2016 Speedway GP Rider Numbers Confirmed


World champion Tai Woffinden retains No.108 for his title defence as the 2016 FIM Speedway Grand Prix riding numbers are revealed.

The Great Britain star becomes the second straight world champion to elect not to wear the No.1 race jacket after 2014 champion Greg Hancock raced with his famous No.45 this year.

Woffinden opted to ride as No.1 after winning his first World Championship in 2013. But he sticks with the number gleaned from his date of birth ‰ÛÒ August 10 ‰ÛÒ this time around.

KjÌ_rgaard Danish SGP winner Peter Kildemand lines up with his own No.25 for his full SGP debut season in 2016 after great success in the No.19 first-reserve race jacket that carried him to ninth spot this year.

His fellow wild card Antonio Lindback is No.85, while GP Challenge winner Bartosz Zmarzlik chose No.95 ‰ÛÒ meaning both men picked their year of birth.

Polish qualifier Piotr Pawlicki lines up in the highest riding number of all after choosing No.777.

All of the other rider numbers are unchanged. Hancock retains No.45 in homage to American icon Bruce Penhall.

Triple world champion Nicki Pedersen remains as No.3 after opting to use his ranking number once again ‰ÛÒ making him the only full-time SGP rider without a personal riding number.

Niels-Kristian Iversen, whose lucky number is eight, goes for No.88 and Aussie champ Jason Doyle sticks with No.69.

Slovenian star Matej Zagar, born on May 5, goes for No.55, while Maciej Janowski remains No.71.

Former world champion Chris Holder sticks with No.23 ‰ÛÒ the number he was given in his junior racing days ‰ÛÒ and Andreas Jonsson keeps No.100. Britain‰Ûªs Chris Harris retains No.37, his late father Cedric‰Ûªs grasstrack number, while Jaroslaw Hampel is still No.33.

In a first for 2016, the series reserves have also been able to pick their riding numbers. First reserve Fredrik Lindgren dons his No.66, while Michael Jepsen Jensen keeps No.52.

Third stand-in Vaclav Milik from the Czech Republic opted not to select a riding number and is allocated his ranking number, No.21.

2016 FIM SPEEDWAY GRAND PRIX RIDING NUMBERS (with ranking number in brackets):
108 (1) Tai Woffinden (Great Britain)
45 (2) Greg Hancock (United States)
3 (3) Nicki Pedersen (Denmark)
88 (4) Niels-Kristian Iversen (Denmark)
69 (5) Jason Doyle (Australia)
55 (6) Matej Zagar (Slovenia)
71 (7) Maciej Janowski (Poland)
23 (8) Chris Holder (Australia)
25 (9) Peter Kildemand (Denmark)
100 (10) Andreas Jonsson (Sweden)
37 (11) Chris Harris (Great Britain)
33 (12) Jaroslaw Hampel (Poland)
95 (13) Bartosz Zmarzlik (Poland)
777 (14) Piotr Pawlicki (Poland)
85 (15) Antonio Lindback (Sweden)

66 (19) Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden)
52 (20) Michael Jepsen Jensen (Denmark)
21 (21) Vaclav Milik (Czech Republic)

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

Flat Track

Trackmasters Meeting To Honour Names From The Past

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023