Click for more info

Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







Rallye
Ricky Brabec wins the Sonora Rally in Mexico
25th Mar, 2017
Arenacross
Faith takes back-to-back AMSOIL Arenacross Race to the Ricky Carmichael Cup..
25th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Cobram gearing up to welcome Victoria's top talented juniors
25th Mar, 2017
Enduro
Mathias Bellino sidelined from EnduroGP opener
25th Mar, 2017
Motocross
BCP Pro Circuit Honda gear up for Victorian Motocross Titles opener
24th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Freshly branded MX Live on NRGTV welcomes new face for 2017
23rd Mar, 2017
General
Motorcycling Australia App now available for download!
23rd Mar, 2017
Motocross
Video: Honda's REDefined Episode 3
22nd Mar, 2017
Enduro
Daniel Sanders has eyes on the Enduro 2 Championship prize
22nd Mar, 2017
Motocross
Carglass-Honda Racing signs Dylan Walsh for European 250 Motocross Champion..
22nd Mar, 2017
Enduro
The official KTM Enduro team line-up for 2017 preview video
21st Mar, 2017
Adventure
Second annual KTM Australia Adventure Rallye proves sequels can be better
21st Mar, 2017
Motocross
Tough day out for the Aussies at GP of Patagonia
21st Mar, 2017
Motocross
Gajser and Jonass dominant in Patagonia
20th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Podium run continues for GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing
20th Mar, 2017
Motocross
MXGP of Argentina quick results
20th Mar, 2017
Supercross
Video race highlights and press conference from Indianapolis Monster Energy..
19th Mar, 2017
Enduro
Colton Haaker successfully defends FIM SuperEnduro World Championship
19th Mar, 2017
Arenacross
Gavin Faith Opens AMSOIL Arenacross Race to the Ricky Carmichael Cup with V..
19th Mar, 2017
Supercross
Eli Tomac makes it three in-a-row with Indianapolis win
19th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Gajser and Jonass top qualifying in Argentina
19th Mar, 2017
Motocross
New naming rights partner for SA MX Championship
17th Mar, 2017
Freestyle
Diverse NIGHT of the JUMPs Heads To Krakow
17th Mar, 2017
Off Road
Husqvarna Pours Support Into Domestic Racing
17th Mar, 2017
Off Road
KTM Announces 2-Stroke Fuel Injection Enduro Models For 2018 Line-Up
16th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Luke Styke moving closer to full fitness
15th Mar, 2017
Supercross
Zach Osborne retains red plate despite trying night at Daytona
15th Mar, 2017
Trials
Victory number 50 for Toni Bou in the FIM X-Trial World Championship
15th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Geran Stapleton joins Hogan to coach potential Aussie Champs at Horsham BCP
15th Mar, 2017
Enduro
Gardiner to take on European and French Enduro Championship in 2017
14th Mar, 2017
Supercross
Jeremy Martin impresses in 450SX debut at Daytona Supercross
14th Mar, 2017
Dirt Track
Veteran Paul Caslick wins NSW title at 50!
14th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Dean Ferris surges to championship lead in NZ
14th Mar, 2017
GNCC
Kailub Russell rises to the top at the Moose Racing Wild Boar GNCC
13th Mar, 2017
Off Road
Josh Green - Back Behind Bars
13th Mar, 2017
Motocross
Kirk Gibbs hits his stride with Mountain Man Motocross win
13th Mar, 2017
Motocross
MX Sports Pro Racing and Youthstream Announce Strategic Partnership for USG..
12th Mar, 2017
Motocross
6D Helmets named Motul MX Nationals Official Helmet for 2017
12th Mar, 2017
Arenacross
Herrlein breaks through for first AMSOIL Arenacross victory in New Orleans
12th Mar, 2017
Supercross
Eli Tomac goes back-to-back in Daytona
12th Mar, 2017

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 1 2017 Australian Motocross Championship..
 Round 13 2017 Monster Energy Supercross, an FI..
 Round 4 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship
 Round 3 2017 Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro Seri..
 Round 4 2017 FIM X-Trial World Championship
 Round 3 2017 Belgian National Motocross Champi..
 Round 2 2017 Michelin British MX Nationals
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Zeta - Aluminium foot pegs
Zeta high performance products have added Aluminium foot pegs to their ever expanding range of products.<.   View

THOR PULSE 2017 Limited Edition Race-wear
THOR MX have released their 2017 Limited Edition Range onto the Australian market..   View

Polisport Pit Boards
Link International have announced the release of the Polisport Pit Boards to the Australian market..   View





FULLNOISE CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2017



Click for more info