Click for more information about Zeta Products

Click the Fullnoise Logo to return to the home page
Click here for more info




Product Review - Hammerhead Designs Shift Lever

By: Aaryn Minerds

Posted: Wednesday, 4th April, 2012 - -




One of the early additions to the Fullnoise.com.au RM-Z250 was a cool little product sent over to us from Mainmoto Imports in the form of a Hammerheads Design Shift lever.

To be honest an aftermarket shift lever has never really been something I have gone out and purchased for a bike just for the bling factor or thought about as an adjustable part of the bike. I did have to replace one a few years back after a crash left the stock one on my bike at the time bent so far in that it was gauging the case covers deep enough that I was sure I was about to see oil dripping out at any second.

When the shift lever arrived in the post the thing I most noticed when I unwrapped it was how good it looked, not just the cool looking black and red colour combo, but how well made it looked with a nice tidy finish. It also had a good solid feel about it, not heavy in the slightest but enough weight to give me some confidence that it was not going to bend up the first time I dropped the bike with it fitted.

 - CLICK TO ENLARGE IMAGE
I never thought there could be so many options with just one shift lever and with the Tips being available separately it is not expensive to play around with different set ups.
 
The Hammerhead shifters come with a few choices in tip designs and in a variety of off sets to suit every rider's foot size and height. The tip can also be adjusted up and down in height due to the spaces that sit above and below the tipping being adjustable, The Hammerhead shifters really do offer a great amount of adjustment on a part of the bike that sometimes can be a little tricky to get the perfect feel on.

I opted for the easy way and let the good people at Mainmoto know my boot size, running with the wide tip with a +10 offset (the +10 off set moves the tip 10mm further away from the foot pegs from standard)I had the shifter bolted onto my bike with relative ease.

The one thing I did want to get achieve was to make sure the lever was lined up pretty close to where the stock one was sitting as the position it was in had become very comfortable and there is nothing worse than having a shift lever that is either too high or too low. With a quick check of the old lever the new one went on and looked to be right in the spot I was after.

Heading on to the track for the first time I instantly had no issues with the placement of the new lever, and it took no time at all to adjust to riding with it mounted to the bike. The Hammerhead Designs lever did offer a slightly different feel over the stock unit, the slightly larger tip did give a little more feel under foot and there was no issue getting my size 12 boot underneath for up shifting. I didn’t need to take advantage of the extra adjustments available which was good, though I might have a bit of play around with it just to see in the future.

With the lever now having been on the bike for just over three months I am pleased to say it is holding up very well, the red coating on the tip has started to wear off, both on the top and bottom, but only slightly , while the black shaft is showing no signs of fading and still looks brand new. So far no crash testing has taken place, we will have to wait and see how it holds up in a get off!


What we are running: Hammerhead Designs Gear Shift Lever
Type/Offset: wide tip with a +10 offset
Colour: Black shaft - Red Tip
RRP: $99.95
 

Click to go back Click here for a print friendly format Click here to email this news item to a friend

Click here for more info






Click here for more info







Off Road
Yamaha AORC Supplementary Regulations and Class Breakdown for Season 2018
16th Dec, 2017
Enduro
2018 FIM International Six Days Enduro dates changed
16th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Jeremy Seewer signs two-year deal with Wilvo Yamaha
16th Dec, 2017
General
MXTV To Go Out With A Bang This Saturday
15th Dec, 2017
Off Road
Yamaha AORC will head back to Omeo in 2018
15th Dec, 2017
Dirt Track
Jarred Brook Smashes the Competition at 2017 Australian Senior Track Champi..
14th Dec, 2017
Off Road
Yamaha AORC Junior Coaching days with Enduro Pros to Return in 2018
14th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Something New From Yamaha in February 2018
14th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Frenchman Christophe Pourcel retires
14th Dec, 2017
General
Vale Bruce Brown, Movie maker and producer
12th Dec, 2017
Speedway
Speedway's Superstars all set for the 2018 Australian Senior Solo Champions..
12th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Gajser reaffirms commitment to MXGP with Team HRC
12th Dec, 2017
Supercross
2017 Australian Supercross Championship Final Round Full Races
12th Dec, 2017
Freestyle
Team Australia wins the first World Team Championship at NIGHT of the JUMPs
11th Dec, 2017
Motocross
MXGP returns to Ottobiano in 2018
10th Dec, 2017
Enduro
KTM and Husqvarna confirm participation in inaugural WESS championship
10th Dec, 2017
Speedway
Gillman Speedway Stadium will host the 2018 FIM 1000cc Speedway Sidecars Wo..
10th Dec, 2017
Enduro
Matthew Phillips calls off EnduroGP retirement plans!
10th Dec, 2017
Enduro
Taddy Blazusiak makes a triumphant return at SuperEnduro World Championship..
10th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Yamaha Racing Launches Restructured Australian MX and SX Program
8th Dec, 2017
Motocross
Gibbs, Clout and Mastin To Form KTM Australia's MX/SX Line Up For 2018
8th Dec, 2017
Supercross
AME Management and the Monster Energy AUS-X Open launch to three feature le..
8th Dec, 2017
Enduro
World Enduro Super Series to launch in 2018
8th Dec, 2017
Motocross
HRC MXGP's Brian Bogers recovering from foot injury
8th Dec, 2017
Supercross
Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing unveil 2018 Supercross team
8th Dec, 2017
Industry
Honda's Motorcycle Excellence Award Winner Announced
7th Dec, 2017
Rallye
Rodney Faggotter set for second Dakar charge
6th Dec, 2017
Dirt Track
2017 Australian Track Championship heads to Oakburn Park Speedway
5th Dec, 2017
Trials
Toni Bou draws first blood at 2018 X-Trial Championship opener
5th Dec, 2017
Supercross
KTM USA unveils 450 SX-F factory edition and 2018 racing line-ups
5th Dec, 2017
Enduro
Taddy Blazusiak comes out of retirement!
4th Dec, 2017
General
Sydney Indoor MotoX Park approved by Blacktown City Council
4th Dec, 2017
Supercross
Marvin Musquin Sweeps Both Nights At Geneva SX
3rd Dec, 2017
Supercross
2017 Monster Energy Geneva Supercross Results and Replay
3rd Dec, 2017
General
MXTV Gets Set For Summer Fun This Weekend.
1st Dec, 2017
Motocross
Ryan Dungey Home Grown
30th Nov, 2017
General
MWA Women Win FIM Highest Award in Andorra, Spain
30th Nov, 2017
Supercross
Blake Fox Reflects On Maiden 85cc Supercross Title
29th Nov, 2017
General
Strong crowds herald 2017 Sydney Motorcycle Show return to Darling Harbour ..
28th Nov, 2017
Motocross
Dylan Long continues on with CDR Yamaha in 2018
27th Nov, 2017

  More News Articles....



Google



E V E N T S   N E X T   W E E K E N D:

  Go to Details


T E L E V I S I O N:

  Go to TV Guide



Click here for more info






  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 FIM WMX
  2013 AMA SX Rd9
  2013 NZMX Champs Rd2
  2013 Aus AAX Champs
  2013 AMA ArenaX Race - Rd2
  2013 AMA SX Rd8
  2013 AMA SX Rd7
  NZMX Champs Rd1
  2013 AMA ArenaX



Click here for more info


Click here to visit Click28.com


JUST1 Introduces UNIT Graphic
The J12 Unit graphic is the latest design to come from Just1, fresh from it's world wide release at EICMA in Milan.   View

Christmas Value on Now at Yamaha!
Want a chance to be a part of the Yamaha Racing Team?.   View

CYCRA Releases Body Kit Bolt Sets
After years of developing high performance Powerflow body kits, Cycra are taking things a step further by offering complete fastener sets for body plastics..   View





FULLNOISE CONTENT:
Home
News Archive
Results > National - Local - International
Photo Galleries
Features
New Products
Product Reviews
Film / Video
Classifieds
Links
TV Guide
Calendars > This Weekend - Australia - International
Club Information

FULLNOISE BUSINESS:

Privacy Statement
Contacts
About Fullnoise
Logos
Add to Favourites



PREMIUM ADVERTISERS:
100% Moto
Ficeda Accessories
Honda Australia
John Titman Racing
KTM Australia
Lee Hogan Racing
Link International
McLeod Accessories
Moto National Accessories
Steve Cramer Products
Suzuki Australia
Yamaha Australia
Yamaha Parts & Accessories



All content © Fullnoise.com.au 2002-2017 - New



Click for more information about Zeta Products