Click to read the packed 2015 JTR Catalogue - John Titman Racing
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







General
Glenn Bell Confirmed for 2015 Penrite Broadford Bike Bonanza
2nd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Riley Graham and Dan Banks Take Top Spots in South Cup opener
2nd Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX2 Track Talk - Read The MX2 Teams and Riders Thoughts On The Opening Roun..
2nd Apr, 2015
Industry
JTR Announced As New Sole Australian Distributor For Excel Rims
1st Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
MX1 Team Talk - Read What The Teams And Riders Had To Say About Round One O..
1st Apr, 2015
General
Dylan Wilson Fund-Raising Ddub T-Shirt and Fund Raising Page
1st Apr, 2015
GNCC
Aussie Josh Strang Continues Strong Form In GNCC Championship
1st Apr, 2015
General
Peter Stevens Motorcycles and Monza Imports join DPH Yamaha
1st Apr, 2015
Desert Racing
Finke Legends Dinner – A Celebration Event For 2015
1st Apr, 2015
General
Penrite Honda Racing Align With GET and GoPro for Maximum Performance and E..
1st Apr, 2015
MX Nationals
Dylan Wilson Update
31st Mar, 2015
MXGP
Top Ten Result For Todd Waters In Argentina, Dean Ferris Struggles With Sta..
31st Mar, 2015
Rallye
Joan Barreda Tops Day Two Of Abu Dhabi As Sam Sunderland Takes Over Race Le..
31st Mar, 2015
Freestyle
David Rinaldo Wins World Freestyle Round On Home Soil, Aussie Adelberg 4th
31st Mar, 2015
Rallye
Marc Coma Takes Early Lead In Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge
30th Mar, 2015
MXGP
Dylan Ferrandis Secures His Maiden MX2 Overall Round Win In Argentina
30th Mar, 2015
MXGP
Max Nagl Wins In Patagonia, Desalle Maintains Red Plate
30th Mar, 2015
GNCC
Kailub Russell Captures Third Consecutive Win of 2015 at the FMF Steele Cre..
30th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
A Sea Off Blue With A Touch Of Green As Jed Beaton Wins MX2 At Horsham
30th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Jordan Hill Wins MXD Season Opener
30th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Kirk Gibbs Untouchable At Horsham
30th Mar, 2015
AMA Supercross
AMA Supercross Round 13 Highlights - Catch All The Action From St Louis
29th Mar, 2015
AMA Supercross
Ryan Dungey In Striking Distance Of SX Championship After Sixth Win Of 2015..
29th Mar, 2015
Arenacross
Kyle Regal Earns Fifth Overall Victory of AMSOIL Arenacross Season
29th Mar, 2015
MXGP
Cairoli Edges out Villopoto To Snatch Argentine Qualifying Race Win - Full..
29th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
MA Confirms Critical On Track Incident In Horsham
29th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Watch Round One Of The 2015 MX Nationals Live Right HERE via NRGTV
29th Mar, 2015
General
KTM Troy Lee Designs Chasing The Title Intro
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Excitement Builds As Team Motul Suzuki Heads To Horsham
27th Mar, 2015
Industry
Monster Energy To Remain Co-naming Rights Sponsor At Kawasaki
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
JJapanese MX Lites Champion Confirmed For 2015 MX Nationals Campaign
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Gibbs and Styke Confident Heading Into Round One
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
KTM Horsham Bound With Three Rider MX2 and MXD Line Up's
27th Mar, 2015
Freestyle
FMX World Championship Returns to France This Weekend
27th Mar, 2015
Motocross
2015 WJMX Team Rider Applications Now Open
27th Mar, 2015
Rallye
Team HRC Head Back To Work Ahead Of Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Wilson MX Geared Up For A Huge 2015 Campaign
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Husqvarna Bolsters Factory Supported Line Up With Craig Anderson Racing Duo
27th Mar, 2015
MX Nationals
Raceline's Rhys Carter Ready While McLeary Continues to Recover
27th Mar, 2015
Off Road
Alpinestars Australia 2015 Motocross and Off-Road Rider Launch Video
26th Mar, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


Eli Tomac Limited Edition Alpinestars Apparel
Alpinestars have launched a new, limited edition apparel and boot collection in collaboration with the GEICO Honda star .   View

Strongflex Body Armour
Shock and Awe(some) Protection .   View

DEP Pipes
DEP Pipes All New High Performance KTM 65 Exhaust System .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Mcleod Accessories
Moto National Accessories
Mainmoto Imports
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Moto National
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click to read the packed 2015 JTR Catalogue - John Titman Racing