Click for more info
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to visit Rival Ink Designs






Click here for more info







Feature
The DIRTY WEEKEND AHEAD: 13th and 14th of February 2016
12th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Wrist Surgery sees Jordi Tixier sidelined for opening two MXGP's
12th Feb, 2016
Supercross
2016 Australian Supercross Championship dates confirmed
12th Feb, 2016
Motocross
MX Nationals locked and loaded to make 2016 series announcements
12th Feb, 2016
ATV
CASR researchers urge ATV riders to follow known safety practices
12th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Stefan Everts excited to get the season underway
12th Feb, 2016
Supermotard
Joshua MacLean eyes 2016 AMA Supermoto Championship opener
11th Feb, 2016
Adventure
KTM Australia’s Adventure Training Series Kicks Off In Style
11th Feb, 2016
Desert Racing
Jackie Peacock On A Mission On and Off The Track At 2016 Hattah Desert Race
10th Feb, 2016
Adventure
BMW Motorrad Announce 2016 Safari Dates
10th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Jed Beaton Impresses At Opening Round Of 2016 NZMX Titles
10th Feb, 2016
Trail
Kenda Rally To Hit Victoria's High Country On The 15th of May
10th Feb, 2016
Dirt Track
Young Husqvarna Aces On A Roll In Canberra
10th Feb, 2016
Enduro
Jonny Walker Wins British Extreme Enduro, Round Two
9th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Roczen Ready To Get Back To Work After Celebrating Phoenix Win
9th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Jeremy Van Horebeek Continues Strong Pre Season Form At Lamezia
9th Feb, 2016
Arenacross
Summercross Ready To Roar in to Life At Coastal Park
9th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Strong Suzuki Debut Race For Ben Townley At Hawkstone International
9th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Dunlop Media Motocross Mix Up Featuring Reardon, Evans, Hill
8th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Dean Ferris Admits There Is Still Work To Be Done Despite Timaru Domination
8th Feb, 2016
Motocross
WBR Pro Performance Yamaha Race Team Ready To Launch Into 2016
8th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Todd Waters Takes On The 2016 NZ MX Nationals Rd 1
8th Feb, 2016
Feature
Monday Motoboard - Fullnoise.com.au's Weekly Results Sheet
8th Feb, 2016
Arenacross
Travis Sewell Nearly Perfect En Route to First Career AMSOIL Arenacross Win
7th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Monster Energy SX Round 5 Race Highlights - Catch All the Action From Arizo..
7th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Monster Energy SX - Arizona Podium Talk
7th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Ken Roczen and Christian Craig Break Through To Win In Phoenix
7th Feb, 2016
Motocross
Dean Ferris Sweeps New Zealand MX Opening Round
7th Feb, 2016
Freestyle
Aussie Ryan Brown On Top At 2016 Farm Jam
7th Feb, 2016
Arenacross
Jacob Hayes Extends Points Lead with Second Overall Win
6th Feb, 2016
Arenacross
Gavin Faith Captures Second Overall Win of 2016 AMSOIL Arenacross
5th Feb, 2016
Feature
The DIRTY WEEKEND AHEAD: 6th and 7th of February 2016
5th Feb, 2016
Freestyle
Worlds Best Riders Confirmed for inaugural Australian FMX Grand Prix
5th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Blake Baggett and Trey Canard To Sit Out Arizona
5th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Mellross To Carry The Flag For 51Fifty Energy After Bell Injures Shoulder
4th Feb, 2016
Motocross
GO Girls is Go In Queensland For 2016
4th Feb, 2016
Freestyle
2016 Farm Jam To Be Dedicated To The Memory Of Kelly McGarry
4th Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
James Stewart Sidelined Indefinitely
3rd Feb, 2016
AMA Supercross
Onboard At Oakland SX With Stewart, Seely and Oldenburg
3rd Feb, 2016
General
Motorcycling Australia Rule Change Submissions Now Due
3rd Feb, 2016

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 7 2016 AMA Monster Energy Supercross
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more information






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for the biggest range of tear off's


Click here to visit Click28.com


New USWE Patriot 9 Hydration Packs
USWE have discovered how to stop the ”dancing monkeys” from going bananas on your back. .   View

Introducing the Tractionator Adventure Series by Motoz
The World’s Most Technically Advanced Adventure Tyre.   View

2016 KTM and Kawasaki FunnelWeb Air-Filters
FunnelWeb Filters release their latest air filters for KTM and Kawasaki.   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kessner Motorcycles
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2016



Click for more info