Click for more information
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







Arenacross
Kyle Regal Earns First Overall Victory of 2015
25th Jan, 2015
Speedway
Darrin Treloar and Mick Headland Join Packed Programme At Mark Lemon Farewe..
25th Jan, 2015
AMA Pro
Round 4 AMA Supercross Highlights From Oakland
25th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
Trey Canard Leads Home Dungey and Reed At Oakland
25th Jan, 2015
Arenacross
Jacob Hayes Wins Night One in Colorado Springs
25th Jan, 2015
General
Ricky Carmichael Set To Be Inducted To American Motorsports Hall Of Fame
24th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
Red Bull KTM's Dean Wilson Sidelined With Knee Injury
24th Jan, 2015
Motocross
Trio Of Australian Factory KTM Riders Head To Woodville GP
23rd Jan, 2015
Motocross
KTM's Ivan Long And Tye Simmonds Kick Off 2015 At Deep Well
23rd Jan, 2015
Motocross
CDR and New Zealands JCR Yamaha Join Forces For NZ Assault
23rd Jan, 2015
General
Yamaha Australian Institute of Motocross Powers on In 2015
22nd Jan, 2015
Enduro
Wildwood Rock Extreme Enduro Ready To Return Bigger and Better In 2015
22nd Jan, 2015
Freestyle
European FMX Championships Round 3 and 4 Head TO Graz, Austria This Weekend
22nd Jan, 2015
General
Proformance Kawasaki Announce A Three Rider Line-Up For 2015 Season.
21st Jan, 2015
Feature
A WEEK IN MOTION - A collection of the Weeks latest Videos From Arou..
20th Jan, 2015
Dirt Track
Troy Gives His KTM A Fitting Farewell At Bayliss Classic
20th Jan, 2015
Speedway
U21 Aussie Solo Champ Fricke Lines Up to Say Farewell
20th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ken Roczen Aiming To Inch Away With Points Lead After 1-2-1 Start to Season..
20th Jan, 2015
Dirt Track
American Flat-Track Champion Wins The 2015 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Class..
19th Jan, 2015
Rallye
KTM Team Manager Ben Grabham Praises Prices Efforts At Dakar
19th Jan, 2015
Freestyle
Flip Prodigy Petr Pilat Wins His First NIGHT of the JUMPs
19th Jan, 2015
Arenacross
Gavin Faith Captures First Career AMSOIL Arenacross Victory at Second Night..
19th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
Round 3 SX Highlight Video's, Catch all the action from A2
19th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ken Roczen Extends Points Lead With A2 Race Win
19th Jan, 2015
Feature
Monday MOTOBOARD - Fullnoise.com.au's Weekend Results Round-Up
19th Jan, 2015
Freestyle
Ravid Rinaldo Wins Opening European Night Of The Jumps Championship
18th Jan, 2015
Arenacross
Jacob Hayes Emerges Victorious After Wild Opening Night in Grand Rapids
18th Jan, 2015
Rallye
Marc Coma Makes It Five Wins At Dakar, Toby Price Secures an Amazing 3rd Ov..
18th Jan, 2015
AMA Supercross
ALPINESTARS Behind The SXenes EP1 Featuring Aussie Matt Moss
17th Jan, 2015
Rallye
Toby Price consolidates Third Place Overall By Claiming Maiden Stage Victor..
17th Jan, 2015
Feature
THE DIRTY WEEKEND AHEAD The 17th and 18th of January 2015
16th Jan, 2015
Dirt Track
KTM Riders Make Up A Formidable Lineup For Troy Bayliss Classic
16th Jan, 2015
Dirt Track
Husqvarna's Caslick In The Groove Ahead of Bayliss Classic
16th Jan, 2015
General
RIDE WORLD Elements Now Available on Itunes
16th Jan, 2015
Rallye
Barreda Wins Second Straight Stage, Toby Price Moves Into Third
16th Jan, 2015
Feature
TEN YEAR TURN-BACK: 13th of December - 19th of December 2005
15th Jan, 2015
MX Nationals
MX Nationals Set To Stream Live Or On Demand In 2015
15th Jan, 2015
Desert Racing
Matt Jones Motorcycles Announce 2015 Ultimate Finke Experience
15th Jan, 2015
Rallye
Renewed Hopes of Australasian Safari Returning To the East Coast in 2016
15th Jan, 2015
Rallye
Barreda Bounced Back For Stage Win, Price Closes In On Podium
15th Jan, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 5 2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Cha..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


POD K8 Ultimate
Lightweight, pre-preg carbon fibre frames and adjustable cuffs combine with the Human Motion® hinge system to allow you to create your own knee brace. .   View

Ipone Motorcycle Lubricants
NEW Ipone Motorcycle range of lubricant products hit the Australian market. .   View

Dirb It Up
Do it real big - Brad is a multimillionaire and the founder of braaap Motorcycles.   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Force Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kawasaki Australia
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Mcleod Accessories
Moto National Accessories
Mainmoto Imports
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Moto National
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click here for more information