Adelaide Motocross season off to hot start

Author: Craig Wasley


Tea Tree Gully Motor Cycle Club held their premier meeting of the year, the TTG Masters, as the opening event on the South Australian motocross season for 2008.
Masters winner Luke Blesing. Photo: Craig Wasley
A two day event saw the minis run on Saturday as support for the big bikes on the Sunday to compete for the annual grand prize of the Masters amongst the hills of the summer parched SA countryside. It's normally warm at the event as it's the end of the summer but with temperatures touching the 40 degree mark all weekend, the organisers were doing double time to keep the track under control with the dust. The riders were doing it tuff also, trying to keep cool in the scorching heat, before they went out onto to the track to give their last breath of energy to compete. Advice from the Ambo's to the race organisers had the club decide to cancel the last round of racing. Riders were able to get a practice round plus 3 race rounds in, then pack up and get going before the hottest part of the day to allow everyone to get some relief. Saturday's programme had races in the tiny-tackers 50cc demo class through to the 85cc/150F big wheel under 15years class. Seigah Ward (85cc 9-11 yrs) was the most dominant winner on the day, clearly winning his class. Best battle on the day was in the 65cc 10-12 yrs between Joshua Watson and Michael Finn who swapped lead position all day. Best effort was by Michael Paddick in the last race of the day in the 85cc/150F 13-15 yrs class . Michael threw away the lead on the 1st lap after crashing through the stutters and re-joined the race in next to last position. A great flat out ride by Paddick over the remaining 3 laps was a great spectacle and just missed out on 3rd place in that race by a couple of bike lengths. Sunday's forecast was to be even hotter that the day before and all that turned up were expecting the racing to be equally as hot. Classes from 125cc 13-15 yrs through to the Expert Open were run with the final race being the TTG Masters trophy event. The Masters is a 4x4lap event with only a few minutes between heats and points being accrued over the 4 final races to produce the eventual winner.
Despite the oppressing heat a good time was had. Photo: Craig Wasley
Strong racing was seen in all classes with the best battles coming from Steve Pontin, Tom Jones and Kirk Gibbs in the Expert Open class. Kirk Gibbs again rode a double stint and fronted up in the Expert Lites class. Clear winner on the day in the 125cc/250F class was Sam Curnow. With the heat again soaring to the 40 degree mark, a decision was again made by the club to end the meeting a round early and to run the Masters event as a single race in a dash for cash. Luke Blesing battled the heat and dust to claim the title as the 2008 Master. Well done to the club for doing a great job of keeping on top of the dust as best they could and for having the best interest of the riders in mind to run the event as quickly as they could and get everyone out of the heat. Mian Photo: Kirk Gibbs took out two classes Credit: Craig Wasley MASTERS RESULTS
1st # 379 Luke Blesing
2nd # 711 Darren Averay
3rd # 123 Dylan Weatherley
4th # 232 Jason Raymont
5th # 185 Travis Paddick
6th # 101 Kane Kilpatrick


Junior 125/250F
1st # 78 Sam Curnow
2nd # 60 Jake Henderson
3rd # 183 Rhyce Ahola

Expert Lite
1st # 56 Kirk Gibbs
2nd # 21 Jesse Paech
3rd # 22 Matt Clarke

Expert Open
1st # 56 Kirk Gibbs
2nd # 81 Tom Jones
3rd # 99 Steve Pontin

1st # 612 Lucy Rzeskowski
2nd # 401 Kristy Schultz


85cc/150F 12-15 yrs
1st #29 Kurt Waterman
2nd # 255 Michael Paddick
3rd # 240 Jack Georgiou

85cc 9-11 yrs
1st # 56 Seigah Ward
2nd # 699 Daniel Henry
3rd # 92 Jai Waterman

50cc Div 2
1st # 666 Mitch Simpson
2nd # 94 Jack Sutherland
3rd # 777 Jacob Rillotta

65cc 10-12 yrs
1st # 697 Joshua Watson
2nd # 123Michael Finn
3rd # 114 Amy Bartsch
65cc 7-9 yrs
1st # 619 Luke Cirelli
2nd # 168 Nicholas Day
3rd # 455 Olly Simpson

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


CFMOTO Launches New Microsite Dedicated To Its Expansive 450cc Line-Up


Guillem Farres' Season Over As A Result Of A Serious Training Crash Injury


Factory Honda In Winning Early Season Form At Sunshine State Championships

Dirt Track

2024 NSW Dirt Track Season Lifts Off At Somersby Super TT Meeting


World Champion Max Anstie Secures 2024 East Coast Supercross Championship Red Plate


Jed Beaton Tops The Podium At 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships Round Two


Cooper Webb And Haiden Deegan Win Drama-Filled Arlington Supercross


Billy Bolt's FIM SuperEnduro Win Streak Continues In Bulgaria


Shoulder Injury Rules Evan Ferry Out Of Arlington Supercross


Christian Craig To Sit Out Arlington Supercross


Mattia Guadagnini Joins The Early Season Injury List


Jake Cannon Signs With Factory Honda

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024


First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

What's On This Week

Wild Boar, Palatka, FL
Monday, March 4th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 8
Daytona International Speedway -Daytona Beach, FL
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024
FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R7
GP UK, Newcastle
Saturday, March 2nd, 2024