Aussies Daniel Milner and Mackenzie Tricker on top at the Alligator Sprint Enduro


The second round of the 2016 KENDA Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series presented by Moose Racing took place at the home of the Alligator Enduro in Bunnell, FL, infamous for its seemingly bottomless black sand, the racers were faced with two challenging special tests during the two-day event.

Racing began on the 2-mile cross test with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna‰Ûªs Josh Strang jumping out to the test win ahead of fellow Australian, and round one winner, N-Fab AmPro Yamaha‰Ûªs Daniel Milner by just half a second. FMF KTM‰Ûªs Russell Bobbitt finished the test in 3rd, and Thad DuVall, who finished 2nd-overall at round one placed 4th in the test but dropped 8-seconds to Strang.

The second test of the day was on the 3.5-mile enduro test and it was Milner who posted a blazing 6:53.521 test time through the pines, palmettos, and tricky bog sections, over 6-seconds ahead of test one winner Strang. Milner‰Ûªs win in that test gave him the overall lead that he would hold for the remainder of the two days of racing.

Milner would go on to win the 3rd test of the day, the riders second lap on the cross test, by 5-seconds over Strang and increasing his lead to over 10-seconds. DuVall would rebound from a disastrous 2nd test that saw him drop 12-seconds to Milner with a 3rd-place finish in the cross test.

FMF KTM‰Ûªs Russell Bobbitt kept himself in the mix with a win in the 4th test of the day, the 2nd lap of the enduro test. Strang and Milner kept their consistent day going with 2nd and 3rd place finishes in the test, with RPM/KTM‰Ûªs Evan Smith put in his best ride of the day to finish 4th.
Josh Strang made it an Aussie 1-2 when he finished second behind Daniel Milner. Photo: Jason Hooper
As the soft sand began to deteriorate and bog holes claimed some amateur riders, line selection became of the utmost importance and the 5th and 6th tests of the day would set the tone for the remainder of the event with Milner taking the cross test win ahead of Strang, and Duvall taking the final win of the day, and his first test win of the event, in the enduro test to secure 3rd-place for the day.

In the Women‰Ûªs Pro class Mackenzie Tricker, round one winner, swept the first four tests of the day before Red Bull‰Ûªs Tarah Gieger was able to claim the final cross test win. Tricker would rebound in the final enduro test to get her 5th test win of the day and head into the second day of racing with a 16-second cushion over Gieger. Ashley Copeland was 3rd followed by Brooke Cosner and Sarah Baldwin.

Daniel Milner started the second day of racing looking to pad his 11-second lead and put himself in a position to claim his second consecutive overall win of the season and he did just that by taking the cross test win by 5-seconds over Strang. Russell Bobbitt was another second back in 3rd with DuVall just a few tenths behind him in 4th.

DuVall would pick up in the enduro test where he left off on Wednesday by taking the win ahead of Milner, Strang, and Bobbitt. The FAR KR4 Performance rider would go on to sweep the enduro tests for day two with Strang finishing 2nd in the final two enduro tests keeping DuVall honest in those tests.

Daniel Milner whose ISDE experience shined in the European-style cross test went on to win the remaining two attempts on the grass track, making a clean sweep of cross test wins for the day. Fellow Aussie and ISDE veteran, Josh Strang, finished second in all of the cross tests on the day and while he didn‰Ûªt win any tests on day two, he would ultimately finish second overall for the day behind Milner and ahead of DuVall with his three test wins.
Thad DuVall rounded out the podium. Photo: Jason Hooper
At the end of the two days of racing Milner‰Ûªs lead stretched to nearly 15-seconds ahead of Strang with DuVall another 17-seconds back. FMF KTM‰Ûªs Russell Bobbitt would secure 4th-place for the event with SRT Off-Road‰Ûªs Cory Buttrick rounding out the top-five.

Continuing the trend of Aussies on top, Mackenzie Tricker would sweep all six tests in the Women‰Ûªs Pro class to take the overall win. Ride MPS / Bonzi Racing‰Ûªs Brooke Cosner would finish 2nd for the day to work her way up to 3rd-place overall. Red Bull‰Ûªs Tarah Gieger was 3rd fastest on the day and would finish the event in 2nd-place. Ashley Copeland, 3rd-place after the first day of racing, would experience a mechanical and DNF on day two. Sarah Baldwin and Mandi Mastin would round out the top-five.

The Top Amateur for the event was Argentinian Luciano Benavides, who took the win in the Open A class at round one and again at round two. Benavides has been in the United States training with Mike Brown and is planning to return from Argentina to compete in the remainder of the FGSE events in 2016.

The youth overall went to Silas Powers who took the Supermini 12-15 win.

The 2016 KENDA Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series presented by Moose Racing continues racing on April 23-24 in Romney, WV for the Ride-On Moto presented round of the series.

Main Photo: Daniel Milner
Credit: Jason Hooper
Mackenzie Tricker, Tarah Geiger, and Brooke Cosner were top-3 in Women‰Ûªs Pro
Results: 2016 KENDA Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series - Round 2
1 Daniel Milner ‰ÛÒ 1:06:26.731 ‰ÛÒ Yamaha
2 Josh Strang ‰ÛÒ 1:06:41.241 ‰ÛÒ Husqvarna
3 Thad DuVall ‰ÛÒ 1:06:58.663 ‰ÛÒ Husqvarna
4 Russell Bobbitt ‰ÛÒ 1:07:23.929 ‰ÛÒ KTM
5 Cory Buttrick ‰ÛÒ 1:07:46.192 ‰ÛÒ KTM
6 Drew Higgins ‰ÛÒ 1:07:54.027 ‰ÛÒ KTM
7 Evan Smith ‰ÛÒ 1:07:58.605 ‰ÛÒ KTM
8 Garrett Edmisten ‰ÛÒ 1:08:29.856 ‰ÛÒ Yamaha
9 Jordan Ashburn ‰ÛÒ 1:08:31.780 ‰ÛÒ KTM
10 Jason Klammer ‰ÛÒ 1:09:35.576 ‰ÛÒ KTM
Daniel Milner (Center) Josh Strang (L) and Thad Duvall

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023