Click for more info
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to go to Loose Kid Industries






Click here for more info







Motocross
MXGP Regulars and AMA Stars Ready For Charlotte Shootout
1st Sep, 2016
Supermotard
AMA Supermoto National Championship Series heads to Denver, Colorado for pe..
1st Sep, 2016
Motocross
2016 Australian WMX Champion Jess Moore has eyes on European return
1st Sep, 2016
Motocross
Madison Brown earns well-deserved second at Women's MX Nationals
1st Sep, 2016
Motocross
Yamaha Takes WMX Manufacturer Title as Duncan and van de Ven Go 1-2 in Asse..
1st Sep, 2016
Off Road
Penshurst Set To Host AORC Night of Nights
31st Aug, 2016
Motocross
Team HRC Primed For Debut Race Aboard the 2017 CRF450RW This Weekend
31st Aug, 2016
Motocross
Menchi and Rykers take 2016 Jono Porter and Andrew McFarlane awards
31st Aug, 2016
EnduroCross
Colton Haaker Takes Victory At Opening Round Of AMA Endurocross
31st Aug, 2016
Motocross
Duncan wins the battle, Lancelot wins the war
31st Aug, 2016
Motocross
Wade Kirkland gives Raceline Pirelli KTM a season finale win
31st Aug, 2016
Rallye
Quintanilla Edges out Price To Claim Acatama Rally
30th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Positive Debut MX Nationals Season For Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team
30th Aug, 2016
Trials
Toni Bou Aims For 20th World Championsip In Italy
30th Aug, 2016
Dirt Track
Victorian Dirt Track Titles Entries Open Till Friday
30th Aug, 2016
Supercross
Increased Prize Money and Television Coverage Announced For Season Opening ..
30th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Tasmanian Junior Riders Prepare For Aussie Junior Nationals
30th Aug, 2016
Supermotard
12 nations on the grid for Newcastle’s FIM Asia SuperMoto season opener
30th Aug, 2016
Motocross
BCP Pro Circuit Honda continue their run of wins
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Jed Beaton clinches the 2016 Motul MX2 title at Round 10
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Clement Desale and Jeffrey Herlings Master Assen's Sand Circuit
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Todd Waters takes final round win for Wilson Coolair Motul Factory Suzuki
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
GoPro lap of Assen MXGP
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Seewer, Jasikonis and Weimer represent Suzuki at SMX Cup
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Kirk Gibbs falls agonisingly short of back to back titles
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Mitch Evans holds on to collect Pirelli MXD title at Coolum
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
WAMX Junior State Championship round 5 wrap-up
29th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Jessica Moore races to a YMI Australian Women’s Motocross Championship
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris collects first ever Thor MX1 Championship at Coolu..
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Full results from the Coolum Motul MX Nationals
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Ken Roczen concludes 2016 with a double win in Indiana
28th Aug, 2016
Speedway
Last turn triumph for Jason Doyle in Poland
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Antonio Cairoli and Jorge Prado Top Assen Qualifying
28th Aug, 2016
Supercross
Yamaha Name SSMX Cup Rider Line Up
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Watch The Motul MX Nationals Round 10 Live Here
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Yamaha Rising Star Rookies and Yamaha 85cc Cup Championships wrap up at Coo..
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Bobryshev 2017 CRF450RW from MXGP of the Americas
28th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Dean Ferris, Wilson Todd and Mitch Evans top qualifying at Coolum
27th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Six Victorians to vie for Australian Women's MX Title at Coolum
26th Aug, 2016
Motocross
Motul MX Nationals goes pink in support of NBCF at Coolum
26th Aug, 2016

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 5 2016 AMA Supermoto Championship
 Round 17 2016 FIM World Motocross Championship
 Round 8 2016 FIM Trial World Championship
 Round 2 2016 FIM Women’s Trial World Champions..
 Round 7 2016 AMA Women's MX Championship Sched..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Öhlins TTX Flow MX shock
Öhlins launch revolutionary new TTX Flow MX shock!.   View

All new 2017 YZ250F
Major changes for Yamaha's latest quarter litre winner.   View

SCOTT Prospect Goggle
SCOTT SPORTS releases its all new and highly anticipated PROSPECT Goggle..   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kessner Motorcycles
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2016



Click for more info