Click for more info
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

http://newcastlesupermoto.com.au/






Click here for more info







Speedway
Jason Doyle inspires Aussies to SWC Final's birth
30th Jul, 2016
Enduro
Todd Barry Makes It Three Straight For KTM At 2016 24 Hour Trial
29th Jul, 2016
Speedway
Jason Doyle backs Aussie young guns
29th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Husqvarna and Motodevelopment join forces
29th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Beaton determined to close in on Motul MX2 championship, before heading to ..
29th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Waters and Wilson confident ahead of Round 8 of the Motul MX Nationals
29th Jul, 2016
Supermotard
Entries open for Newcastle's FIM Asia SuperMoto curtain raiser
28th Jul, 2016
Motocross
KTM in the titles at Sunshine States
28th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Can the reigning Motul MX Nationals Champ hold on at Shepparton?
28th Jul, 2016
Motocross
The deep sand of Lommel beckons for Team HRC
28th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Madison Brown's triple titles treat at Swan Hill
28th Jul, 2016
Off Road
Husqvarna Motorcycles extends contract with Graham Jarvis
28th Jul, 2016
Motocross
SAYJR closes in on State Motocross Championships
27th Jul, 2016
Speedway
Sweden sees off Australian, USA and Germany in SWC
27th Jul, 2016
Off Road
CDR Yamaha Off Road struggles in Sodden AORC
27th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Hard way to a QLD Title for Zak Small
27th Jul, 2016
Motocross
James Stewart working his way back to race fitness
27th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Porter, Fewster, Moore and Robertson on top at WAMX Round 4
26th Jul, 2016
Off Road
Beau Ralston battles the conditions at Hedley AORC
26th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Josh Coppins unbeatable in World Champs build-up
26th Jul, 2016
ATV
Victorian ATV subsidies should include helmets and training, says FCAI
26th Jul, 2016
Dirt Track
Australian Senior Dirt Track Championships back in the Hunter Region
26th Jul, 2016
Motocross
World class racing expected from the Yamaha Rising Star Rookies in Sheppart..
26th Jul, 2016
Supercross
Queensland Cup for Junior Stars
25th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Taj Marshall clean sweeps SA State Titles for BCP Pro Circuit Honda
25th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Max Nagl and Dylan Ferrandis victorious at Loket
25th Jul, 2016
Off Road
Price, Brierley and Tomich take AORC Junior wins
24th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Jake Williams leads Yamaha charge with SSMX victory
24th Jul, 2016
Off Road
Sanders Makes It A Hedley AORC Clean Sweep
24th Jul, 2016
Motocross
2016 Pro Motocross Full Moto Replays From Washougal - Rd 9
24th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Tomac Captures Second Win at Washougal
24th Jul, 2016
Speedway
Patryk Dudek hails the Polish Spirit
24th Jul, 2016
Motocross
Gajser and Jonass on pole in Loket
24th Jul, 2016
Off Road
Josh Brierley takes first AORC Juniors Cross Country win at round seven
24th Jul, 2016
Supercross
Chasing the Dream, Xtra Webisode 2: Aaron Plessinger, St. Louis
23rd Jul, 2016
Off Road
Epic finish for Hall and Sanders at Hedley AORC
23rd Jul, 2016
Motocross
On Board With James Stewart at Millville
22nd Jul, 2016
Motocross
Broc Tickle Sidelined For Remainder Of MX Season
22nd Jul, 2016
Off Road
Rounds 7 and 8 AORC – What you need to know
21st Jul, 2016
Motocross
Team HRC aiming to continue podium run in Loket
21st Jul, 2016

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 8 2016 MX Nationals
 Round 4 2016 WA State Junior MX Championship
 Round 6 2016 KENDA Full Gas Sprint Enduro Seri..
 Round 14 2016 FIM World Motocross Championship
 Round 8 2016 Canadian Rockstar Energy Drink Mo..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


All new 2017 YZ250F
Major changes for Yamaha's latest quarter litre winner.   View

SCOTT Prospect Goggle
SCOTT SPORTS releases its all new and highly anticipated PROSPECT Goggle..   View

Rtech Neon Limited Edition R15 Worx Bike Stands
Manufactured by one of the World’s Leading Aftermarket Plastic suppliers.   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kessner Motorcycles
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2016



Click for more info