Maxima Hero Image

Off Road

AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed


AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed
This weekend is decider time for the competitors of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC), as this Saturday marks the beginning of the final two Rounds ‰ÛÒ Rounds 11 & 12 at Omeo (August 5-6), of what has been a season of standout performances and thrilling spectacles.

The battle for this year‰Ûªs AORC class championships has been hotly contested and several riders have placed themselves in commanding positions in the lead up to the final two rounds. Consistency has certainly been key this year and several riders have dominated in class. Fan‰Ûªs will flock to Omeo in Victoria with plenty excitement to see who will reign supreme.

Yamaha‰Ûªs Hot Title favourite - E1
Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team‰Ûªs Wil Ruprecht is on the precipice of winning a title straight out of the blocks in his debut year in E1. Ruprecht has been back and forth with Snap Fitness Yamaha Team‰Ûªs Scott Keegan but the situation turned in Ruprecht‰Ûªs favour back at Kyogle (Rounds 9 & 10). This weekend there are still 50 points up for grabs, however if Ruprecht can keep the consistency we have seen throughout this season so far, he will be crossing the finishing line as E1 champion. Currently, 33 points separate the two heading into the final rounds.

Ruprecht shared; ‰ÛÏWe‰Ûªve really got the Yamaha dialled in at the moment, we just have to maintain our consistency and secure that title. Our form has been really strong recently. Unfortunately, Scott (Keegan) suffered a retirement late in the day on Saturday back at Kyogle, which has hurt his title fight. It‰Ûªs not a way you want to win a championship and it's unfair for Scott but you have to take these results when they come your way."
AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed
Wil Ruprecht. Credit: John Pearson
The Undefeated Master - E2
KTM Enduro Team‰Ûªs Daniel Milner has proven to be an unstoppable force towards a dominating title win in class. Milner has yet to lose in AORC in 2017 and if he maintains his blistering form, Milner will be tough to beat. Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team's Josh Green would love nothing more to stop the Milner onslaught, and will be eager to get on the winners board before the season is out.

Milner stated; ‰ÛÏI‰Ûªm now 28 points up, so I‰Ûªve just got to finish well in the next rounds and I‰Ûªll have a championship. But it‰Ûªs never over ‰Û÷til the fat lady sings' so I‰Ûªll go home and keep doing my work and see what happens.‰Û
AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed
Daniel Milner.
Down to the Wire - E3
The battle between Husqvarna Enduro Team‰Ûªs Lachy Stanford and KTM Enduro Team‰Ûªs Lyndon Snodgrass has been one of the most epic and tightly contested all year. Although results have seemed to have swayed towards Stanford in recent races, Snodgrass is not a force to be underestimated. Under the influence of Team Manager Glenn Kearney, Snodgrass has experience and expertise in his corner. Stanford will be confident in the fact that Omeo‰Ûªs terrains will likely suit Stanford‰Ûªs smooth style. Six points separate Stanford and Snodgrass.

Stanford explained; ‰ÛÏWe came into the Kyogle rounds tied on points with (Lyndon) and we‰Ûªve managed to come out on top. Apparently Omeo will feature plenty of grass track terrain so hopefully that will work in my favour. We‰Ûªve got to just keep tinkering away at the championship. The objective is to collect as many wins as possible for the last two rounds.‰Û
AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed
Lachy Stanford. Credit: John Pearson
Battle of the Rising Stars - Transmoto EJ
The Under 19‰Ûªs Transmoto EJ class will be focused on the battle between Fraser Higlett and Michael Driscoll for the title. As it stands, only two points separate the pair heading into the final rounds! There is plenty of intrigue to see whether Motocross star turned Enduro rider Driscoll can win in his first full season of AORC, or will the established Higlett remain cool and collected to become champion? It‰Ûªs all to play for!

"ts very close between Michael (Driscoll) and I, we‰Ûªre constantly battling back and forth for the championship lead," Higlett said. "If I drop off even slightly, Michael will make me pay for my mistakes. It's great to have the rivalry there and I‰Ûªm glad to be on top of the standings heading into the last race.
AORC‰Ûªs 2017 Title Favorites Analysed
Fraser Higlett. Credit: John Pearson
As the season decider draws closer with only two days until the riders hit the track, Omeo will be packed with anticipation for Rounds 11 & 12 of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship.

The AORC invites you to join us at the 2017 AORC Presentation Dinner ‰ÛÒ Night of Nights. On 6th August 2017, the AORC will celebrate its year and the Champions of the year for 2017.

Main Photo: Current Seniors Championship Leaders
Credit: John Pearson Media:

Yamaha AORC Championship Standings

1 Wil RUPRECHT (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team) - 189 Points
2 Scott KEEGAN (Snap Fitness Yamaha Team) - 156 Points
3 Brad HARDAKER - 138 Points
4 Baylee DAVIES - 133 Points
5 Jack SIMPSON - 131 Points
6 Justin PARKER - 80 Points
7 Kristian SPRENGER - 56 Points
8 Andrew JANKE - 55 Points
9 Tom JONES - 40 Points
10 Geoff BRAICO - 34 Points

1 Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Team) - 200 Points
2 Josh GREEN (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team) - 172 Points
3 Riley GRAHAM -159 Points
4 Stefan GRANQUIST - 140 Points
5 Broc GRABHAM - 98 Points
6 Andrew WILKSCH (DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) - 97 Points
7 Kaleb TREASURE - 68 Points
8 Matt MURRY - 53 Points
9 Daniel COLLINS - 41 Points
10 Cameron BINSTEAD - 38 Points

1 Lachlan STANFORD (Husqvarna Enduro Team) - 191 Points
2 Lyndon SNODGRASS (KTM Enduro Team) - 185 Points
3 Tom MASON - 158 Points
4 Jesse LAWTON - 101 Points
5 Beau RALSTON - 36 Points
6 Kane HALL - 36 Points
7 Joel JAMES - 34 Points
8 Lincoln BIRD - 33 Points
9 Hayden CONROY - 32 Points
10 Troy SHERIDAN - 30 Points

1 Fraser HIGLETT - 185 Points
2 Michael DRISCOLL - 183 Points
3 Nic TOMLINSON - 158 Points
4 Dalton JOHNSON - 138 Points
5 Lachlan ALLAN - 99 Points
6 Jonte REYNDERS - 97 Points
7 Seton BROOMHALL - 96 Points
8 Jacob PEACOCK - 93 Points
9 Jack MATTHEWS - 58 Points
10 Harry TEED - 53 Points

Share Article:

Action Sports Decals

More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Jed Beaton Still Not One Hundred Percent But Shows Pace At The MXGP Of Indonesia


Mitch Evans Gains Momentum With Best Result Of the Year At the MXGP of Indonesian


Wil Ruprecht Wins Drama-Filled Day Two At FIM EnduroGP Of Italy


Tim Gajser and Tom Vialle Domiante The MXGP of Indonesia


Aaron Tanti And Wilson Todd Continue ProMX Dominance As Ty Kean Notches Up First Win


Anders Thomsen Claims First FIM Speedway Grand Prix Win


2022 Fullnoise / FLY RACING Race Results, ProMX Round Five - Maitland, NSW


Victory For Josep Garcia On Day One At WPTGlobal EnduroGP of Italy


FIM World Supercross Championship Unveils New Logo


Ryder DiFrancesco to make AMA Pro Motocross Championship Debut


Maitland Sets The Stage For Second Half Of 2022 ProMX Championship


MDK Motorsports Added To The 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship Roster

What's On This Week

FIM Motocross World Championship - Round 13
MXGP of Jakarta (INA) - Jakarta
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship - Round 5
Redbud National - Buchanan, MI
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022


Hands-On With The Stark Varg Electric Motocross Bike

MTX Sprockets and XAM Chains

Is The Motocross Future Now With Stark Varg?

Fusport XP2 Review

Under or Over – We pit Fly Racing’s Revel Race Roost Guard against the Fly Barricade Zip Vest.

Into the Night – Part Two

What's On This Week

FIM Motocross World Championship - Round 13
MXGP of Jakarta (INA) - Jakarta
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship - Round 5
Redbud National - Buchanan, MI
Sunday, July 3rd, 2022