Flat Track

Appin delivers for Sultans of Slide


For the second weekend in a row, Australia's best riders lined up for over 50 laps of bar-to-bar racing, on what can only be described as one of the best prepared flat track circuits in the country.

Hosted by Macarthur Districts Motorcycle Club, the Sultans of Slide arrived at Appin last Saturday, to race across both TT and flat track layouts, once more proving who is the best flat track racer.

It was Michael Kirkness who opened proceedings on the flat track layout in the premier MX450 class, taking two wins before Max Whale (2-2-1-1-1-1) took control in the third race of the day and never looked back, securing first overall after another three wins on the TT layout. Kirkness (1-1-2-2-2-2) secured second overall while Jarred Brook (5-3-6-3-6-3) battled with Thomas Herrick (8-7-3-4-3-4), Boyd Hollis (5-3-6-3-6-3) and Tom Edwards (3-5-8-9-8-6) for the final podium position.
Micheal Booth (2-2-1-7-2-1) took two race wins in the MX250. However, a mistake in race four opened the door for Daniel Yarnold (1-1-3-2-1-2) to take the overall win with James Sawdy a close third. The Multi Open class continues to impress and entertain, with big bore bikes including Indians, Harleys, Aprilias and Kawasakis throwing down on the very same tracks. Max Whale once again took the win ahead of Tom Edwards, with new class entrants, Daniel Yarnold and Paul Edwards (Tom's dad) securing third and fourth, both entering the class after seeing the epic on-track action at round one.

Tom and Sam Drane once again proved too strong in the Junior Lites and 65cc classes, although the brothers didn't have it all their own way: Viv Muddle and Billy Clark took race wins on the 65s, while Mackenzie Booth got a win over Tom on the TT layout.

Jayden Holder proved too strong in the 85/150 class with three race wins. However, a race win and third overall was enough for John Kennedy to retain the series lead ahead of James Wood. The Clubman class continues to provide intense racing with Jason Griffin and Chris Jarvis trading wins all day, but Griffin ultimately finished on top with the overall win and Josh Gleave rounded out the podium.
"It's been a long time since I've been to a race meeting that has inspired people to come and race like the Sultans of Slide has," Motorcycling NSW CEO, Dave Cooke said. "We've got a class, the Multi Open, with most of the field either never having raced or haven't raced for a number of years, and several people who have attended round one and sourced bikes to enter round two because it looked like so much fun! The racing in every class is action-packed and it's great to see so many people really enjoying the sport.

"The club and, in particular, Tony and Greg gave us an incredible race track, with more than one racer commenting that it was the best prepared track they've seen in Australia, so thank you to all those that worked so hard to make it what it was. We've now seen racing on two very different track surfaces ‰ÛÒ with Kempsey, an oil track, set to give us a third ‰ÛÒ and the racing continues to be absolutely incredible. I honestly can't wait to get to the track this weekend to see how the action unfolds and to see who is going to take home the $12,000 in cash and prizes up for grabs for the top three in every class!"

The final round of the Sultans of Slide, on the well-known Macleay oil track this Saturday, December 7, is sure to offer racers yet another challenge as they once again race over two track layouts and reverse grids in the final round.
Championship Standings:

Max Whale - 50 pts
Michael Kirkness - 44 pts
Jarred Brook - 40 pts

Daniel Yarnold - 50 pts
James Sawdy - 40 pts
Jarred Loveday - 38 pts

Clubman Open
Jason Griffin - 47 pts
Aaron Statham - 43 pts
Christopher Jarvis - 42 pts

Multi Open
Max Whale - 50 pts
Tom Edwards - 44 pts
Jamie Portelli - 30 pts

Junior Lites
Tom Drane - 50 pts
Alex Wallace - 42 pts
Daniel Kennedy - 38 pts

John Kennedy - 45 pts
James Wood - 38 pts
Jock Hulland - 38 pts

Sam Drane - 50 pts
Viv Muddle - 40 pts
Billy Clark - 40 pts

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past


Australia Allocated Five 2024 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Qualifying Spots


De Carli Racing Extend Contract With GasGas

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

There are no events available at the moment