Click for more info
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to go to Loose Kid Industries






Click here for more info







Speedway
Greg Hancock insists the pressure has switched to new leader Jason Doyle
30th Sep, 2016
General
Husqvarna Motorcycles recall MY2017 MX and Off-Road Models
30th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Semmens, O’Hare, Malkiewicz, and Watson crowned 2016 KTM AJMX Champions
30th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Jeremy Seewer to stay with Suzuki for 2018-2019 MXGP
30th Sep, 2016
Motocross
KTM AJMX resumes with riders edging closer to 2016 championships
30th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Husqvarna announce revised rider line-up for SMX Rider’s Cup
30th Sep, 2016
Supermotard
FIM ASIA Supermoto Championship Heads To Java
29th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Rodney Faggotter Joins World Rally Scene With Yamalube Yamaha
29th Sep, 2016
Freestyle
The Neighborhood Starring Robbie Maddison
29th Sep, 2016
Freestyle
NIGHT of the JUMPs Head to Jerez This Weekend
28th Sep, 2016
Supercross
Chad Reed - Coming Home
28th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Heats wrap up, and finals roar to life at KTM AJMX
28th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Matterley Basin named as replacement venue for 2017 MXON
28th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Junior riders celebrate more race wins at KTM AJMX
28th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Glen Helen Raceway loses 2017 MXoN
28th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Watson, Malkiewicz, O’Hare, and Harnett impress in KTM AJMX finals
27th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Heat races dish out the action at KTM AJMX
27th Sep, 2016
Dirt Track
Billy Van Eerde takes a hat-trick at NSW Junior Dirt Track championships
27th Sep, 2016
Dirt Track
NSW Junior Track Championship turned on the thrills
27th Sep, 2016
Off Road
Broc Grabham crowned NSW Off-Road champion
27th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Action packed morning of heats and finals at day three of KTM AJMX
27th Sep, 2016
Motocross
KTM AJMX heat races get underway at Renmark
26th Sep, 2016
GNCC
Kailub Russell takes Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Mountaineer Run GNCC Win
26th Sep, 2016
Motocross
2016 Monster Energy MXoN Race Highlights From Maggiora Italy
26th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Team France Win Dramatic 2016 MXoN With Final Lap Pass
25th Sep, 2016
Motocross
BCP Pro Circuit Honda to front a 4 rider strong team at the National Junior..
25th Sep, 2016
Motocross
2016 KTM AJMX roars to life with huge numbers at Renmark, South Australia
25th Sep, 2016
Motocross
2016 Monster Energy MXoN Qualifying Highlights From Maggiora Italy
25th Sep, 2016
Speedway
Hat-Trick Has Jason Doyle On Top Of The World
25th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Monster Energy MXoN Best Moments Maggiora Italy 2016
25th Sep, 2016
Motocross
France Tops 2016 MXoN Qualifying, Australia through in 8th position.
24th Sep, 2016
Supercross
Honda Genuine Parts and Accessories Supercross team - Round 1 Video
23rd Sep, 2016
General
Motorcycling Australia appoints Peter Doyle as CEO
22nd Sep, 2016
Motocross
OFFICIAL - Ken Roczen Joins Team Honda HRC
22nd Sep, 2016
Supercross
Jimboomba Pit Chat - A Quick Audio Check In With The SX2 Class Podium
21st Sep, 2016
Speedway
British FIM Speedway Grand Prix to surpass 20 years at Cardiff's.
21st Sep, 2016
Motocross
Madi revved-up to go up against the country's best in SA
21st Sep, 2016
Supercross
Jimboomba Pit Chat - A Quick Audio Check In With The SX1 Class
20th Sep, 2016
Supercross
SX2 Team Talk - SX2 Team Riders and Managers Relfect On Aus SX Round 1
20th Sep, 2016
Motocross
Evans to replace Beaton on Australian MXoN squad
20th Sep, 2016

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 2 2016 Australian Supercross Championshi..
 Round 8 2016 AMA Women's MX Championship Sched..
 Round 12 2016 AMSOIL GNCC Schedule
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Husqvarna 50cc and 65cc Minicycles
Husqvarna Set To Release New 50cc and 65cc Minicycles .   View

SCOTT BUZZ MX WFS Goggle
SCOTT Release Film System For The Next Generation Of Motocross Stars .   View

2017 Suzuki RM-Z250
Bonus Race Pack with every 2017 RM-Z purchased before 30th September.   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
Kessner Motorcycles
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2016



Click for more info