A4DE Day 1: Milner steals day one spoils at 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro


Once again Victoria blessed riders, teams and spectators of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro with the sunshine as day one of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro officially kicked off today in Merrijig, rural Victoria.

The picturesque landscape played host to over 120 competitors around trails, before they tested their machines, and their speed in six timed tests to determine who would be the fastest rider on day one.

Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team and one off French competitor, Mathias Bellino (10th ‰ÛÒ 7:04.403), was the first rider to leave the first test this morning, and although he looked to have the speed a small crash allowed competitors to relegate him in positions at the conclusion of test one.

Motul Pirelli Sherco Racing Team‰Ûªs Matthew Phillips (23rd ‰ÛÒ 7:18.127) also looked to be the favourite today but he too suffered a crash in the first test allowing Yamaha‰Ûªs Daniel Milner (6:46.349) to take the early lead, followed by team mate CDR Yamaha‰Ûªs Chris Hollis (6:48.410), while Husqvarna mounted Lachlan Stanford (6:58.506) pinched third.
Josh Green leads the in the E1 and sits in 4th outright. Credit: John Pearson
The Yamaha test was next for riders and having already had the chance to ride the Yamaha test in yesterday‰Ûªs Prologue it was all too familiar allowing fast times to come. Bellino this time was victorious showing that the track suited his riding style very much.

Mathias (7:41.751) once again dominated the third test. Milner (7:42.276) and Josh Green (7:45.052) followed suit in second and third respectively. With three tests to go it was anyone‰Ûªs guess who would wrap up day one in the top position. Competitors both battling it out on the Beta and Husqvarna tests before the final Yamaha test.

By the afternoon the temperature had reach a hot 29 degrees and after a hard morning of tails and tests the fatigue was starting to show in riders. At the last control, before the final Yamaha test and work period, it allowed the competitors recharge with water and food before a hard last charge to the finish line for day one.

The dust had picked up and with only a 15 second gap between riders it was becoming quite challenging to navigate the final test of the day. However, showing much strength and proving why he is previous A4DE Champion four years running, Milner finished the final test out in front with a time of 2 minutes 11.606 seconds.

With all the times collated over six tests throughout the day, Yamaha mounted Milner did all it took to secure the fastest overall time for day one outright and in his E2 class with a total time of 28:21.901. Second and third outright were stolen by Hollis (28:34.686) and Bellino (28:35.926) respectively.

The Championship E1 class was won by Active8 Yamaha Yamalube‰Ûªs Josh Green with an overall time across his five tests of 28 minutes 40.463 seconds. Milner was the fastest E2 rider, while Daniel Sanders secured an overall time of 29:50.852 making him the fastest E3 rider today.
Tayla Jones heads the way in the Women's class. Credit: John Pearson
Tayla Jones stole the show today in the women‰Ûªs class with an overall time of 30:56.816 in front of Jemma Wilson (32:26.101) and Jessica Gardiner (33:29.896).

Day one proved valuable for Dylan Rees who secured himself the ideal start to the Four Days Enduro event in the Veterans class. Rees pushed his machine home with a fastest time of 30 minutes and 12.317 seconds.

Masters competitor David Fleming also showed he had the pace today after running his machine through the dust, creek crossings and through the heat to secure a fastest time of 31 minutes and 20.628 seconds in front of his fellow competitors today at the Yamaha A4DE.

Today‰Ûªs leading state Senior Trophy Team was New South Wales comprising of Green, Hollis, Glenn Kearney, Stefan Granqvist, Nic Tomlinson and Tye Simmonds. The New South Wales Junior Trophy State Team also leading after day one of competition with Tom Kite, Wil Ruprecht, Ben Kearns and Broc Grabham leading the team.

NSW women‰Ûªs team steered by Jessica Gardiner and Tayla Jones are currently leading the Women‰Ûªs Trophy team after day one.

Tomorrow will mark day two for the riders, teams and spectators of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro, where once again competitors will put to the test of speed in both trails and tests throughout the long and treacherous day.

Main Photo: CDR Yamaha's Daniel Milner
Credit: T. Spragg.

*All results from Day one of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Four Days Enduro are provisional

Full results can be found here

Yamaha A4DE top ten outright day one results:
Daniel Milner (E2)28:21.901
Chris Hollis (E2) 28:21. 686
Mathias Bellino (E2) 28:35.926
Josh Green (E1) 28:40.463
Daniel Sanders (E3) 28:57.050
Lachlan Stanford (E3)29:04.712
Glenn Kearney (E1) 29:06.536
Matt Phillips (E2) 29:14.330
Lyndon Snodgrass (E3) 29:25.354
Jack Simpson (E1) 29:06.536

Yamaha A4DE top five day one E1 results:
Josh Green 28:40.463
Glenn Kearney 29:06.536
Jack Simpson 29:26.396
Riley Graham 29:27.185
Stefan Granqvist 29:35.763

Yamaha A4DE top five day one E2 results:
Daniel Milner 28:21.901
Chris Hollis 28:21. 686
Mathias Bellino 28:35.926
Matt Phillips 29:14.330
Peter Boyle29:34.103

Yamaha A4DE top five day one E3 results:
Daniel Sanders 28:57.050
Lachlan Stanford 29:04.712
Lyndon Snodgrass 29:25.354
Christopher Davey 29:45.003
Tom Mason 30:07.597

Yamaha A4DE top five day one Women‰Ûªs results:
Tayla Jones 30:56.816
Jemma Wilson 32:26.101
Jess Gardiner 33:29.896
Emelie Karlsson 33:57.902
Sophie Coldicultt 34:10.138

Yamaha A4DE top five day one Veteran‰Ûªs results:
Dylan Rees 30:12.317
Damian Smith 30:47.781
Kirk Hutton 30:52.148
Brandon Kienhuis 31:57.369
Rowan Pumpa32:00.105

Yamaha A4DE top five day one Master‰Ûªs results:
David Fleming 31:20.628
Brett Steel 33:35.519
Fred Patterson 33:45.233
Mark Peacock 34:02.057
Jason Salopayevs 34:35.599

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Team HRC Part Company With Roan van de Moosdijk

Off Road

Jess Gardiner and Danielle McDonald Trade Wins At Mt Misery


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024