2017 Monster Energy Supercross Facts and Figures – Race 1 Anaheim, CA


The 2017 season opener fittingly serves as the championship‰Ûªs most prestigious race, with a storied history in Anaheim that dates back to 1976.

This will be the 69th race held inside Angel Stadium, which has hosted more supercross races than any venue and serves as the proverbial home of the sport. It has been the site of the opening round in 27 seasons.

Anaheim has now hosted a stop of the championship for 37 of the 43 seasons in history, including the last 19 straight. It‰Ûªs also the only venue in the championship where all six competing manufacturers have won.

Sitting in the heart of Southern California, Angel Stadium is within an hour drive of the U.S. racing operations for all six competing manufacturers as well as the headquarters for title sponsor Monster Energy.

450SX Class Stats: Anaheim Season Opener

The first Anaheim season opener held for the 450SX Class was on January 31, 1981. Kent Howerton won on a Suzuki.

Of the 18 different Anaheim opener winners in history, seven were able to ultimately win the championship. Winning the opener has led to a title just nine times in 26 seasons (35%).

Despite three career World Championships to his credit, reigning back-to-back titleholder Ryan Dungey has never won the season opening race. Coincidentally, neither did five-time champion Ricky Carmichael.

Last season Jason Anderson became the eighth rider in history to earn his first career 450SX Class win at the Anaheim opener. He also gave Husqvarna its first 450SX Class victory.

Ken Roczen will look to join Chad Reed and James Stewart as the only three-time Anaheim opener winners. If successful, Roczen will have earned his victories aboard three different brands.

Yamaha has the most Anaheim opener wins of any brand with nine. That accounts for nearly half of the brand‰Ûªs 20 all-time wins at Angel Stadium.

Anaheim Season Opener Wins by Brand (Last Win)
Yamaha: 9 (2010)
Honda: 7 (2005)
Kawasaki: 5 (2012)
Suzuki: 3 (2015)
Husqvarna: 1 (2016)
KTM: 1 (2014)

First-Time Winners at Anaheim Season Opener
1982: Donnie Hansen
1983: David Bailey
1984: Johnny O'Mara
1990: Damon Bradshaw
2003: Chad Reed
2009: Josh Grant
2014: Ken Roczen
2016: Jason Anderson

Anaheim Season Opener Wins
Chad Reed: 3
James Stewart: 3
David Bailey: 2
Jeremy McGrath: 2
Ken Roczen: 2
Ryan Villopoto: 2
Jason Anderson: 1
Damon Bradshaw: 1
Josh Grant: 1
Donnie Hansen: 1
Kent Howerton: 1
Rick Johnson: 1
Ezra Lusk: 1
Davi Millsaps: 1
Johnny O‰ÛªMara: 1
David Vuillemin: 1
Jeff Ward: 1
Kevin Windham: 1

250SX Class Stats: Anaheim Season Opener

The first Anaheim season opener held for the 250SX Class was on January 18, 1986. Tyson Vohland won on a Kawasaki for his one and only career victory.

The 2017 season opener will be the 61st time the 250SX Class has competed in Anaheim, the most of any stadium in supercross history. Angel Stadium has hosted the opening round 21 times.

The winner of the Anaheim season opener has gone on to win the Western Regional 250SX Class title just eight times in 21 seasons (39%).

A total of 18 different riders have won the Anaheim season opener, with just three riders earning multiple wins ‰ÛÒ Jeff Matiasevich (‰Ûª87 & ‰Ûª89), Travis Preston (‰Ûª02-‰Ûª03), and Jake Weimer (‰Ûª09-‰Ûª10).

A total of five riders have earned their first career victory by winning the Anaheim season opener, but it‰Ûªs happened just once (Jessy Nelson in 2015) in the past 16 seasons.

In the 21 seasons that both the 250SX & 450SX classes have opened in Anaheim just one rider has been able to claim a win in each division ‰ÛÒ Ryan Villopoto.

Anaheim Season Opener Wins by Brand (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 9 (2011)
Honda: 5 (2013)
KTM: 3 (2015)
Yamaha: 3 (2016)
Suzuki: 1 (2008)

First-Time Winners at Anaheim Season Opener
1986: Tyson Vohland
1987: Jeff Matiasevich
1990: Michael Craig
1999: Casey Johnson
2015: Jessy Nelson

Anaheim Season Opener Wins
Jeff Matiasevich: 2
Travis Preston: 2
Jake Weimer: 2
Jason Anderson: 1
Michael Craig: 1
Ryan Dungey: 1
Ernesto Fonseca: 1
Josh Hansen: 1
Casey Johnson: 1
Jessy Nelson: 1
Nathan Ramsey: 1
Cole Seely: 1
Andrew Short: 1
Ivan Tedesco: 1
Eli Tomac: 1
Ryan Villopoto: 1
Tyson Vohland: 1

Main Photo: 2016 450SX class winner Jason Anderson

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


José Ignacio Cornejo Signs With Hero MotoSports Team Rally

AMA Supercross

Jett Lawrence And RJ Hampshire Back On Top At Nashville Supercross

Off Road

Wrap Up Of 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Four

AMA Supercross

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Extends Aaron Plessinger Contract Into 2025 Season

Off Road

Wrapup From 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship Round Three

AMA Supercross

The Emergency Department - 2024 AMA Supercross - Seattle Rnd 10

AMA Supercross

Aaron Plessinger Forced To Sit Out Remainder Of The 2024 Supercross Season


Hamish Harwood Overcomes Hardship To Claim The 2024 New Zealand Motocross Championships


Jed Beaton Wins The Final Battle But Loses The War At NZ Motocross Championships

Dirt Track

Juniors Impress Again At The 2024 New South Wales Junior Dirt Track Championship


Steve Holcombe Edges Out Andrea Verona For EnduroGP Day Two Victory In Valpacos


Jorge Prado And Liam Everts Rise To The Top At MXGP of Trentino

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024


Time to Pivot with Pivot Pegz?

First Look At The All New 2024 Beta 450RX

2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

What's On This Week

Hoosier, Crawford, IN
Sunday, April 28th, 2024
AMA Supercross Round 15
Lincoln Financial Field - Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, April 27th, 2024