Click for more information on Meteor Pistons

Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







Motocross
KTM Australia on board again for the AJMXC!
28th Jun, 2017
GNCC
Tayla Jones on top again at AMSOIL Snowshoe GNCC
28th Jun, 2017
Motocross
2018 FIM Motocross World Championship Provisional Calendar Released
28th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Yamaha Racing Strong Showing at Renmark AORC
28th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Ferris ready to switch attention back to 2017 Thor MX1 Championship at Nowr..
27th Jun, 2017
Supercross
AUS-X Open offers fans chance to win One Million Dollars
27th Jun, 2017
GNCC
Ricky Russell gets first career overall win at the AMSOIL Snowshoe GNCC
27th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Trey Canard happy to be back racing following injury layoff
27th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Active8 Yamaha Deal with Dust in SA AORC
27th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Podium streak continues for Stanford at Renmark
26th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Marvin Musquin still racing for points despite knee injury
26th Jun, 2017
Off Road
2017 Yamaha AORC - Round 7 and 8 Highlights From Renmark
26th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Jay Wilson to join Raceline Pirelli KTM in MX2 class
26th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Motul MX Nationals to hold Military Appreciation Round on Sunday
26th Jun, 2017
Trials
Bou bounces back in France
26th Jun, 2017
Enduro
KTM's Daniel Milner sets the pace at Renmark
26th Jun, 2017
Enduro
Nambotin and McCanney top EnduroGP of Hungary Day 2
26th Jun, 2017
Speedway
Starting line-ups for the Monster Energy FIM SWC have been revealed.
26th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Antonio Cairoli dominates MXGP of Lombardia
26th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Wilson, Pumpa and Hage take support class wins Yamaha AORC
25th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Junior summary from Renmark AORC
25th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Ruprecht, Milner, Snodgrass and Higlett establish championship supremacy at..
25th Jun, 2017
Motocross
MXGP set to take place at Imola in 2018
25th Jun, 2017
Motocross
AMA Tennessee National Video Highlights
25th Jun, 2017
Enduro
Nambotin and Garcia take day one honors at Maxxis EnduroGP of Hungary
25th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Cairoli and Covington on pole at MXGP of Lombardia
25th Jun, 2017
Motocross
Tomac and Plessinger on top at Tennessee National
25th Jun, 2017
Speedway
Maciej Janowski wins second Danish FIM SGP
25th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Hall, Pumpa and Grundy take support class wins at Yamaha AORC
24th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Juniors Brierley, Rudd and Riordan taste that winning feeling in Yamaha AOR..
24th Jun, 2017
Off Road
Keegan, Milner, Snodgrass and Higlett devastatingly fast at Yamaha AORC
24th Jun, 2017
Off Road
AORC Riders and Bikes Make Impression On Local Renmark Students
23rd Jun, 2017
Off Road
Junior Jayden Rudd Dominating in AORC
23rd Jun, 2017
Motocross
Brett Metcalfe Joins MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team
23rd Jun, 2017
Trials
Adam Raga ends Toni Bou's winning streak in Andorra
22nd Jun, 2017
Motocross
Compressed vertebrae sidelines Hunter Lawrence from MXGP of Lombardia
22nd Jun, 2017
Motocross
Yamaha's Jeremy Van Horebeek to miss MXGP of Lombardia this weekend
22nd Jun, 2017
Motocross
Team HRC MXGP back to full strength for Ottobiano
22nd Jun, 2017
Dirt Track
Stars head for Tharwa Sands Canberra Cup
21st Jun, 2017
Speedway
New British champion Craig Cook lands British SGP wild card
20th Jun, 2017

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 6 2017 Australian Motocross Championship..
 Round 12 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship
 Event 1 2017 Monster Energy Speedway World Cup
 Event 2 2017 Monster Energy Speedway World Cup
 Round 6 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Champions..
 Round 9 2017 FIM Enduro World Championship
 Round 10 2017 FIM Enduro World Championship
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


2018 DR-Z400SM Is Here
One of Australia's top selling Super Motards, the 2018 Suzuki DR-Z400SM is now on sale boasting an all-new Solid Black colour scheme, with gold anodised EXCEL wheel rims..   View

2017 Honda Africa Twin has arrived
The 2017 Africa Twin will hit Honda showrooms this week, still available in three different variants of Standard, ABS and ABS-DCT and with the addition of two new colours..   View

EKS S Goggle
EKS Brand has built a reputation for building goggles that work, and work well. .   View





FULLNOISE CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2017 - New



Click for more info