2018 Australian Speedway Sidecar Championships take over Oakburn Park Speedway


Australia's fastest senior and junior speedway sidecar racers are ready to duke it out for the 2018 titles.
The 2018 Australian Senior and Junior Speedway Sidecar Championships are ready to roar this weekend, with Australia‰Ûªs best Speedway Sidecar competitors battling it out at Oakburn Park Speedway, April 13-14.

Reigning champions Trent Headland / Darryl Whetstone are back to defend their title against a star studded field.

The talent packed field will be out to chase down the defending champions Headland and Whetstone, including 2018 FIM World Cup and FIM Oceania Championship winners Darrin Treloar/ Jesse Headland alongside Andrew Buchanan / Denny Cox and Warren Monson / Andrew Summerhayes.

A few familiar names will be back in the Junior field after a one-year hiatus from the Australian Speedway Sidecars Championship, with the likes of Jack Treloar, Adam Niesche and Nate Headland battling out to take home the Junior Australian Championship.

2017 defending champion Headland can‰Ûªt wait to get out there and defend the title; ‰ÛÏWe are pumped Darryl and I are excited to defend the title, everything has been going well for us off the track and we have got our engine sorted for the Aussie titles, so we are ready for this weekend‰Ûªs racing.

‰ÛÏIt‰Ûªs even better this year to have the Juniors running alongside us, the young guys look up to the senior riders and now for them to compete for the same championship at the same track is just ideal," finished Headland.

The 2018 Australian Speedway Sidecar Championship, will see a new race format this year with a time trial introduced for the seniors, ahead of a qualifying race prior to the main championship race.

Oakburn Park‰Ûªs Paul Slade sharing; ‰ÛÏIn a first for the Australian Championship, a new initiative of time trial is being introduced. Paving the way for over 50 nominations, which is a record for Australian Speedway. Riders will be given three flying laps, to set their fastest time, with the top eight going through the qualifying race.‰Û

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023