Click for more information
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info on Troy Lee Designs 25% off




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info on Ringmaster Custom Graphic Kits







Supercross
Superstar James Stewart confirmed for AUS-X Open Supercross Event in Sydney
24th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Kale Makeham Ready To Fly The Flag For Team Motul Suzuki At Broadford
24th Apr, 2015
MXGP
Jeremy Van Horebeek To Miss Next Two MXGP Rounds
24th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Maddison Brown To Defend National Women's MX Crown
24th Apr, 2015
General
World Champion Pair Lead KTM 2015 National Junior Team
24th Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Husqvarna Riders Looking For More AT Broadford
23rd Apr, 2015
Speedway
Czech Rider Vaclav Milik Named As Prague Wild Card Recipient
23rd Apr, 2015
Trials
Toni Bou Sets His Sights On 18th World Title As FIM Trial World Championshi..
23rd Apr, 2015
Freestyle
NIGHT of the JUMPs Heads To Munich This Weekend
23rd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Yamaha Racing Look To Maintain MX Nats Momentum At Round Three
23rd Apr, 2015
Enduro
2015 International Six Day Enduro Australian Teams Announced
23rd Apr, 2015
MXGP
Ryan Villopoto In Doubt For Valkenswaard GP
23rd Apr, 2015
Motocross
2015 Australian World Junior MX Team Announced
22nd Apr, 2015
Motocross
Christophe Pourcel Looking At 2015 American Outdoor Options With Husqvarna.
22nd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX Nationals Personalities Reminisce About Their Broadford Experiences
22nd Apr, 2015
General
MXtrader.com.au Launches All New Free Online Dirt Bike Trading Site.
22nd Apr, 2015
Supercross
Supercross Legend Chad Reed confirmed for AUS-X Open Event in Sydney
22nd Apr, 2015
AORC
AORC Team Talk - Rounds 3 and 4 Corner Inlet, Vic
22nd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Emma Milesvic Ready To Chase National Women's MX Title
22nd Apr, 2015
Trials
Toni Bou, A Life Behind the Bars
22nd Apr, 2015
General
KTM Reveals Factory Skins For KTM 250 Off-Road Range
22nd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX Nationals, Welcome Women Back To The Track This Weekend
21st Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Raceline's Rhys Carter Sidelined For 2015 MX Season
21st Apr, 2015
Motocross
Taj Marshall Impressive In Pre Aussie Junior Hit Out In WA
21st Apr, 2015
Motocross
Hunter Lawrence Stars For QLD YJR Team at Leyburn
21st Apr, 2015
MXGP
Clement Desalle Holds On to Red Plate Despite Italian Crash
21st Apr, 2015
AORC
Brierley Brothers On The Rise
21st Apr, 2015
Speedway
2015 LOTTO Warsaw FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland Cut Short
21st Apr, 2015
Enduro
Tough 2nd Day For Phillips With 8th Place Result In Chile
20th Apr, 2015
MXGP
MXGP Round 4 Highlights - Catch All The Action From Italy
20th Apr, 2015
MXGP
Max Nagl Claims His Third MXGP Round Win For 2015 In Italy - Villopoto Cra..
20th Apr, 2015
MXGP
Ryan Villopoto Goes Down Hard In Italy
20th Apr, 2015
Enduro
Matthew Phillips Third As Enduro World Championship Kicks Off In Chile
19th Apr, 2015
Arenacross
Jacob Hayes Dominates in Tacoma to Earn First Overall Win in
19th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Monster Energy SX Round 15 Highlights - Catch All The Action From Houston
19th Apr, 2015
AORC
Price Rebounds With Commanding AORC Sprint Performance
19th Apr, 2015
Supercross
Dungey Soars to 7th Monster Energy Supercross Win at Levi's Stadium
19th Apr, 2015
AORC
Josh Green Carves Up Corner Inlet On Way To Round Three Victory
18th Apr, 2015
AORC
Toby Price Leads The Way To Hedley
17th Apr, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ken Roczen Sidelined From Remaining Three AMA SX Races
17th Apr, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 3 2015 MX Nationals
 Round 5 2015 Monster Energy World Motocross Ch..
 Round 17 2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Ch..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Fox 180 Imperial Limited Edition Race Wear
Fox Australian have released information on their latest Limited Edition Race-Wear. .   View

FOX Winter Apparel
FOX Australia have release their 2015 Winter Range Online. .   View

Honda VFR1200X
All-conquering crosstourer returns .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click here for more information