Click for more info on Acerbis Razor Helmets
Click here to swap to the Fullnoise Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to swap to the Fullnoise Off Road WebsiteClick here to join the Fullnoise Twitter PageClick here to join the Fullnoise Facebook Page
Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info on Troy Lee Designs




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here to visit Rival Ink Designs






Click here for more info







Off Road
Jacob Smith Wins Gruelling 2015 Yellow Mountain Cross Country
4th Aug, 2015
Motocross
Danielle Foot Makes It Two Aussie Podiums At Lorreta Lynns
4th Aug, 2015
Supercross
FOXHEAD.com.au Giving You The Holeshot On A Chance To Meet Chad Reed At The..
4th Aug, 2015
MXGP
Todd Waters Bounces Back At Lommel With Strong 7th Place Finish
4th Aug, 2015
General
Full 2016 FOX MX Race-Wear Line Up Unveiled
3rd Aug, 2015
General
KTM Dirt Days Return In 2015, Featuring The Full 2016 SX and SX-F Line Up
3rd Aug, 2015
MXGP
2015 MXGP of Belgium Race Highlights
3rd Aug, 2015
MXGP
Shaun Simpson and Max Anstie Dominate At Lommel
3rd Aug, 2015
Freestyle
Robbie 'Maddo' Maddison's Pipe Dream
3rd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Jayden Rykers Unbeatable Once Again At Round Eight
3rd Aug, 2015
Motocross
Maddison Brown Crowned 2015 Ladies Champ, As Rutledge Secures Nowra Round W..
3rd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Dan Reardon Back On The Top Step At Nowra as Dylan Long Breaks Through For ..
2nd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Luke Clout Takes MX2 Win At Nowra, Jay Wilson Maintains Championship Lead
2nd Aug, 2015
MXGP
MXGP of Belgium Qualifying Race Highlights Including Ryan Villopoto Intervi..
2nd Aug, 2015
General
Fox MX Presents, MX16 Featuring Ryan Dungey, Ken Roczen, Ricky Carmichael a..
2nd Aug, 2015
MXGP
Tim Gajser Signs Multi Year Deal With Honda HRC
2nd Aug, 2015
Motocross
Mackenzie Tricker Wraps Up 2015 Title At Loretta Lynns
2nd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Watch Round 8 Of The MX Nationals From Nowra Any Time On Demand
2nd Aug, 2015
MX Nationals
Championship Leader Kirk Gibbs Ready To Lead KTM Into Nowra
31st Jul, 2015
Off Road
Active8 Yamaha Join Forces With Domino
31st Jul, 2015
General
Motorcycling Victoria Announces New President
31st Jul, 2015
MXGP
Ryan Villopoto Heading To Lommel MXGP This Weekend
31st Jul, 2015
MX Nationals
Young Husqvarna Racers To Chase Hard As MX Nats Continue At Nowra
31st Jul, 2015
General
Second Elite Performance Academy Camp Venues Announced
31st Jul, 2015
MXGP
Kevin Strijbos Confirms His Commitment To Suzuki Ahead Of Lommel
31st Jul, 2015
MX Nationals
Kale Makeham The Sole Team Motul Suzuki Racer In For Nowra
31st Jul, 2015
Motocross
Mackenzie Tricker Leads Women's All Star Class At Loretta Lynns After Moto ..
31st Jul, 2015
Motocross
Egan Mastin Finishes 6th In Second Pro Sport Race At Loretta Lynns
30th Jul, 2015
MX Nationals
Yamaha Racing Aiming To Bring Fighting Sprit To Nowra
30th Jul, 2015
General
Minister For Sport, John Eren, Tour Broadford State Motorcycle Complex
30th Jul, 2015
MXGP
Bobryshev Ready For The Sands Of Lommel
30th Jul, 2015
Motocross
Rough and Tough Day At Keith For SAYJR
30th Jul, 2015
General
New MA Directors Elected at AGM
30th Jul, 2015
MX Nationals
Townley to Fly Penrite Honda Racing Team Flag at Nowra
30th Jul, 2015
Motocross
Mastin and Tricker Podium On Day One Of Loretta Lynns
29th Jul, 2015
Motocross
Brett Metcalfe Losses Ground In Bid For Second Canadian Title
29th Jul, 2015
Motocross
Champions Confirmed For 2015 King Of The Cross
29th Jul, 2015
Dirt Track
NSW Junior Track Championships Head To Barleigh Ranch This Weekend
29th Jul, 2015
MX Nationals
NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki Racers Fire Up for Nowra MX Nationals Assault
29th Jul, 2015
Motocross
Lyttle In Name, Big In Talent Jackson Lyttle Aiming For Vic Title At Blue R..
29th Jul, 2015

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

 Round 10 2015 Lucas Oils Pro Motocross Champio..
  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info on Y-AIM Motocross Coaching ans Schools


Click here to visit Click28.com


HZ GMZ3 Goggle
The Latest HZ Goggle Has Hit Australia .   View

2016 Alpinestars Race-Wear
The 2016 Alpinestars Techstar Factory and Venom Race-Wear has landed in Australia..   View

SCOTT Recoil Works Film System
SCOTT Works Film System (WFS) now available on the feature packed affordable Recoil goggle. .   View





FULLNOISE WEBSITES:
Fullnoise Off Road Website
Fullnoise Road Website

FULLNOISE OFF ROAD CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Fullnoise Forum
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
C&R Imports
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
Husqvarna Motorcycles
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
Moto National Accessories
MX1 Australia
Monza Imports
Penrite
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2015



Click for more info on Acerbis Razor Helmets