Click for more info
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to go to Loose Kid Industries






Click here for more info







Freestyle
Aussie Athletes Speak Ahead of Inaugural Nitro World Games
29th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Motul MX Nationals Red Plate Holders Speak Ahead Of Launching Into Second H..
29th Jun, 2016
Motocross
RedBud Historical Notes, Facts, Figures and Track Map
29th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Matt Moss aiming for a win on home soil At Motul MXN Round 6
28th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Proformance Yamaha Race Team Mid Season Catch Up
28th Jun, 2016
Off Road
Samuel Monk looking forward to Hattah success
28th Jun, 2016
GNCC
Kailub Russell Tops AMSOIL Snowshoe GNCC
28th Jun, 2016
Supermotard
Newcastle foreshore to host 2016 FIM-ASIA SuperMoto season opener
27th Jun, 2016
Freestyle
Pagès crowned king of Madrid after 4th straight FMX win
27th Jun, 2016
Motocross
CRF Honda Racing Riders In Form Heading Into MX Nationals Resumption
27th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Shoalhaven City Council set to welcome back Motul MX Nationals at Nowra
27th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Ben Townley luckless at Grand Prix of Lombardia
27th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Gajser and Herlings continue to raise the stakes with Mantova victories
27th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Jeremy Seewer extends Suzuki contract for 2017
26th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Jake Williams closes in on SSMX series win for QLD YJR
26th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Bobryshev and Herlings Top Italian Qualifying
26th Jun, 2016
Speedway
Doyle Delight, Aussie Ace Wins Prague WSGP, Holder Loses Points Lead To Han..
26th Jun, 2016
Motocross
2016 Muddy Creek American Motocross Full Moto Videos
26th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Another Perfect Weekend For Ken Roczen At Muddy Creek
26th Jun, 2016
Motocross
MOTO SPY Episode 2: Josh Grant At Glen Helen
25th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Italian MXGP Pit Chat With Chad Reed
25th Jun, 2016
Trail
Win a Husqvarna FE450 at Watagans Trail Bike Rally
24th Jun, 2016
Speedway
2016 Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup Squads Revealed
24th Jun, 2016
Speedway
Team Australia Announce 2016 FIM Monster Energy Speedway World Cup Squad
24th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Broken collar bone halts Jason Anderson's season
24th Jun, 2016
Motocross
Josh Grant Undergoes Surgery While Bowers Takes on the 450 Class
24th Jun, 2016
Motocross
On Board At High Point With Cole Seely and Shane Mcelrath
23rd Jun, 2016
Motocross
Muddy Creek Historical Notes, Facts, Figures and Track Map
23rd Jun, 2016
Trail
Suzuki DR-Z400E continue to power Cape York Motorcycle Adventures
23rd Jun, 2016
Enduro
2016 FIM ISDE Yamaha Blu Cru Women’s Trophy Team announced
23rd Jun, 2016
Speedway
Worrall and Lambert get Cardiff call
23rd Jun, 2016
Motocross
HRC aim to continue podium run at Mantova
23rd Jun, 2016
Motocross
Marissa Markelon Gets First Overall Win of the WMX Season
23rd Jun, 2016
Motocross
Serco Yamaha Team Manager Reflects On A Tough First Half Of 2016
22nd Jun, 2016
Classics
Yamaha 60th Anniversary Roadshow Finishes On A High At Classic Dirt 12
22nd Jun, 2016
Motocross
2016 FIM World Junior Motocross Championship representatives announced
22nd Jun, 2016
Trials
Haydon Ahrens Climbs to the top of the SA Moto Trials Championships
21st Jun, 2016
Enduro
Husqvarna 1-2 As Stanford Takes Fourth Queensland Crown
21st Jun, 2016
Motocross
Chad Reed Feels The Grind On Return To MXGP Circuit
21st Jun, 2016
Motocross
Robbo Lovett and Luke Davis Top WAMX Round 2
21st Jun, 2016

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 3 2016 WA State Junior MX Championship
 Round 3 2016 AMA Supermoto Championship
 Round 5 2016 Maxxis British Motocross Champion..
 Round 6 2016 Maxxis World Enduro Championship
 Round 6 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Champions..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click For More Information






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


USWE Insulated Tube Kit and Bladder Sleeve
Help reduce your fluid from freezing this winter .   View

RHK Fusion Series Sprocket
The RHK fusion series sprocket are the best of both worlds .   View

Husqvarna 2017 FS450 Supermoto
Husqvarna Motorcycles Intorduce The 2017 FS 450 .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kessner Motorcycles
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2016



Click for more info