Click for more info

Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to go to Loose Kid Industries






Click here for more info







Motocross
QLD GYTR YJR Run Rampant at Roma Airoh SSMX
1st May, 2017
Supercross
Video highlights and press conference from East Rutherford Monster Energy S..
30th Apr, 2017
Supercross
Dungey grabs crucial Monster Energy Supercross win in East Rutherford
30th Apr, 2017
Supercross
Marvin Musquin re-signs with KTM through to 2019
30th Apr, 2017
Speedway
Vaculik victorious on SGP comeback
30th Apr, 2017
Speedway
Hancock Ready To Take Aim At 5th Speedway World Championship
29th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Colac Ready To Host Victoria's Best Junior Racers
28th Apr, 2017
General
Polisport Win Design Award For New Foldable Bike Stand
28th Apr, 2017
Speedway
Pawlicki Brothers Set To Do Battle in Warsaw
28th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Tanti Shows Potential Despite Opening Moto Crash At Appin
27th Apr, 2017
Motocross
DPH Clean Up After Muddy Appin Adventure and Set Sights on Winton
27th Apr, 2017
Supercross
Supercross Round 16 - East Rutherford : Facts, figures and animated track m..
27th Apr, 2017
Off Road
bLU cRU bring home plenty of Silverware at AORC opener
27th Apr, 2017
Freestyle
It’s Pagès versus the rest of the world at Red Bull X-Fighters
27th Apr, 2017
Speedway
Hancock expects stiff competition in Speedway Grand Prix title fight
27th Apr, 2017
Supercross
Broc Tickle fractures wrist in practice crash
27th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Aussie FIM World Junior Motocross Championship Team Announced
26th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Yamaha Racing round-up and managers review from Appin
26th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Trey Canard Injured While Testing for AMA Pro Motocross Championship
26th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Jay Wilson puts MXGP dream on indefinite hold
26th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Depleted Penrite CRF Honda Racing squad score points at Appin
26th Apr, 2017
Enduro
Matt Phillips reflects on his double WEC round victory in Spain
26th Apr, 2017
Dirt Track
Another Queenslander wins the Casey Stoner Cup
26th Apr, 2017
Freestyle
Melero crowned the NIGHT of the JUMPs King of Munich - Luc Ackermann tragic..
25th Apr, 2017
Off Road
Lachlan Stanford leads Husqvarna charge at AORC opener
25th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Rhys Budd takes second place in 250cc Junior Cup at Appin
25th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Jeffrey Herlings getting back up to speed
25th Apr, 2017
Supercross
Hard work pays off for Justin Hill with 2017 250SX West title
25th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Kevin Strijbos sidelined with an elbow injury
25th Apr, 2017
Off Road
Solid Start for Active8 Yamaha in AORC
25th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Raceline Pirelli KTM riders salvage points at Round 2 of the MX Nationals
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Cody Dyce Delivers Maiden MX Nationals Victory
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Brett Metcalfe making gains in MX Nationals campaign
24th Apr, 2017
GNCC
Kailub Russell Wins CST Tires Camp Coker Bullet GNCC
24th Apr, 2017
Off Road
Strong start for Sherco at Australian Off-Road Championship
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Breakout performance for Serco Yamaha’s Mitch Evans
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Mason Semmens goes 1,1 in Yamaha 250cc Junior Cup opener
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Kyle Peters to keep pushing after tough Appin outing
24th Apr, 2017
Motocross
Kirk Gibbs gains momentum with moto win at Appin
24th Apr, 2017
Off Road
KTM and Daniel Milner kick of AORC campaign ominously
24th Apr, 2017

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 3 2017 Australian Motocross Championship..
 Round 3 2017 Airoh Helmet Gippsland Motocross ..
 Round 3 2017 Michelin British MX Nationals
 Round 6 2017 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Count..
 Round 17 2017 Monster Energy Supercross, an FI..
 Round 7 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship
 Round 4 2017 AMA WMX Championship
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Sherco Enduro Factory Models Arrive in Australia
New 2017 Factory edition Sherco enduro models released to Australian market .   View

Macna Traction Jacket
Link International have to introduced the Traction Jacket.   View

KTM Adventure Range
KTM Adventure Range Coming Fast .   View





FULLNOISE CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2017



Click for more info