Click for more information on Meteor Pistons

Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







Motocross
Rhys Budd impresses at Horsham despite recent surgery
23rd May, 2017
Model - Concept
Husqvarna Motorcycles Unveil 2018 Motocross Range
23rd May, 2017
Motocross
Yamaha Managers reflect on Horsham Motul MX Nationals
23rd May, 2017
Off Road
2017 Yamaha AORC Rounds 1 and 2 Cancelled
23rd May, 2017
Motocross
Dirty Day for Serco Yamaha
23rd May, 2017
Motocross
Horsham proves to be challenging for Raceline Pirelli KTM
23rd May, 2017
Enduro
Graham Jarvis wins Red Bull Minas Riders Hard Enduro
23rd May, 2017
Motocross
Peters takes the positives out of Round 4 at Horsham
22nd May, 2017
Speedway
Chris Holder on the 2017 FIM Speedway Grand Prix
22nd May, 2017
GNCC
Thad Duvall edges out Josh Strang at X-Factor GNCC
22nd May, 2017
Motocross
Antonio Cairoli notches up 80th career GP win in Germany
22nd May, 2017
Motocross
Malkiewicz takes Yamaha 250cc Junior Class round win and red plate in Horsh..
22nd May, 2017
Motocross
Seewer and Lawrence give Suzuki World MX2 team a 1-2 in Germany
22nd May, 2017
Motocross
Todd reclaims Motul MX2 Championship lead at Horsham
21st May, 2017
Motocross
Roberts races to Pirelli MXD overall victory at Horsham
21st May, 2017
Motocross
Horsham delivers Ferris with fourth Thor MX1 round victory
21st May, 2017
Motocross
2017 American Pro Motocross Round 1 Highlights and Recap Video - Hangtown
21st May, 2017
Motocross
Tomac and Osborne Impressive On Their Way To Hangtown Clean Sweep
21st May, 2017
Motocross
2017 Motul MX Nationals Round 4 Results
21st May, 2017
Motocross
2017 Motul MX Nationals Round 4 LIVE
21st May, 2017
Motocross
Change is positive for Raceline Pirelli KTM ahead of Round 4
20th May, 2017
Motocross
Peters determined to get championship on track at Horsham
20th May, 2017
Motocross
Brett Metcalfe To Watch Horsham MX Nationals Round From The Side Lines
20th May, 2017
Speedway
Czech hero Vaclav Milik returns as Mitas Czech FIM SGP wild card
20th May, 2017
Motocross
Vale Tyler Lange
19th May, 2017
Motocross
History set to go on display at Round 4 of the Motul MX Nationals
18th May, 2017
Supercross
Ricky Carmichael adds to star studded 2017 AUS-X Open Line-Up
18th May, 2017
Motocross
Lawrence Brothers In Form At Molin
17th May, 2017
Supercross
Ryan Dungey Announce His Retirement From Professional Racing
17th May, 2017
Enduro
Another Display Of Brilliance From Gardiner
16th May, 2017
Off Road
Solid weekend for BCP Honda riders Kyron Bacon and Travis Edwards
16th May, 2017
Off Road
Yamaha Racing Shows Depth At AORC
16th May, 2017
Supercross
Jason Anderson confirmed to lock horns with Chad Reed at the 2017 AUS-X Ope..
16th May, 2017
Off Road
Double Wins For Husqvarna's Lachlan Stanford
15th May, 2017
Motocross
Three Class Triumph At Tivoli For QLD GYTR Yamaha
15th May, 2017
Off Road
Active8 Yamaha Continue Podium Run At AORC
15th May, 2017
Off Road
Milner and KTM Reflect On Another Successful Weekend Of AORC Racing
15th May, 2017
Motocross
Refreshed Horsham Ready To Greet Nations Best MX Racers
15th May, 2017
Trials
Toni Bou claims victory in a highly-complicated Spanish TrialGP
14th May, 2017
Off Road
Wilson, Hutton and Grundy claimed sensational victories at Yamaha AORC on S..
14th May, 2017

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 5 2017 Australian Motocross Championship..
 Round 9 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship
 Round 2 2017 FIM Trial World Championship
 Round 2 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Champions..
 Round 5 2017 FIM Enduro World Championship
 Round 6 2017 FIM Enduro World Championship
 Round 3 2017 FIM Speedway Grand Prix
 Round 7 2017 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Count..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Sherco Enduro Factory Models Arrive in Australia
New 2017 Factory edition Sherco enduro models released to Australian market .   View

Macna Traction Jacket
Link International have to introduced the Traction Jacket.   View

KTM Adventure Range
KTM Adventure Range Coming Fast .   View





FULLNOISE CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2017 - New



Click for more info