14-lap race Elliott regained the lead, but it was such an enthralling battle between to top trio that you could sense it was anyone‰Ûªs race to win.

On lap seven Van Vuuren came unstuck at turn seven, and as he slid to the bottom of the leaderboard, Burns moved into third position.

Shortly after that, a crash at turn four involving‰Û_.. caused the red flag to be raised, and with nine laps down the race restart was rescheduled as a four-lap affair.

At the restart it was again Elliott who got the early running, jumping to the lead from Guenther, Burns and Hyde.

By the end of the opening lap Burns had moved into second spot, but was nearly five seconds behind the leader with Guenther in third.

Behind them Hyde and Quinn came unstuck at the opening corner, forcing them to the rear of the field, and allowing Aaiden Coote (Yamaha YRD) to move into fourth and Phillis to claim fifth spot.

That‰Ûªs how the four lap-restart finished and with combined results Elliott claimed first spot from Guenther with Burns rounding out the podium.

Coote and Nicolas Liminton (JD Racing) rounded out the top five.

Race 2
Again it was all about Brayden Elliott as he got off to a great start to take the lead early in the second race from Guenther and Burns.

Phillis settled into fourth place with Quinn rounding out the top-five.

For the opening four laps of the race these positions remained unchanged, and despite the lack of positional movement, with only 3.438 seconds separating the top five riders it was still great to watch.

On lap five Quinn moved into fourth position while Phillis began to lose significant ground on the top-four riders.

At the halfway mark of the race, the gap between Elliott and Guenther was still less than a second, while Burns and Quinn were also in a close one-second battle of their own for third.

On lap nine Phillis was relegated to sixth spot after being passed by Hyde, while with two laps to go Quinn made his move into third spot.

That‰Ûªs where he stayed but it was Elliott was the standout performer, holding Guenther at bay for another race win and a clean sweep of the round.

Burns finished the race in fourth while Hyde finished fifth.

In the overall Championship standings, Elliott holds a two-point lead from Burns, with Coote another four points behind in third.

The next round of the Championship will be held at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia from 22-24 May.

1. Brayden ELLIOTT (NSW) - 51 Pts
2. Troy GUENTHER (QLD) - 40 Pts
3. Kane BURNS (NSW) - 35 Pts
4. Chris QUINN (NSW) - 33 Pts
5. Nicholas LIMINTON (SA) - 31 Pts
6. Aaiden COOTE (VIC) - 30 Pts
7. Sam LAMBERT (NT) - 28 Pts
8. Alex PHILLIS (VIC) - 24 Pts
9. Anthony QUINN (NSW) - 22 Pts
10. James PARKER (QLD) - 22 Pts

1. Brayden ELLIOTT (NSW) - 64 Pts
2. Kane BURNS (NSW) - 62 Pts
3. Aaiden COOTE (VIC) - 56 Pts
4. Michael BLAIR (NSW) - 50 Pts
5. Chris QUINN (NSW) - 41 Pts
6. Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) - 41 Pts
7. Troy GUENTHER (QLD) - 40 Pts
8. Cam RUSSELL (VIC) - 34 Pts
9. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC) - 33 Pts
10. Nicholas LIMINTON (SA) - 31 Pts

For a full list of results head to or visit the ASBK website via

Top Image: Braydon Elliott Sweeps SuperSport Opening Round In Queensland


Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment