Click for more info on Husqvarna run out deals
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info on MX Ink Graphics






Click here for more info







MX Nationals
Yamaha Continue To Celebrate 60th Birthday At Coolum
29th Aug, 2015
Enduro
Mathias Bellino Signs With Husqvarna For New EnduroGP Class
28th Aug, 2015
MXGP
Team HRC Set For All-new Assen Track
28th Aug, 2015
Motocross
Entries Closing Soon For 2015 KTM AJMX in Bunbury
28th Aug, 2015
EnduroCross
Fraser Higlett Smashes Yeppoon Enduro-X
27th Aug, 2015
General
M.A's Junior Come and Try Weekend At Sydney V8 Supercars A Success
27th Aug, 2015
Desert Racing
2016 Dakar To Bypass Peru Due To El Nino
27th Aug, 2015
Supercross
Red Bull Straight Rhythm 2015 Track Animation
27th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Round Ten of MX Nationals Turns Pink For National Breast Cancer Foundation
26th Aug, 2015
Trials
Trans-Tasman Combatants Named for FIM Oceania Trials Championship
26th Aug, 2015
MXGP
Top Ten Results For Ferris and Waters at Mantova
26th Aug, 2015
American MX
Pourcel and Anderson Extend Contracts With Husqvarna
26th Aug, 2015
Speedway
Aleksander Conda Named As Krsko Wild Card
26th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Alpinestars A-listers Coolum Bound for MX Nationals Grand Finale
25th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Dylan Wills and Daniel McEntee Dominate Round Three Of The North Cup
25th Aug, 2015
Supercross
Aussie Bike Loans Back Queensland Rounds Of 2015 ASX Championship
25th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Yamaha Racing Celebrate Four Class Clean Sweep At Echo Valley
25th Aug, 2015
Speedway
Darcy Ward In Stable Condition And Breathing Unaided After Overnight Surger..
25th Aug, 2015
Motocross
W.A's Junior Riders Fly High At Bunbury
25th Aug, 2015
Motocross
2015 Victorian Minikhana Series Ready To Foster Next Generation Of Champion..
25th Aug, 2015
General
Chad Reed Takes A Lap On His Yamaha 450 With A Fly 360 Camera
24th Aug, 2015
Speedway
Darcy Ward Suffers Spinal Cord Damage In Polish Speedway Crash
24th Aug, 2015
MXGP
2015 MXGP of Lombardia Race Highlights
24th Aug, 2015
MXGP
Romain Febvre Steps Closer To 2015 MXGP Title With 1-1 Result At Mantova
24th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Hunter Lawrence Shows Off World Class Racing in Toowoomba
24th Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
GYTR Yamaha's Wilson Todd back On Top Once Again at Round Nine
24th Aug, 2015
American MX
2015 Indiana National Legends Race - Catch The Full Race Here
23rd Aug, 2015
American MX
2015 Ironman National Race Highlights
23rd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
CDR Yamaha's Kade Mosig On Point With A 1-1 Round Win At Echo Valley
23rd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Jay Wilson Extends MX2 Points Lead With Toowoomba Overall Round Win
23rd Aug, 2015
American MX
Jeremy Martin Secures Back-to-Back Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 250 Class Champi..
23rd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Watch MX Nationals Round 9 On Demand Right Here
23rd Aug, 2015
MXGP
Max Nagl and Max Anstie Top Mantova Qualifying
23rd Aug, 2015
General
Motorcycling Australia Junior Come and Try at V8 Supercars This weekend
21st Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
NRGTV Set To Bring Echo Valley To Life This Sunday
21st Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Kirk Gibbs On The Brink Of Glory Heading Into Toowoomba
21st Aug, 2015
Supercross
Dunlop Set To Deliver Traction At 2015 Australian Supercross Championships
21st Aug, 2015
Adventure
Honda Africa Twin Australian Pricing And Details Now Available
21st Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Dobson and Arbon Ruled Out Of Remaining MX Nationals Rounds
21st Aug, 2015
Motocross
SAMX Junior Titles All On The Line After Round Four At Renmark
20th Aug, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 10 2015 MX Nationals
 Round 16 2015 Monster Energy World Motocross C..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here to visit Rival Ink Designs






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


LED Barkbusters
leading motorcycle handguard specialist, extends its product range to include auxiliary LED lights for attachment to Barkbusters Handguards .   View

2016 SCOTT - Tyrant and Hustle Goggles
The 2016 range of SCOTT Tyrant and Hustle Goggles Have Landed Down Under .   View

MX INK / Unit Motocross Graphics Collaboration
A unique collaboration between UNIT and MX INK for motocross graphic kits. .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click for more info on Husqvarna run out deals