2016 Dakar Schedule

Author: Aaryn Minerds


Below is a quick daily guide to the 2016 Dakar that is will be held across Bolivia and Argentina, starting late this evening Australian time.

With two days of Administrative and technical checks out of the way, the official starting podium in Buenos Aires will take place in a few hours followed by this years prologue before racing officially kicks off tomorrow, starting from Buenos Aires.

Riders will then spend two weeks tackling over 9000km of terrain from Argentina up to the top of Bolivia before returning to Argentina for the big finish in Rosario on the 16th of January.
Program of the 2016 Dakar:
31/12 and 01/01: Administrative and technical checks
02/01: Start podium in Buenos Aires / Prologue / Liaison to Bivouac "0" close to Rosario
03/01: Buenos Aires - Villa Carlos Paz
04/01: Villa Carlos Paz - Termas de RÌ_o Hondo
05/01: Termas de RÌ_o Hondo - Jujuy
06/01: Jujuy - Jujuy
07/01: Jujuy - Uyuni
08/01: Uyuni - Uyuni
09/01: Uyuni - Salta
10/01: Rest day in Salta
11/01: Salta - Bel̩n
12/01: Bel̩n - Bel̩n
13/01: Bel̩n - La Rioja
14/01: La Rioja - San Juan
15/01: San Juan - Villa Carlos Paz
16/01: Villa Carlos Paz - Rosario

Australian Riders to Watch in 2016:
#3 Toby Price KTM - Bikes

After having a handful of Aussie competitors to follow in recent years, Australian Dakar fans have just the one rider to cheer on in 2016, with Toby Price the only Australian in the entire field of both Bike and Quad riders this year.

After finishing third in his debut Dakar last year, the current Australian AORC champion is considered one of the big favourites to win the bike class in this years event and will have the entire nation following his every move.

As we have done for more than ten years now, Fullnoise.com.au will have daily updates and results from this years event.

Share Article:


More News: Latest Headlines

More News: Latest Headlines


Standing Construct Honda MXGP Signs Alberto Forato

Dirt Track

Stars Align For The 2023 Corbett’s Group North Brisbane Cup


MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado Confirmed For First Three AMA Supercross Rounds Of 2024


Kirk Gibbs And Byron Dennis Lead Revamped GASGAS Racing PROMX Team

Off Road

Dates Locked In For The 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship


Post-Race Interviews From The Final Round Of The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship

New Model

Triumph Motorcycles Unveil TF 250-X Details


Luke Clout Saves Best For Last At 2023 Australian Supercross Championship Finale

Flat Track

New Names Adorne Memorial Trophies At The 2023 Trackmasters


Ken Roczen And Max Anstie Crowned FIM World Supercross Champions


Billy Bolt Dominates 2024 SuperEnduro Championship Opener In France


Dean Wilson And Max Anstie Crowned 2023 Australian Supercross Champions

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023
Zeta Hero


2024 Yamaha YZ250F Review

Enhance Your Bike’s Protection With Force Accessories Custom Clutch Cover

2023 Sherco 300 SE Factory Ride Review

Michelin StarCross 6 – Inspected

Drink Wirelessly with SoleStream

Recover Better With Endurance Recovery Boots

What's On This Week

FIM SuperEnduro World Championship - R2
GP Poland, Krakow
Saturday, December 9th, 2023