Australia Speedway Team take second at 2017 World Games in Poland


Seven teams all with massive Speedway names, lined up on the start for The World Games (TWG) 2017 medals ‰ÛÒ only one took gold and it was Poland, who proved best on the Saturday evening. Australia took second place and Sweden claimed third.

Shortly before the opening gun, Polish trainer Marek Cieslak made the decision to start Maciej Janowski and Bartosz Zmarzlik, keeping Patryk Dudek in reserve. In the opening race of the competition, Sweden tied with Denmark 3:3. In the third race of the night, Poland faced Germany. There could be only one favourite and he did not disappoint. Zmarzlik crossed the finish line ahead of the pack, with Janowski breathing down his neck. The boys in red and white were the only team to win their first round with 5 points.

The second series started with Germany falling to Australia 4:2. Sweden gained a confident victory over Russia (5:1) after which Poland stepped up to ride with Great Britain. In keeping with his plan, Cieslak rotated his riders, replacing Janowski with Patryk Dudek. The result was a terrific run and a 4:2 win, thanks in no small part to Zmarzlik‰Ûªs furious charge to the wire. Dudek ended up third.

After two rounds, Poland was in the lead with 9 points. Sweden and Australia stood at 8 apiece.

The next race saw Denmark take down Russia, but not convincingly (only 4:2) in part because of Emil Sajfutdinow‰Ûªs excellent ride. Australia, despite being one of the favourites, ended up tied with Sweden 3:3. Jason Doyle, currently atop the general classification standings of the Grand Prix, chocked up an excellent ride. Meanwhile, Germany served up a shocker, smashing Britain ‰ÛÒ who was not so ‰ÛÏgreat‰Û
In total, Zmarzlik won 20 points, Janowski 10 and Dudek 1. The silver medal went to Australia and bronze to Sweden.
With a tie in their next race versus Great Britain, Sweden‰Ûªs one man team of Fredrik Lindgren (alone because Antonio Lindback was disqualified) was assured of a spot in the rematch round. Germany then tied Russia and with the following match between Poland and Australia would determine which team would advance directly to the final and which would face Sweden in the rematch. With Poland needing a win and Australia requiring only a tie, Polish trainer Cieslak decided to leave his pair unchanged and sent out Zmarzlik and Janowski. Unfortunately, Janowski slipped onto the inside line with both wheels, which resulted in his disqualification. This left Zmarzlik alone on the track and although he rode fantastically, the resulting 3:3 tie gave the Aussies ‰ÛÒ already ahead by a point ‰ÛÒ a straight shot to the final.

After 21 races the standings stood:
Australia 24 pts.
Poland 23 pts.
Sweden 20 pts.
Germany 17 pts.
Russia 16 pts.
Denmark 15 pts.
Great Britain 11 pts.

In the rematch, Zmarzlik and Janowski stepped out against Lindbeck and Lindgren of Sweden. Poland‰Ûªs riders got a quick jump out and led from the start. Unfortunately, Lindbeck counterattacked and salvaged a 3:3 tie for the Swedes. However, thanks to the fact that Poland had tied Sweden in the earlier round and both Polish riders scored in the race (an extra bonus), the host nation advanced to the final.

Bartosz Zmarzlik, Maciej Janowski, Jason Doyle and Max Fricke ‰ÛÒ four riders, two countries and one gold to gun for. Once again, the boys in red and white jumped out to an excellent start and found themselves one-two ahead of the Australians. And so they finished as well ‰ÛÒ with Zmarzlik ahead of Janowski ‰ÛÒ and fulfilled their dreams of capturing a gold medal.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment