Click for more information
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to visit Rival Ink Designs






Click here for more info







AORC
Josh Green Carves Up Corner Inlet On Way To Round Three Victory
18th Apr, 2015
AORC
Toby Price Leads The Way To Hedley
17th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ken Roczen Sidelined From Remaining Three AMA SX Races
17th Apr, 2015
MXGP
Clement Desalle Focused On Maintaining The Red Plate In Italy
17th Apr, 2015
Rallye
Helder Rodrigues Returns to Yamaha
17th Apr, 2015
Motocross
RV vs The World - Episode 1
17th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Davi Millsaps Released From Monster Energy Kawasaki
17th Apr, 2015
AORC
Husqvarna Ready To Tackle First Three Hour Cross Country Of 2015
16th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Behind the Scenes Video with Wilson Penrite Honda's Geran Stapleton
16th Apr, 2015
Motocross
Tarah Gieger Wins California Classic Ahead of Aussie Mackenzie Tricker
16th Apr, 2015
MXGP
Team HRC Ready To Kick off MXGP European Races
16th Apr, 2015
Motocross
Opening Round of Honda 150 European Championship Heads to Italy
16th Apr, 2015
Off Road
Electrical Issues Crush CCR Honda Racings Debut At Condo 750
16th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Penrite Honda: Trial and Tribulation Video - Round 2 MX Nationals
16th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX2 Team Talk - Round 2 Appin, NSW
15th Apr, 2015
General
MA's new Elite Performance Academy Set to Lead the Way In Rider Development
15th Apr, 2015
AORC
Tom Mason Ready For Fun At the VORC Opener On Sunday
15th Apr, 2015
AORC
Hedley Ready To Host Australia's Best At This Weekends AORC Rounds
15th Apr, 2015
Motocross
MV To Credit Senior Riders For Opening Round Of Victorian MX Championship A..
15th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX1 Team Talk - Round 2 Appin, NSW
15th Apr, 2015
Motocross
MXN Round 2 Full 2nd Motos - Catch The Second Moto Action From Appin
14th Apr, 2015
General
Whole Of Motorcycle Sport Review Update
14th Apr, 2015
General
Aleksandr Tonkov To Debut New Husqvarna MX2 Factory Race Bike This Weekend ..
14th Apr, 2015
Motocross
Hugh McKay Joins Proformance Race Team
14th Apr, 2015
GNCC
Josh Strang Second as Kailub Russell Extends Win Streak to Four
13th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
NRGTV Apologises After Bumpy Appin Broadcast
13th Apr, 2015
Arenacross
Kyle Regal Keeps Rolling with Sixth Overall Win of 2015
13th Apr, 2015
Freestyle
Maikel Melero Extends Freestyle World Championship Lead On Night Two In Swi..
12th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Monster Energy Supercross Round 14 Highlights - Catch All The Action From H..
12th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ryan Dungey Secures Second Monster Energy Supercross Championship in Housto..
12th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
CDR Yamaha's Kade Mosig Takes Appin Win As Kirk Gibbs Extends Championship ..
12th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Appin Local Luke Clout Cleans Up At MX Nationals Round 2
12th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Wilson Todd Snares MXD Red Plate With Round Two Victory
12th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Rookie Lawrence Makes it Two From Two At Appin
12th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Watch Round Two Of The 2015 MX Nationals Live Right HERE
12th Apr, 2015
Freestyle
David Rinaldo Wins Opening Night Of The Jumps At The Swiss Grand Prix
11th Apr, 2015
Freestyle
NIGHT of the JUMPs Heads Basel
10th Apr, 2015
General
Penrite Honda Renew Partnership with Jetpilot For 2015
10th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Kirk Gibbs Feeling Fresh And Ready To Carry The Red Plate Into Round 2
10th Apr, 2015
Enduro
Laia Sanz Joins KTM
10th Apr, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 3 2015 MX Nationals
 Round 5 2015 Monster Energy World Motocross Ch..
 Round 16 2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Ch..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


FOX Winter Apparel
FOX Australia have release their 2015 Winter Range Online. .   View

Honda VFR1200X
All-conquering crosstourer returns .   View

Eli Tomac Limited Edition Alpinestars Apparel
Alpinestars have launched a new, limited edition apparel and boot collection in collaboration with the GEICO Honda star .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click here for more information